Preview 2015: Offensive Line Comment Count

Brian August 31st, 2015 at 10:51 AM

Previously: Podcast 7.0. The Story. Quarterback. Running Back. Wide Receiver. Tight End And Friends.

15300415361_dc94b6d6ed_z

back back back back not back (but there's another guy also back) [Bryan Fuller]

Depth Chart

LT Yr. LG Yr. C Yr. RG Yr. RT Yr.
Mason Cole So. Ben Braden Jr.* Graham Glasgow Sr.* Kyle Kalis Jr.* Erik Magnuson Jr.*
Logan Tuley-Tillman So.* David Dawson So.* Patrick Kugler So.* Blake Bars Jr.* Juwann Bushell-Beatty Fr.*

It got better. It really did. The OL nadir is in the past. We can come out of the bunker and rebuild society now. 

By any reasonable metric it in fact got a lot better. Michigan's YPC leapt 1.3 yards, going from 11th in a 12-team league to 8th in a 14-team one. If you only look at Big Ten stats Michigan is still 8th, and that's in the division that had the MSU, OSU, and PSU defenses. Sacks allowed had a near-identical improvement, going from barely better than Purdue to a spot in the respectable midsection of the conference. Advanced stats saw something similar. Michigan finished 50th in adjusted line yards*, 32nd in power success rate, and 72nd in adjusted sack rate. And that's with the running backs going the wrong direction constantly.

None of these numbers stand out, but neither do they linger in the seedy parts of the list next to Temple and Penn State and Louisiana-Monroe. They were average-ish. Most of the time they felt average-ish.

That's not a bad place to be with zero seniors and just two upperclassmen. While the unexpected departure of Jack Miller puts a small dent in the front's depth, his likely replacement, Erik Magnuson, is a redshirt junior who came in as a touted recruit and has a season's worth of starts to his name already. If you're willing to fudge a bit, Michigan has five starters back from that okay line. They've replaced Brady Hoke with Jim Harbaugh and Darrell Funk with Tim Drevno.

Could they be… good?

*[A stat that weighs the first few yards you get heavily and discounts long runs in an attempt to get a feel for how the line is doing.]

TACKLE

15721141259_945e5b11d6_z

Cole coped [Eric Upchurch]

Rating: 3 of 5

Last year I gave this a 1 because Michigan was staring down a starting lineup consisting of a true freshman and a third-year guy who didn't even get a sniff during the chaos of 2013. They seemed to acquire these positions almost by default since the only other tackles on the roster were freshmen (redshirt or true) regarded as huge projects. Or they were starting at guard.

The 2014 edition of this post took a quick gander at what happened when football teams started freshman tackles. It was almost universally ugly. The best case scenario was Ole Miss, which deployed ultra-blue-chip Laremy Tunsil as a true freshman and was middling in both YPC and sacks allowed. All others trundled their way to seasons that were more or less disastrous.

Michigan was not disastrous last year. In what is certainly a first for offensive line projections in recent history, that prediction was pessimistic. MASON COLE, the true freshman, just about hit the top end of reasonable projections, those being:

The occasional freshman tackle can cope. I think Cole is one of those guys. But is he going to blow a guy off the ball and provide a big ol' lane at 292 pounds? Probably not. Our hope here is that Cole is a solid, agile pass protector in year one who is a meh run blocker.

Mason Cole coped. This is what that looks like in the run game according to UFR:

Opponent + - TOT Notes
App St 9.5 2 7.5 A fine debut
Notre Dame 4 2 2 Didn't seem overwhelmed at all.
Miami 8 5 3 Okay; also had one very bad pass pro.
Utah 3 2.5 0.5 Nice seal block ignored.
Rutgers 5 5 0 I'll take it.
Penn State 1.5 5 -3.5 Hull and Zettel bad matchup.
Minnesota 4.5 2.5 2 Overpowered a little but still okay day.
MSU 1.5 2 -0.5  
Indiana 3 0.5 2.5 Didn't mess anything up.

It was rougher in pass protection, where I have had him for 16 protection minuses in 8 games. Those are worth about half a QB pressure/sack each. Otherwise things were pretty okay against non-elite defenses. Cole's debut season was… eh.

