jericho

May 27th, 2011 at 4:54 PM ^

"As is abundantly clear, the context and the use of the quotation marks in this personnel review demonstrate that the comment was a colloquial way of describing Doug Archie's performance. It underlies the fact that Doug has built an excellent compliance program, and he continues to work hard -- and be effective -- in ensuring that the athletics program complies with university, Big Ten and NCAA rules and regulations." 

 

Yeah. He's done a terrific job at compliance.  Suuuuuure.  OSU just continues to step on their crank over and over again.

MAgoBLUE

May 27th, 2011 at 5:00 PM ^

I'm sure that OSU's compliance department would be very effective if they were actually kept in the loop about the goings on in the program.

IowaBlue

May 27th, 2011 at 5:52 PM ^

I've been wondering if Jim Tressel was seriously delusional enough to think that he could keep all of the damage mitigated by himself; or if others within the Athletic Department actually knew anything...  Initially I thought no way the AD wasn't in the know at least.

However after this type of move I wonder...  If you’re trying to protect the University and build a case for a fall guy for the entire downfall of the football program and protect yourself from the massive beat down coming from the NCAA; why not make it look like your compliance department acts accordingly on all knowledge that it has and praise them for what they have acted on. 

This might just be telling as to how the AD and President are moving to protect the long term interests of the University and throw Jim Tressel under the bus to save themselves?

It will be interesting to see this all play out. 

Waffles

May 27th, 2011 at 5:03 PM ^

OSU Compliance Department Motto

"It's okay to break the rules, just tell us afterwards and you will be off the hook!"

Unless you don't tell us, than you're not off the hook.

mGrowOld

May 27th, 2011 at 5:04 PM ^

At what point in this farce does the NCAA grow a pair and say "that's enough!"  OSU is seemingly flipping off everyone and anyone with absolute impunity and these reviews are just one more example of this behavior.

From Gee's "I hope he doesn't fire me" comment through this nonsense today it is clear (to me anyways) that OSU doesnt take these allegations seriously in the least and doesnt believe they'll face any significant punishment whatsoever.  Their laughable "suspension" of Tressel for two games proved that from the outset.

I guess the powers that be in the NCAA must enjoy public humiliation cause their unruly child in Columbus is definitely demonstrating they believe they are above reproach.

MGoAero

May 27th, 2011 at 5:09 PM ^

I think the perhaps more telling bit from that article is that OSU refused to release communcations that might give an impression of the relationship between JT and Pryor's hometown 'mentor'.  Obviously we have no idea what's contained therein, but if there was nothing, then we would indeed know that.

ish

May 27th, 2011 at 5:17 PM ^

I disagree.  as a lawyer, i can tell you that in these kinds of cases, you make that response no matter what.  if OSU released this kind of informtion when there was nothing to hide, it would create an inference that there was something to hide when OSU refused to release information.  pretty much all legal departments adhere to that rule.

Lac55

May 27th, 2011 at 5:11 PM ^

This is a JOKE! TSIO's adm. is clearly delusional and drunk with the success of sweater vest on the field. I guess if your not cheating your not trying.

MGoPalestine

May 27th, 2011 at 5:12 PM ^

Some might say that something very strange is going on in Columbus. It may take a couple of months for EVERYTHING to come out. And let me assure you, by EVERYTHING, I mean EVERYTHING, which means the bloody knife at the murderer's home or the stain on Monica Lewinsky's dress. Ohio State is heading north on a White Bronco.

We are seeing the tip of the iceberg.

MGoRob

May 27th, 2011 at 5:58 PM ^

What I find interesting was the information that wasn't released to the AP. These reviews were given out but OSU refused to provide emails about Pryor's relationship with his hometown mentor *cough* booster *cough*, Ted Sarniak. http://sports.espn.go.com/ncf/news/story?id=6600129

In an email on Friday, Ohio State's Office of Legal Affairs declined to release the records because it said doing so would mean giving up information without the student's consent.

"The university is prohibited from releasing information that can be reasonably linked to an individual," the office said in the statement.

Privacy law protects certain records of students at schools receiving federal money. It usually covers personal information such as race, religion, grades, courses taken, attendance, disciplinary and health records.

psychomatt

May 27th, 2011 at 6:16 PM ^

So, just to recap, Gordon Gee believes Gene Smith is doing an amazing job, Gene Smith believes Doug Archie, his Director of Compliance, is doing an amazing job and Gene Smith had a beer with Jim Tressel at the end of the season and told him to keep up the good work. Hey, with a crack management team like this, what could go wrong?

BiSB

May 27th, 2011 at 10:38 PM ^

This tastes a lot like the moment during the USC investigation when the Trojans hired Lane Kiffin, a known cheater.  The moment called for contrition, and the school responds with...