Your unpopular music opinions

Submitted by Monkey House on February 13th, 2015 at 4:18 PM

Since the sports thread was really fun and interesting I thought a music one might be as well. There seems to be a wide age range on there so it should be pretty fun.

Comments

yossarians tree

February 14th, 2015 at 10:09 AM ^

The Beatles were great for the their time, but that time is past. If I never hear another Beatles tune I'd be just fine.

Also, John Lennon's solo stuff sucks. I hate the song "Imagine" and have to run when I hear it because it gets inside my head and screams at me like a horrible Yoko track all day.

xxxxNateDaGreat

February 13th, 2015 at 4:57 PM ^

I have two friends who are obsessed with Jack White. I am not exaggerating, they are actually genuinely obsessed with him and think everything he does and says is the greatest thing ever.

And I actually enjoy the White Stripes, particularly the early stuff. But his solo stuff is really bleh, and other than a couple songs on their first album, the Dead Weather doesn't do anything for me either, but that's probably not his fault cause he's an awesome drummer.

unWavering

February 13th, 2015 at 5:02 PM ^

I don't really hate anything he does, but I've never heard a song that he's been involved with that I particularly enjoy either.  Sub par voice, very basic drum beats and guitar work.  Perhaps I haven't explored enough into his music to find something interesting, but I haven't really been compelled to.

I will say that I respect his work, but I don't really enjoy it at all.

Schembo

February 13th, 2015 at 11:23 PM ^

Zeppelin was on the tail end of the British Invasion.  There was a good 15 years of rock and roll before they came along.  There was so much good stuff happening in the UK in that time: Beatles, Stones, Yardbirds, The Who, Cream, Black Sabbath.  It would be awesome to go back in time and see some of that in person.

corundum

February 13th, 2015 at 4:23 PM ^

Yeezus was the best hip hop album to come out in the last ten years.

Tool's lyrics aren't nearly as deep as they think and their name defines the fanbase.

a2_electricboogaloo

February 13th, 2015 at 4:26 PM ^

I loved yeezus, but definitely preffered MBDTF over it (up there for GOAT hip-hop album in my opinion).

For the style of Yeezus though (the industrial hip-hop fusion), I generally prefer Death Grips and Clipping (check out The Money Store by Death Grips and Clppng by Clipping if you haven't listened to them yet and liked yeezus.  They're both great)

MGoCombs

February 13th, 2015 at 4:45 PM ^

My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is one of my favorite albums ever and I sincerely have a fairly eclectic taste in music. I've always been able to separate albums that I enjoy from albums that I think are truly artistically great (or both). Kanye's other albums mostly fall exclusively into the former category (or neither), but MBDTF is (if I may boldy say) a masterpiece.

No idea if that is unpopular or not...