When it didn't go well, the usual reason was that Cole got blown backwards because he was a true freshman. These were the kind of things that were happening against Zettel and company:

This was a game in which Cole's inexperience and lack of big skrongness really hurt. Here Butt gets an excellent shoulder spear on Zettel, knocking him off balance. This should provide ample opportunity for Cole to step around and wall Zettel off, creating a crease Smith will hit trying to beat a safety for a big gainer. Instead Zettel comprehensively wins:

Cole got whipped on the Norfleet catch that put Michigan in position for the winning field goal; Michigan was fortunate that ball went to the WR instead of getting knocked anywhere.

Ennui prevented me from charting him against Joey Bosa, but I've gone back and rewatched the OSU game. Cole was okay. By the second half of The Game Ohio State decided that they should either blitz outside of Bosa and send him against the interior line (which only kind of worked) or have him go at Ben Braden (which very much worked). Don't get me wrong, Cole did get beat. It was a struggle; it was not one in which he was completely overwhelmed.

All of that is terrific for a true freshman. Cole grabbed the job, held the job all season, and played reasonably well. There has been not a whisper that he would go anywhere except for a blip during spring practice when he was playing center, that because Glasgow was suspended and Michigan was figuring out if he could play there a la Barrett Jones. All practice reports have held that he is a sure thing, greatly improved, etc. 247 heard this from multiple people in a 24-hour window:

Mason Cole has unsurprisingly established himself as a rock at the left tackle spot, and is primed to be the next great four-year starter to play the position.

Cole's added 13 pounds and should make a major leap in year two, what with the rare true-freshman-to-true-sophomore OL transition coupled with the general HARBAUGH.

That will probably still leave him short of dominant. Michigan's most recent really good left tackle, Taylor Lewan, took off in his third year. In year two Cole should slash the protection issues considerably and do okay against the better defensive ends in the league. A year like early Graham Glasgow—reliable, somewhat short on raw power—would set Cole up to be excellent as an upperclassman.

[After THE JUMP: four-ish additional returning starters who happen to be upperclassmen already]

8647637918_13a5236657_z

Magnuson (#78) returns to the flank [Fuller]

On the other side, Michigan moves ERIK MAGNUSON back to the tackle spot he was always supposed to occupy. Magnuson's had a weird career thus far. Touted as a natural left tackle out of high school, Magnuson has played mostly left guard; he's also made cameos at left tackle, right tackle, right guard and even tight end. He moves to right tackle this season, where he should remain for the remainder of his career unless he doesn't.

In 2013 Magnuson was a redshirt freshman who really needed weight thrown in during the maelstrom of chaos. He quickly established himself the best available option, though this was not to be confused with a good available option. Magnuson was listed at 285 and played like it.

"it was common to see [Magnuson] get his hands into a defensive tackle only for the DT to go "and?" as he drove Magnuson a yard or two backwards." –last year

Against all but the most deficient defensive lines Magnuson came in solidly negative in 2013.

After adding ten pounds he entered 2015 the starting left guard, maintaining that job for four games before an undisclosed injury made him unavailable for Minnesota. Glasgow shifted to his spot; by the time Magnuson was healthy again the coaching staff was loathe to disrupt an offensive line that was precariously okay. Eventually they issued him #81 and started using him as a blocking tight end.

As a result we don't have much to go on. His UFR from the first four games shows a guy who was very good at executing assignments against guys who aren't so good at football but struggled against big mean dudes. Magnuson suffered from some of the same inexperience the rest of the line did when running Nussmeier's preferred inside zone play, but even early in the year he was doing some nice things against blitzers:

The 2013 version of that play probably sees the linebacker blaze into the backfield. Magnuson's knowledge of what he should do and occasional inability to do it is well reflected in his UFR chart:

Opponent + - TOT Notes
App St 14 3.5 10.5 Reliable in assignments, still worry about power
Notre Dame 5.5 6 -0.5 Coping with Day is difficult.
Miami 10.5 4 6.5 IZ comboing looked good.
Utah 5 6.5 -1.5 The start of many struggles.

