next to the dugout. Coach was pissed as she should have been. The umpire followed Hutch back to the dugout. They were about 5 feet from me.
Coach was arguing for an interference call. The first base ump CLEARLY signaled interference on the runner. The home plate ump came running out and called a conference. The call was reversed.
There are two problems with this. 1) this call was NOT the home plate ump's call. It was clearly the first base ump's call. He called interference. 2) The home plate ump said that Ashley did not have a "reasonable" attempt at the ball. So worst case we have a "collision" with no call either way. But to call obstruction on Ashley, the umpire had to interpret that Ashley's action was to imped the runner.
Rule 2.00 Interference: A runner makes contact with a fielder attempting to field a batted ball, except the batter with the catcher in the immediate vicinity of home plate immediately after the ball was batted;
Now NCAA does not have a "no contact" rule like high school and summer ball does. All runners are required to attempt to avoid collisions; if a runner fails to do so, he is guilty of malicious contact, which is one kind of offensive interference
Normally this would have been a "No call" which allows the play to continue. In this case the runner was forced out and the batter-runner was safe at first.