- Member for
- 8 years 7 weeks
- View recent blog entries
|4 hours 6 min ago||Because you were born there,||
Because you were born there, you find it difficult to believe that someone crazy ever set foot in the town?
Guy gets drunk, physically harms a girl (maybe accidentally, maybe not), words are exchanged, and the drunk threatens to go get his gun from his trunk. Couple of weeks later, the same dude is the same drunk, and says "I should shoot you, I forgot to the last time". Yeah, sounds implausible.
|6 hours 38 min ago||I have been threatened with||
I have been threatened with being shot in Buchanan. Twice. Lovely town.
|2 weeks 54 min ago||Quality vs Quantity||
See, I feel that the guy most likely is good at picking his spots when he posts. He doesnt get into the Posbang threads just for the points. Nor does he post 28 times in each thread with inane comments like some others around here.
I say Kudos to the guy that holds back until he feels he has something truly meaningful to add.
|5 weeks 4 days ago||Nah||
I could probably do a bunch more actually. This is a game that a co-worker and I play over IM once in a while.
|5 weeks 4 days ago||Maybe not the best players,||
Maybe not the best players, and this is off the top of my head if some are wrong, but this is who I think of when I think of certain numbers.
1- AC, Braylon, Terrell, Butterfield
4-DeVeon, Harbaugh, Marquise Walker
7-Henne, Leach, Henson, Gardner
15-Breaston, Mallett, Cox, Grbac
16-Denard, Arrington, Navarre
21-LeSeuer, Desmond, Biakabutuka, Hemingway, Mundy
22-Jamar Adams, Ty Law
32-Kovacs, A Train
77-Lewan, Jansen, Long, Pape
83-Joppru, Mike Massey
86-Streets, Manningham, Koger
|14 weeks 6 hours ago||Typo||
Can you still claim "typo" when the two swapped letters are six keys apart?
|17 weeks 2 days ago||Aa||
Aa, not so fast.....
|33 weeks 2 days ago||Car songs||
Kashmir by Zeppelin
My favorite two.
|36 weeks 9 hours ago||Tssss||
We're the sick, the sick, the sick fuckin puppies, barkin up your tree....
|38 weeks 1 day ago||Wussat?||
|42 weeks 5 days ago||Yeah||
I think that we all understand this.
|50 weeks 3 days ago||Double Woosh||
Gonna point the double woosh at you, sir.
|51 weeks 4 days ago||Are the seating areas really that steep?||
Aside from the lower bowl, it looks like folks would need a goat and a couple of Sherpas to find their seats. Maybe it's me seeing a skewed pic on mobile, but if not, damn.
|51 weeks 5 days ago||*obscenity. Not pornography.||
*obscenity. Not pornography.
|51 weeks 5 days ago||Newsome||
Took the redshirt off Grant Newsome. He was lined up outside of Cole on the Kerridge TD
|1 year 4 days ago||Joke||
Look everyone! It's the guy that doesn't get the joke.
|1 year 6 weeks ago||Speight||
Speight got the non-Rudock snaps at QB. Trying for a Morris redshirt?
|1 year 21 weeks ago||That word "about" is||
That word "about" is ambiguous, I agree. But I could also argue that it takes less than a second for a throw to go from 1b to 3b. To me, "about to" would apply to "in about one second". The fielder was doing exactly what she should be doing to catch a thrown ball. Throw was low, she got low. Again, the runner being blocked by the fielder occurred almost simultaneously with the ball hitting the fielder's glove. "About to" is almost not even a concern. But if we say the ball got there after contact, it was absolutely without question within "about to" range.
|1 year 21 weeks ago||NCAA actually does not use||
NCAA actually does not use Asa rules. Their definition of obstruction is:
"About to receive a thrown ball" being extremely important.
Even in ASA this is a very close call. Runner was not blocked from advancing until she made contact with the 3b. Which was nearly simultaneous with the ball being in the glove.
Either way, according to NCAA rule, the 3b had a right to be where she was because she was "about to receive a thrown ball".
|1 year 21 weeks ago||It was absolutely the correct||
It was absolutely the correct call. And the home plate umpire actually may not change the call on his own. When umps huddle up like this, it is still the call of the 3b ump on what to go with. She was being courteous to coach Hutchins by asking. If the input of the other two umpires led the 3b ump to change her own call, then she may change it. But the only umpire that has authority to change the call is the 3b ump in this case. The hp ump can offer what he saw, but the decision is not his, even if he is 100% sure his partner got it wrong.
I hope in "years of umping" you never overruled a partners call unilaterally. I wouldn't work with a partner anymore after a move like that.
|1 year 21 weeks ago||Then the live view may have||
Then the live view may have been deceiving. The replay clearly shows that the runner did not make contact with the fielder until either after the fielder catches the ball or at least very shortly before.
I looked into the ncaa rules to see if they differ from what I call and in fact they do. According to ncaa rules, if the fielder is about to receive a thrown ball, we don't have obstruction here
The "about to receive a thrown ball" should be noted in the rule citation. The 1b threw the ball, and the entire time that the ball is in flight the 3b can be considered to be about to receive a thrown ball, and therefore may not be called for obstruction. The rule citation above makes it even less of a blown call, to the point that anyone still claiming that it was a blown call is pretty certainly not looking at this with any sort of an open mind.
|1 year 21 weeks ago||On the obstruction....||
So I umpire a bit of Softball. I'm not sure about the ncaa rule book but from the umpires discussion it would seem that the ncaa rules mirror the ASA rules that I call.
The fielder is allowed to be in the runner's way as long as the fielder is holding the ball. It looks to me that the 3b caught the ball just before the runner got to the fielder. JUST before, but at the very least it was a bang bang play. If the 3b had the ball before the runner was "obstructed" then by definition there is no obstruction.
I don't see how this is an obviously blown call. At worst its a very close call that the ump got wrong. But to me it does look like the 3b had the ball a split second before the runner made contact with the fielder.
What makes this an obviously blown call?
|1 year 27 weeks ago||Yeah, that was the best team||
Yeah, that was the best team I ever saw, except for the night that they lost to my HS.
|1 year 27 weeks ago||nvm||
nevermind. mateen cleaves is way older than I thought.
|1 year 29 weeks ago||Here is a guy that isn't up||
Here is a guy that isn't up to speed. O and A hasn't been a thing for the past 8 months. And they didn't really do the shocking and offensive thing for their last 5 years or so.
|1 year 29 weeks ago||Cakehorn indeed. Peace out||
Cakehorn indeed. Peace out Ronnie B. Haven't listened in a couple of years. Couldnt stand Fez any longer.
|1 year 32 weeks ago||you actually have changed my||
you actually have changed my mind here. My solution is not ideal, but as a poster below points out, you should not be able to benefit from violating the rules. Late game comebacks because of intentional fouls are cheap in my opinion. There comes a point where you either play defense and force a turnover, or you should just lose the game. I don't mean that teams should give up, but this game mechanic that allows a team to benefit from fouling seems broken to me.
|1 year 32 weeks ago||How about this.....||
Change one rule and quality of life for fans goes way up. Anytime there is a non-shooting foul, if the fouled team is in the bonus or double bonus, the coach whose player was fouled has the option of inbounding the ball rather than shoot free throws. Done, the game just got better to watch.
|2 years 2 weeks ago||"Definitely" was the word||
"Definitely" was the word that didn't work for you. You did not offer an opinion, you stated a certainty.
|2 years 8 weeks ago||Timeout||
Apparently appy called timeout before the third down speed option that Wormley assassinated.