Small and weak? Magnuson will execute against you. Sheldon Day? Hmm. On the other hand, just about breaking even against the ND and Utah lines isn't the worst thing for a sophomore and Magnuson did demonstrate major improvement from his freshman year.

Another improvement is on the way. Magnuson added 11 pounds on the recently-released roster and will be facing smaller, quicker dudes at tackle. That will mitigate remaining issues with power and hopefully allow him to demonstrate the skills that made him a consensus top 100 recruit out of high school:

The 6-foot-6, 275-pound left tackle prospect has the kind of athleticism, size and tenacity that make him a great option to protect a quarterback's blind side. Magnuson displays quick feet, long arms and excellent technique in his pass-pro sets, but can seal the edge on weak side running plays.

Ben Braden struggled as a pass protector a year ago; Magnuson has the ability to greatly improve Michigan's performance there. While he's probably not going to be the kind of road grader that power teams like to have at right tackle, the trajectory here is good. Magnuson got a lot better a year ago, has finally cracked 300 pounds, and seems to have a solid lock on a job that he has some competition for.

Magnuson should at least be reasonable. I think he'll have a minor breakout year (ie, one I notice and nobody else does) and enter 2016 a potential All Big Ten candidate.

BACKUPS

If Michigan needs another tackle they may end up flipping their line around to bring in an interior guy. BEN BRADEN was the right tackle last year, of course, and could reprise that role in a pinch; GRAHAM GLASGOW looked comfortable at that spot in the 2014 spring game, though we haven't seen or heard anything about him playing tackle under Harbaugh. If Michigan thinks their best five minus Magnuson or Cole includes David Dawson or Patrick Kugler, that will be their move.

13655848563_725d274bac_k8646208539_77ff0fa4e4_k

Tuley-Tillman and Bars are available. [Fuller]

If not, LOGAN TULEY-TILLMAN [recruiting profile] will get thrust into action. Tuley-Tillman came in for a modicum of hype this spring. During Glasgow's suspension Michigan futzed with Cole at center, and part of the reason why was a major improvement from Tuley-Tillman. Drevno was talking him up in spring:

“Logan has got really good feet and has done natural things with playing with his cleats in the ground that some people don’t have,” Drevno said. “He’s an athletic guy.  He played AAU basketball growing up.  He’s fleet-footed and he does some really, really nice things naturally.”

That and a drop in body fat from 31% to 21% are encouraging signs for a guy who came in as a boom-or-bust player.

Unfortunately, when the spring game rolled around Tuley-Tillman was generally overwhelmed. He picked up three no-question holding calls and did not look ready. In the aftermath, Ace captured the general feeling:

Given that some practice reports had him as a potential starter, it's hard not to be a little disappointed in Logan Tuley-Tillman's showing, which featured three flags and a couple olés. He was a major project coming of high school, to the point that this year was the earliest he could feasibly see the field, so it's not a devastating blow that he doesn't look ready yet. He has so much upside, though, that it would've been really encouraging to see him push into that starting five.

It looks like another season of refinement and adding strength is in the offing. If things go really well, Tuley-Tillman will push Cole inside during 2016 spring practice. For 2015 it's about putting himself in a position to take advantage of his prototypical left tackle frame.

16646511114_0bb4bb1d66_z16845409870_6e008fa5b1_z

Bars and Bushell-Beatty are sneaky hard to get photos of [Upchurch/Fuller]

At right tackle is a bit of a surprising name: BLAKE BARS [recruiting profile]. This is the second consecutive year a member of Michigan's coaching staff has brought him up apropos of little, and as a tackle. This year's edition:

"They’re right on task on where we need to be. We’re rotating a lot of guys in there. (Kyle) Kalis is having a good camp, Graham Glasgow is having a good camp. You look at some of the young guys like Blake Bars is really stepping up."

That and some spring performances that did not exactly stand out are all we have to go on for Bars. At 290 he's unlikely to get a ton of movement, but by the time Bars hits the field fans would just be hoping for a guy who doesn't implode the offense.

