OT: Unpopular opinions and guilty pleasures, Music edition.

Submitted by wolverine1987 on August 6th, 2017 at 9:14 PM

From past music topics on the blog, it's clear the mgocommunity has good taste in music. Now I want to talk about your not too popular opinions on music. Guilty pleasures edition, and those artists you like but bury in your playlists and don't necessarily make public. I'll start. 

I like earlier Radiohead when they embraced melody and traditional song construction more than current Radiohead. 

I love the first Boston album.

I dismiss Journey except when any of several songs pop up.

Come on Eileen is awesome. 

Have at it. 

Comments

PopeLando

August 6th, 2017 at 9:20 PM ^

I've convinced two bands that we should play Pretend to Be Nice by Josie and the Pussycats.

The soundtrack to Get Him to the Greek is better than almost any serious music released in the past seven years.

As much as Frank Zappa was a musical genius, if all musicians were "geniuses" I wouldn't listen to music.

DrMantisToboggan

August 6th, 2017 at 9:20 PM ^

One of the more popular unpopular opinions: The Beatles are one of the most overrated acts of all time. They were less influential than Elvis. They got consistently worse as time went on.

 

I love Taylor Swift's music before her last album (1989) and Justin Bieber's most recent album was phenomenal. Shower my enjoyment of trash, teenage girl pop with negs if you like. 

TheRonimal

August 6th, 2017 at 10:08 PM ^

I'm not a huge Beatles fan or anything, but when I saw Paul McCartney at a music festival a few years back I was blown away. Best show I've ever seen, and I wasn't a person that listened to The Beatles/Paul much before seeing him live. Probably the most life changing show I'll ever see. Don't care if you like them/him at all, just sharing my two cents. 

yossarians tree

August 7th, 2017 at 1:07 PM ^

My basic rule is any rocker past about the age of 60 should not be out playing the same act they did when they were 25. The optics are all wrong. My one exception was Grateful Dead who I went to shows regularly right up to Jerry's death. And generally I don't like to listen to "classic" rock hits that I was listening to when I was working as a dishwasher back in high school. The past is the past. Give me the new stuff.

Also my music snob friends always gave me shit but I have always absolutely hated Elvis Costello's music.

micheal honcho

August 7th, 2017 at 12:38 AM ^

Being too young to have been there real time myself I've always been slightly confused by the overall esteem toward the Beatles vs. some of their contemporaries.

What I've come to understand is that prior to the boys from liverpool most recorded music was made to sound recorded. Smooth out the highs, compress & balance everything so there's no rough edges. Think Phil Spector, the late 50's doo wop etc.

Reading what others who were there feel was the key they all say some version of "urgency". The Beatles sounded like they were playing at an overcrowded party, on a straining to keep up PA and the cops are on the way to bust this mob up. Even their voices & phrasing sound "rushed".

Tons of those that followed were very much imitating this.

Wolverheel

August 7th, 2017 at 8:05 PM ^

"They got consistently worse as time went on."

 

I don't care how you feel about them in general, but I fail to see how you think this. Obviously Let it Be was a shitty album, but the band was broken up at that point, they had no part in mastering it, and it was actually recorded in sessions before Abbey Road, undoubtedly one of their greatest albums. In fact, the Abbey Road sessions were the last ones they actually recorded. If we look at their career as lasting from 1963-69 (Lennon informed them that he was leaving by then) they had what most people consider their best albums in '66, '67, and '69. I don't understand how that equates to them becoming consistently worse as time went on. 

Mgodiscgolfer

August 7th, 2017 at 7:59 AM ^

1 Camp, their X girlfriend, wife or what have you, said out loud they wanted to fuck Jim Morrison. Now everytime they hear Hello I love you they want to dig him up and strangle him.

2nd Camp, the only songs they know are what's played on the radio. That would be about ten. I have news for this camp LA Women is not their best song. Soft Parade could be though.

It's getting harder to describe sailors to the under fed. 

Wendyk5

August 6th, 2017 at 11:01 PM ^

When I was a senior in high school, we had to analyze a poem for poetry class, with a presentation to the class. I hated poetry so I picked "The End" by the Doors, which is an epic drug-induced self-indulgent nothing. Try explaining the line, "The Blue Bus is calling us" with even an iota of seriousness. Jim Morrison was no Keats. 

MIGHTYMOJO91

August 6th, 2017 at 9:26 PM ^

Say what you will but I absolutely love The Presidents of USA. Their quirkiness is great! Had a few adult beverages last night enjoying the days past with PUSA playing. I would love to spend a day with these guys! Let me take this moment to endorse Gin Wigmore also. Love her! 

TMS-Mr. Ace

August 6th, 2017 at 9:30 PM ^

Chance the Rapper has blown up now, but I remember when Acid Rap first dropped and immediately out it in my top 5 albums ever. Now he preaches and I hate it.

DrMantisToboggan

August 6th, 2017 at 9:37 PM ^

LOL I liked this artist when he was doing the drugs I like, but now that he has a daughter and is responsible I hate him. 

 

That's like people getting mad at Jay-Z talking about building wealth on his new album instead of bitches and guns. Damn these responsible ass artists.

TMS-Mr. Ace

August 6th, 2017 at 10:29 PM ^

I thought Chance was plenty responsible on Acid Rap in the way he talked about issues. I still enjoy his music overall. I could just due without the preachiness. I don't think it's beneficial. Still a fan, though.

And, yes, I don't care for Jay Z talking about building wealth on his 47th album. After spending the previous 46 talking about mostly the opposite. But I'm not a big Jay Z guy anyways.