Your unpopular Michigan opinions?

Submitted by Wolverine Devotee on May 16th, 2018 at 4:32 PM

This can be any sport. 

-I think we should keep the all-Maize as a permanent alternate in Football and wear them for big non-rivalry games (PSU, UW etc.)

-The endzones being green is stupid. Make it Blue and step into the 21st century. Almost everyone has colored endzones and they look great.

-The renovations have made The Big House feel smaller and boxed in. Not a fan. They look great don't get me wrong, but I miss the stadium I first walked into as a 9 year old kid.

-The holier-than-thou degree waver fans are obnoxious, thinking because they went to the school they're higher than non-grad fans on the totem pole. 

Comments

ShadowStorm33

May 16th, 2018 at 4:41 PM ^

Not sure about maize uniforms for football, but I’ve always thought that the maize uniforms are by far the best looking for basketball and hockey.

stephenrjking

May 16th, 2018 at 4:58 PM ^

I think we saw them in the worst possible context, a dome with significant quantities of Florida orange scattered about. The color clash was bad. In broad daylight I think they'd look a lot better.

I'm fine with another attempt that's not a home game. I'm also fine if we never see them again.

Gulogulo37

May 16th, 2018 at 11:24 PM ^

As far as alternatives go, I wasn't as annoyed as I thought I'd be.

From what I gathered from before though, my slightly unpopular opinion is to wear the all-white away uniforms. Love those. The thick bands of maize and blue along the sides helped put it all together while making the helmet stand out even more.

Sam1863

May 17th, 2018 at 5:22 AM ^

I slightly disagree with the idea of "putting them away forever." My solution would involve a can of lighter fluid and a book of matches.

Blue is the primary color of the university, so it should be the color of the jerseys. When the cheerleaders start chanting "Let's Go Maize," then I'll reconsider.

DrMantisToboggan

May 16th, 2018 at 4:41 PM ^

- Taylor Lewan, while a great player and nice to many people including myself, is a bad person that should not be celebrated by this University in any way.

- Brandstatter is horrible at his job, and Dierdorf isn’t much better. Both should be removed from game duties. Brandy can keep doing Inside Michigan Football, that’s fine.

- The white pants for away games is an improvement over the maize ones, and the helmet stickers are an improvement as well. These feel like unpopular opinions from internet interactions but I could be off here.

dieseljr32

May 16th, 2018 at 4:44 PM ^

I second the Brandstatter thing. He's good as an analyst, but Michigan needs a bonafide play by play guy.

Also, this one is going to be unpopular, but the football team hasn't won a conference title since 2004 and yet we still beat our chests about being a great football program. Michigan can be that again, but the fans need to take a slice of humble pie.

ldevon1

May 16th, 2018 at 4:50 PM ^

I agree with everything except, the beating our chest part. Maybe the circle of friends you hang with beat their chests but the people I hang with know better. That's one of the reasons I get frustrated with people thinking kids turning Michigan down is stupid. Kids don't know the Michigan I grew up with. I'm 46 and I haven't been happy since 2006.

mitchewr

May 17th, 2018 at 3:42 PM ^

I feel like he's probalby referring to most of the fans who participate in online discussion boards. It's all "We're the best because Michigan and JH" rather than "we've been mediocre for a LONG TIME, better wait and see an improved team before shouting how great we're going to be". 

DrMantisToboggan

May 16th, 2018 at 5:11 PM ^

I guess we have different metrics of what makes a program great, but I think it would take about 30 years without a conference title to remove Michigan from the "great" list.

 

There's no explaining away 13 years without a conference title, it is what it is, but that doesn't make us not great in my opinion. We've had great seasons in that span where we came just a couple plays short, we've put a ton of guys in the NFL still, revenue, attendance, etc. I don't share that specific unpopular opinion. 

DrMantisToboggan

May 16th, 2018 at 5:20 PM ^

Taylor made a string of bad decisions under the umbrella of the same incident. I don't claim to know Taylor on a personal level, but I've met him and been around him. My second day as a walk on he introduced himself and took me around the whole locker room to introduce me to everyone individually - he was very nice to me personally. I've also seen him act a fool at parties and partake in a fair amount of booger sugar. Not necessarily immoral, just acted a little douchey in my eyes. Obviously it's the incident with the female student that truly stands out as an indictment against his character.

 

I don't think there are many people who are irredeemable, and I certainly hope that Taylor has realized his wrongs and apologized to the right people. However, I don't think that it's right for the university to celebrate him. He did a really, really bad thing when he was here that went virtually unpunished by the university. As far as I can recall, he has made no public apology for what he did. I'd be willing to change my mind if he made a public apology and did some kind of charity or public service work in the arena of sexual assault (and maybe he's done this privately and I don't know about it), but until that happens I really don't think that he should be someone that the athletic department brags about publicly or invites back to games.

lhglrkwg

May 16th, 2018 at 4:42 PM ^

I wonder if Michigan will ever get the right combo of recruiting and coaching to win another national title. The population shift from the midwest is not helping us.

Moonlight Graham

May 16th, 2018 at 4:45 PM ^

Did Coach Harbaugh have a "passing game coordinator" and a "run game coordinator" at Stanford or the 49ers? And how does that work? On running downs the run game coordinator calls the play and passing downs the pass-game guy gets it? What if it's a 3rd and 4? (I know defenses make personnel changes on passing vs. running downs but that's a little different.) Then somehow Harbaugh has veto power if he doesn't like the run play? Does he ask the passing guy what he's got available to run?

So my unpopular opinion is we'll never win the B1G or make the playoff running our offense this way. We can get back to a 2016-level season this year with the talent we have on defense, but that season ended up short of those major goals.