Redshirt freshman JUWANN BUSHELL-BEATTY [recruiting profile] was actually lining up at guard when the Big Ten Network swung by Michigan practice, with Bars outside of him. Long term he is still likely to be a tackle at 6'6", maybe 6'7". Like the other hyphenated guy, Bushell-Beatty was regarded as a terrific frame that needed a lot of work; another year learning and reshaping his body is in order.

True freshmen NOLAN ULIZIO [recruiting profile] and GRANT NEWSOME [recruiting profile] are locks to redshirt. Newsome, a top recruit with left tackle upside, could be unearthed if the walls cave in. That would require a truly biblical plague of injuries.

INTERIOR LINE

Rating: 4 of 5.

9695774773_3a78467f48_k

[Eric Upchurch]

When Michigan resurfaced some of its players on Friday, it was KYLE KALIS who said the things that had everyone all a-titter:

"We're definitely grasping more of how to play the offensive line, technique, footwork, stuff that we never really would practice or have a knowledge of before. Coach Harbaugh is awesome. And the way [Drevno] coaches us, it's just working. We've had days where we're rolling guys 10 yards off the ball, and that never happened before. It's not that we couldn't do it, it's just we didn't know how to do it."

The internet immediately filled with people pointing and screaming "A-HA I KNEW IT," and, well yeah maybe. Tim Drevno has an impressive track record. Darrell Funk was probably doomed by Rich Rodriguez's decision not to recruit OL anymore no matter how good he was, but his track record is a Just A Guy track record. There could be a large coaching upgrade on the way.

Whether or not that's in fact the case, Kalis is on the verge of becoming a legit good Big Ten guard. By the end of the year he'd gotten the blast-and-go-hunting style of inside zone pretty much down. He was able to move people with the initial punch and then went and located second level defenders:

Against Ohio State guys like Cole and Braden frequently looked overwhelmed; Kalis pretty much went toe to toe with them.

What was most notable about the late season version of Kalis was not so much things like the clips above—inside zone doesn't lend itself to YOU GOT SERVED blocks—but the lack of their opposite. For years now I've watched first level defenders get mis-identified by the Michigan offensive line and blow through it. Those mistakes became significantly rarer as 2014 went along. Kalis in particular made plays there's no way the 2013 version of himself would, like this:

Kalis felt that guy to the outside of him and turned Rutgers's one weird trick to stop zone into a big gain.

He also started to do the kind of things we hoped he would when he was a five star recruit looming over some high school kid like the Death Star.

Kalis started moving guys last year, and cut down on the errors a great deal.

His pulls tended to be a bit bendy, but some guys coach them like that. He generally got there and was useful once he arrived.

He wasn't the quickest guy to the hole in the history of ever but when that became relevant it was usually because one of the tailbacks was running like he'd never run a power play before; meanwhile sometimes that delay allowed Kalis to evade a defender trying to get a two for one and get his block. Kalis ended up positive in every UFR except Penn State and performed well in the games that I didn't get around to for personal safety reasons.

Since Harbaugh's come in there's been every indication he is continuing down the path he started last season. Practice chatter generally cites Kalis, Glasgow, and Cole as the three sure things on the line; Kalis often comes in for things are clicking, he's Getting It, leadership fiesta type praise. 247:

Another player we continue to hear positive things about is redshirt junior Kyle Kalis. … he appears to be building a strong rapport with Tim Drevno and the belief is that he may be finally ready to take that next step in his development.

A large part of the skepticism about Kalis is because he was overhyped as a recruit—people were calling him the most college-ready OL in a decade, that kind of thing—and was thrust into the spotlight way too early. If we had just seen him last year people would be hyped about him.

Reasonable progress gets Kalis to upper-echelon Big Ten OL, if not quite elite. That seems to be on the docket.

11623697104_80afe5e375_z

[Adam Glanzman]

Next to Kalis, GRAHAM GLASGOW returns to center after a year spent at left guard. Now entering his third season as as a starter, any thoughts of his walk-on past should be set aside. Glasgow has been Michigan's best and most consistent lineman for two years. Anonymous Big Ten opponent on the 2013 line:

"…their center [redshirt junior Graham Glasgow] was someone we took notice of.

