Garrett Moores Robbed of 2017 Holder of the Year Award

Submitted by Caesar on December 8th, 2017 at 3:48 AM

It was probably asking too much, but that's 2017 for you. Please don't shoot the messenger, but this year's Holder of the Year winner is Oklahoma's Connor McGinnis (link).

My analysis is that Moores got some undeserved heat for missed extra points. Damn shame. 

Edit: As per request, here's a Wiki (link) in German to the Award's history. 


UgLi Eric

December 8th, 2017 at 5:51 AM ^

Off the top of my head:


1. Award that fails stats/logic award

2. Most corrupted award, award

3. Best bench-rider award

4. Most insane/steroided-out defensive coordinator award

5. Least biased big ten ref award

6. Most likely to transfer to UCLA, award





Perkis-Size Me

December 8th, 2017 at 9:14 AM ^

Honest question: how do you determine who the best placeholder is? The only real stats you have to go with, by my estimation, is either made kicks or botched snaps. There have to be plenty of placeholders this year who didn't botch snaps.

Not at all downplaying the importance of the position, but how can you definitively say who the best placeholder in the country was? 

Naked Bootlegger

December 8th, 2017 at 11:27 AM ^

I had visions of back-to-back HOTY awards for Moores.   Oklahoma's candidate must have had a stellar year holding balls because you don't just beat last year's returning winner without demonstrating superior, out-of-this world ball holding skills.   


philidor's legacy

December 8th, 2017 at 6:50 PM ^

Not for me man. That is a gladiator position. You sit in one place, knee on the ground, massive angry men want to crush you and want to do it as fast as they can, thousands of people screaming their lungs out..... and you have to get the snap, set the ball, steady the hold - in all kinds of weather - and ignore that fact you are a milisecond way from disaster. That takes a set!

JWG Wolverine

December 8th, 2017 at 10:30 PM ^

Well, not saying his fault, but you gotta make em. It's one of the few numbers that determines your contention for this award.

So sad though to no longer even have the holder of the year!!!

Garrett Moores, no matter what they say, you will always be holder of the year in my book and one of my favorite Michigan Football players ever!