"The guys next to him were a little slow, and you could split the gaps against them really easily. That was the point you attacked, but the center was strong. If you went one-on-one, he held his own. But you never had to do that because there was always that opportunity between the guards and center, and the guards and tackles."

While that might not be saying much, he projects to be that again in 2015.

I'm about to give you some clips, like I do. I pick out things that I feel are representative of what I've seen over the course of the season. The problem is that with offensive linemen it is really about seeing the consistent execution from down to down against all kind of different defensive attempts to trick, fool, befuddle, and bewilder a bunch of lunchpail types just trying to get their block.

No clip can convince you that Glasgow was Michigan's best lineman by some distance at this a year ago. I can throw some numbers at you, including the fact that in the MSU and PSU games I had him at +9 and –3 in UFR, numbers that no other Michigan OL touched—and if I cloned myself 13 times and did UFR for the entire Big Ten I'm willing to wager vanishingly few OL in the league would have managed it. Jack Allen, if Jack Allen had to play his own D, and an OSU guy or two, and probably Wisconsin's guys.

But anyway. Glasgow was proficient in the full suite of offensive line skills. He can reach guys and seal them away.

He could go get second level blocks, sometimes obliterating guys 15 yards downfield because they're Indiana DBs. He can execute textbook inside zone doubles that Derrick Green will ignore.

Now that he's back at center he's probably not going to pull much, but he was fine at it last year.

He has the athleticism to continue that should Harbaugh want to; since he loves screwing with opposing defenses he likely will.

I can point you to things he didn't do well, mostly inside zone stuff where he didn't make the right read when the opposition tried to screw with him; that is going to happen to everybody. All I can tell you is that the ratio of good things to bad with Glasgow was higher than anyone else on the team. Many of the things he did well weren't clipped because he didn't blast guys downfield like Taylor Lewan; he might get a yard of depth or hang on to a guy who threatens to shed him and get a half-point. But on those half-points are Stanford Heisman finalists made. Glasgow was consistent, and in OL land that's gold.

I expect that to continue. Glasgow should get some All Big Ten recognition if only because Michigan might have a good ground game and All Big Ten teams tend to reward seniors at low-stat positions; I think he'll play close to that level in his last rodeo.

11290091[1]8649791494_8f2b5f338b_b[1]

[Oblig. Braden photo via Tim Sullivan, The Wolverine/Bryan Fuller]

The final and most precarious projected starter is BEN BRADEN, who spent all of last year at right tackle and then was promptly moved inside by Jim Harbaugh. Since the Hoke regime tried to do this earlier and seemingly decided he was a tackle and only a tackle this is worrisome, but I get it, man:

Braden was pretty clearly the weak link on the line last year and moving him inside might mitigate some of those issues.

That clip highlights one of the reasons Braden wasn't too effective last year: he tends to get off balance because he leans on people. This was clear from the drop, as the Appalachian State UFR addressed it:

I have never viscerally understood what scouting types mean when they say a guy is a "waist bender," but I think they're talking about gentlemen who play like Ben Braden did in this game.

When you bend your waist to go get a guy you are off balance. When that guy tries to shed you, you are all of a sudden leaning against air and you stumble or fall over. There was a lot of lurching forward from Braden in this game.

Against a team that actually has a force player losing that block gives them a free hitter in the hole. …

There's always some of that because you're trying to push a dude somewhere; with Braden it was really obvious that he was playing top heavy. Maybe going up against bigger guys will actually be helpful to him here, as he won't have to go find a 230-pound dude somewhere down there.

And here's a side by side comparison of Braden and Glasgow:

This early power play is instructive, as Braden and Glasgow draw identical assignments. They're supposed to down-block a defensive end slanting away from the play:

Glasgow remains upright, balanced over his center of gravity; Braden lunges, gets off balance, lurches upfield, and his guy goes right by. (To be fair to Braden, the slant was harder for him since the guy went from outside to inside instead of just further inside. Still, watch the relative balance of the two OL and feel the technique leaking into your brain because Braden's got issues obvious even to you and I.)

The lunging affected Braden against both run and pass. In the nine games UFRed last year Braden picked up 17 protection minuses—approximately equivalent to 8.5 sacks surrendered*. His inability to keep balanced and redirect when the opponent changes his path was even an issue against MAC opponents. Against the run he struggled to get up to even against Power 5 competition and often came in significantly negative.

Add in a number of plays that can be chalked up to inexperience and the general chaos of the Late Hoke era and it was a rough ride for Braden.

Oddly, though, he seemed to do his best against Michigan's best opponents. Utah was a notable exception, but Braden scraped above zero against both PSU and MSU. (I did not UFR OSU, but I watched it. Braden did not get above zero against the Buckeyes.) The general hope for the kid is in there: the kind of things that get him into trouble get you into trouble against everybody, and when he does something well he has the physical ability to make it count. Here's that Taylor Lewan quote:

"Genetically, he's a freak. That's how it is. He's unbelievable. … He's the most physically gifted individual I've ever seen in my life. He's 322 pounds, 6-foot-7 and he has 12 percent body fat."

In this he's the opposite of Magnuson, who has been a highly reliable player who struggles physically.

This year Braden will be the most interesting test case for the hypothesis that Tim Drevno is a great OL coach. There is a ton of potential to unlock here. On the other hand, last year not so much. Braden is one of the proverbial X-factors on the team. I could try to tell you how he'll do but I don't even have a ballpark. Could be anywhere from benched to very good.

BACKUPS

Depth on the interior isn't worryingly thin quite yet, but it's getting there. A series of unfortunate events has plundered the lower reaches of the OL depth chart, and blasted a chunk out of the top of it. Starting center Jack Miller forwent his fifth year in favor of a fancypants job in Chicago. Kyle Bosch's personal problems caused him to leave the team. Chris Fox's lack of football-rated knee ligaments forced him to retire. Dan Samuelson saw no path to the field and announced a transfer earlier this fall.

13655266003_7b9ef2957d_k13655848563_725d274bac_k (1)

Kugler and Dawson wait in the wings [Fuller]

Michigan does have a couple of touted recruits with a couple years under their belts. Center PATRICK KUGLER [recruiting profile] is entering his third year as an understudy. A major recruit whose father was the Steelers' OL coach (he's now the head guy at UTEP), Kugler is as close to a sure thing as you can get on the OL. That is not very sure, but sooner or later he's going to be the center.

There hasn't been much chatter about him this fall; students at the open practice found out why when Kugler observed on crutches. Harbaugh's not much more open about injuries than Hoke was so we don't know what the issue is or how long he'll be out; hopefully he'll be healthy enough to be a factor this year.

In Kugler's absence the interior OL who's made a move is DAVID DAWSON [recruiting profile]. Dawson has been pressing Braden at left guard. He got in as part of the first team late in the open practice, and with Kugler laid up at least temporarily he's clearly the #6 OL. Dawson was a very well regarded guard prospect out of high school who sounds like Harbaugh's jam, man:

David Dawson is one mean cuss. The Michigan commit violently took it to sought after defensive lineman Joe Mathis in two easily won matches of tire tug-a-war. In 1-on-1s, he was a bully of an offensive lineman, going back and forth with Mathis and dominating nearly everyone else he faced. He delivers a good punch and has a great base. Has really reshaped his body from the season and is down 25 pounds to 280.

Dawson had a pile of scouting reports as positive—if less evocative—as that one, and then he disappeared from sight. Since he was a true freshman in 2013 and things went okay last year that's not a serious knock.

Whether you're excited about Dawson's weight, currently a pile-pushing 316, or worried that he went up 20 pounds in a single year is in the eye of the beholder. I'd lean to the former since most of that is probably good weight and Dawson's suddenly a guy practice chatter holds you should keep an eye on.

I would not be surprised if Dawson took Braden's job; neither would it be a surprise if Dawson ended up on the verge for the entirety of 2015.

BLAKE BARS could also figure in here if needed; he's played inside and out for the duration of his career.

Past that it's 275-pound true freshman JON RUNYAN JR [recruiting profile], a legacy recruit who projects to center in two or three years. Unless he's suddenly 304-pound freshman Jon Runyan Jr, as he's now listed on the depth chart. That kind of weight gain is not all productive mass; in any case a redshirt is assured.

Comments

Needs

August 31st, 2015 at 11:25 AM ^

Given the balance issues identified here, I have a hard time seeing Braden being successful as a pulling guard. Judging from the Stanford clips of the Baugh-fense, power is likely to be the key base play in the running game.

How much of a schematic disadvantage is it to only be able to run power toward one side of the center?

Wolverine In Iowa

August 31st, 2015 at 11:25 AM ^

Well this is certainly more optimistic than HTTV (last year? year before?) was when I pretty much was reduced to a no-hope-having, scared fan with zero expectations for the O-line (and the offense as a whole).

fukofolobo

August 31st, 2015 at 11:32 AM ^

Start working at home with Google! It's by-far the  best job I've had. Last Wednesday I got a brand new BMW since getting a check for $6474 this - 4 weeks past. I began this 8-months ago and immediately was bringing home at least $77 per hour. I work through this link, go to tech tab for work detail
---------------------- ◐◐◐◐◐◐◐◐◐◐ w­w­w.o­n­l­i­n­e-j­­o­b­s­9­­.­c­o­­m

gwkrlghl

August 31st, 2015 at 11:43 AM ^

I have to assume the line becomes somewhere between great and elite in the next season or two. I've had my mind erased by how undeveloped everyone is from Hoke, but that two-deep is almost exclusively 4 and 5* guys. I feel like they'll be rolling by the end of this season

I'm telling you. My bold prediction is Michigan leads the Big Ten in rushing (maybe 2nd behind Wisconsin)

imafreak1

August 31st, 2015 at 11:45 AM ^

I do think that OL has gotten better. However, I suspect that some of that apparent improvement from 2013 to 2014 (especially in the running game) is a mirage created by a decrease in sacks (sacks are counted against the running game) which was created by a fear of allowing the QB to spend any time in the pocket with the ball which lead to a flat line of the offenses ability to move the ball and score. No downfield passing. No explosive plays. No scoring.

Quite clearly, the running yards went up, the sacks went down, and the offense still got much worse.

But that is more about my dislike of the last OC than it is about things moving forward.

One can reasonably expect that worst is behind us with regards to the OL

WestSider

August 31st, 2015 at 12:07 PM ^

the updates for Braden. I recall that Lewan statement, and have seen the man-beast in person. He is huge, and I recalled some glimmers of aggressive and sound play early on. I figured he would be at tackle, and stay there. Hopefully, he quickly sorts out his balance issues and other technique so he can shine.

alum96

August 31st, 2015 at 12:14 PM ^

Think we are "ok" with the starting 5 - my concerns rise substantially when the normal injuries occur.  The Miller retirement hurts there because Glasgow could play anywhere and if someone goes down you move Glasgow to his position and in would come Magnuson as the 6th.  Our 6th and 7th this year are open questions - guys who should be ready in year 3 but we've never seen them.

ehatch

August 31st, 2015 at 12:56 PM ^

What is the status of the cloning of Brian?  I would definitely read a UFR of every team, every week.  Then at the end of the season, we could see how different the Brian Clone Army All-Big Ten team is than the Media/Coaches.  How much of my beveled guilt money goes to this cause?

MGoClimb

August 31st, 2015 at 1:54 PM ^

Without a doubt the OL is the position group I'm most excited to see Thursday night. They started playing pretty well at the end of last season. Hopefully we see even more progress.

Bertello NC

August 31st, 2015 at 10:47 PM ^

Couldn't agree more. They are far and away the X factor position group this year. Not downplaying the QB battle but if either Rudock or Morris can game manage we'll be fine. If the OL can take another couple steps forward with technique, cohesiveness, and physicality we could be very tough THIS year.

707oxford

August 31st, 2015 at 1:10 PM ^

Overall I like Kalis as a player, but he has demonstrated some concerning deficiencies that I'm really hoping Drevno can coach up. Both are related to his pulling...a rather important skill for Guards, especially when we look to be running a lot of power this year:
 

  1. His footwork is off, making him a slow puller and often late to the hole.  Brian alludes to this above, suggesting that sometimes linemen are coached to pull in a "bendy" fashion, but I can't imagine he was coached to do this, especially when comparing the last clips above for Kalis & Glasgow who have been subject to the same coaching.  Glasgow is doing it he proper way (drop step, pivot, run parallel to the line until you get to the hole), whereas Kalis is not (shuffles backward several steps and then takes an arcing path).  As a result, Kalis is so far in the backfield he is almost in the way of the RB.  Plus with the shortest distance being a straight path, his route just takes longer which can often cause the RB to slow down and/or run up the guard's back.  Fortunately, once taught the proper technique Kalis should be able to rep this on his own all day until he has it down.
     
  2. Identifying the right guy to block.  This isn't always easy because by the time a guard pulls to the desired hole, the defense has been set in motion and their personnel could be stunting, blitzing, etc., so the target isn't always where the pulling guard is expecting.  That said, I've seen him get to the hole so many times and look lost, eventually targeting the wrong defender and seeing the play blown up.  This is a tougher fix and can require a lot of situational reps.

reshp1

August 31st, 2015 at 1:14 PM ^

Whether he was coached to do it or not, I think it probably was a result of the guys next to him getting shoved back regularly, particularly Miller when he was in at center. Taking a wide arc was the only way to avoid tripping on your own linemens' legs, which seemed to happen quite a bit in 2013. 

dragonchild

August 31st, 2015 at 1:20 PM ^

Dunno when the photo's from but I recall Nuss sometimes had receivers move inside as a sort of mini-TE, the logic presumably being that if he's already matched up against a CB then you've added another gap with the size being a push.  I don't remember it doing anything notable, one way or the other.

The Man Down T…

August 31st, 2015 at 2:41 PM ^

A workable offensive line, a workable QB, a decent defensive line, decent running backs and decent safeties.  Add in a great set of coaches and yeah, 8 wins is possible without being a pipe dream.

Big Blue 4

August 31st, 2015 at 2:57 PM ^

Everyone is talking about 7 wins, 8 wins heck, I have heard 10 wins. Qb play will be a huge factor in the success of this season. With that said. All success for this team will be determined on the play of both O-line and D-lines performance. If they block well for Rudock and the stable of RB we have, than Im a firm believer in a 10 win season as well. Hopefully Drevino has them running as a well oiled machine early.

People have to understand how important a good coaching staff is. Its quite apparent that the last staff here were over their heads. I believe as the season goes on the O-line will become a very cohesive group that just keeps getting better and better..... Then anything can happen at home(MSU OSU).

Reader71

August 31st, 2015 at 3:22 PM ^

It would be really, really nice to have Miller in there and have Glasgow bump Braden out to be the first man off the bench.

In my limited expertise, I dont have much evidence to suggest that leaners, or waist-benders, ever really figure it out. Often, they lean because their feet aren't fast enough to get into the right position so they have to throw their upper body forward to get to the block. That scares me. Braden scares me. Still, I hope to hell that I'm dead wrong.

Plus, you can hide some of that between a good, experienced center and a future all-conference tackle.

wahooverine

August 31st, 2015 at 4:49 PM ^

Wasn't Miller undersized and, despite his most tenacious effort, often being pushed into the backfield on pass protection?  Obviously it's be better to have an experienced 5th year lineman on the team but I guess I'm wondering if he wouldve started over Glascow at center had he stayed.

Gulogulo37

September 1st, 2015 at 2:29 AM ^

Yeah, I think he was a little undersized but considering he was the starter (all?) last year, I don't see why he would have been pushed out by Glasgow. Even if Glasgow is a better C, it's not about the C position itself but getting the best 5 guys on the field. And Miller at C and Glasgow at G is better than Glasgow at C and Braden at G.

Gulogulo37

September 1st, 2015 at 2:32 AM ^

Not what I wanted to hear from a former OL haha. I know Drake Harris is the X-factor and all that, but my ceiling on this team is largely dependent on this O-line becoming a mauling machine that makes it easy for the RBs and hides our weakness at WR by making pitch-and-catch easy for the QB and WRs and defenses having to cheat against our run game.