Your opinions of players who step up starting this spring

Submitted by MichiganMan_24_ on February 12th, 2015 at 8:49 AM

Read an article of guys to watch this spring and im interested to hear more opinions.. So, 3 players who you want to see and feel will carve out a spot for themselves this year.

1. Ty Isaac - I am not big on comparing these guys to proven stars but i must here.. Isaac has a Matt Forte build and skill set in my opinion.. Tall, thick, hands that can allow him to split wide, and deceptive speed and power.. I like the talent of our RB group and think all of them can bring production if the OL improves.. Isaac is the one who can do it all though and i have a feeling he will be a huge addition to the offense.

2.Maurice Hurst - Showed some real flashes of the quickness we heard about last year.. This team desperately needs a pass rush and if it can come from the inside of the line that is even better.. Another year of weight room may be the final move in taking a leap from seeing flashes to consistent production from Mo Hurst.

3.Jehuu Chesson - I say this in part to believing the OL improves with the coaching of Drevno.. I felt last season we were hesitant to setup deep routes because the confidence was not there with the OL.. Chesson plays hard and if the offense can click in a Harbaugh way that means the running game is churning and the TEs-HBacks are moving the chains.. That can open up some deep shots and Chesson has the ability to make plays.

Excited to see spring ball and the hope is strong

Comments

Auerbach

February 12th, 2015 at 8:56 AM ^

3 guys I have big hopes for:

Ben Gedeon - showed flashes in limited playing time. Looks like a baller

Drake Harris - no explanation needed

Norfleet - I dont think he's reached his potential. Seemed like the old staff didnt really know how to use him

Malzone - very skilled kid and a winner. Seems like a low floor kind of guy. He may not be able to take a game over by himself, but he sure looks like he can play the QB position with competence, and that may be all that Harbaugh needs for this team to be successful.

gasbro

February 12th, 2015 at 9:56 AM ^

I want to see it, but haven't seen anything yet.

I'm glad he looks fired up and like he's having fun out there, but truthfully it makes it a little more frustrating when he downs every kickoff 1 yd deep or fair catches every punt with a 5-10 yd cushion. Perhaps (probably?), it was coaching, and maybe he'll get a chance to show more this year.

3 guys with big hopes:

1. Peppers

2. Isaac

3. Cole

maize-blue

February 12th, 2015 at 10:42 AM ^

It'd be great to see Taco come into his own this year. I think the middle of the D line will be solid/stout. If someone can emerge in the DE position who can be a QB terror from time to time, then I'd predict the defense to be really good. It probably will be anyway but a DE playmaker would be my biggest question mark on D.

Laser Wolf

February 12th, 2015 at 9:10 AM ^

Ben Gedeon - Essentially a physical clone of Shayne Skov. Could be that rock at the second level.

Alex Malzone - I get the feeling he'll start right away and man the ship until the Gentry cannon is ready to be unleashed.

Dymonte Thomas - Please? Pretty please?

brewandbluesaturdays

February 12th, 2015 at 9:12 AM ^

Ty Isaac - everything the OP stated are my thoughts as well. 

A QB - Just give us one. I feel like this team is set up for a great run this season if the team can get consistent QB play. 

Kalis - Dude seemed like his mind was getting in the way of his talent. I have a feeling Drevno is going to turn Kalis into the highly-touted bulldozer he was supposed to be.  

 

brewandbluesaturdays

February 12th, 2015 at 9:51 AM ^

I don't think Drake's problem is a matter of figuring it out as much as it is staying healthy. I have a friend whose family is very close to Drake's (Grand Rapids Christian connection) and they are hearing directly from Drake that he is feeling great and he probably could've come back last year but by the time he was healthy it wasn't worth losing the redshirt. 

LJ

February 12th, 2015 at 9:17 AM ^

If practice reports say that Shane, Peppers (at safety), and Darboh are tearing it up, I think we'll be pretty good this year.

turd ferguson

February 12th, 2015 at 9:50 AM ^

Yeah, this is a different question I'm answering, but if Morris and Charlton improve immensely this year, I'm feeling really good about this season.  I think QB is easily our biggest question mark on offense (and the most important position in football), and DE is easily our biggest question mark on defense (and maybe the most important position on D).  Both of those guys have the tools to be really good, but they're both still so raw.

As far as who I expect it from, give me Mone, Kalis, and Gedeon.  With what those guys have shown and the coaching they're about to get, I'm kind of expecting all three to get drafted one day.

JonnyHintz

February 12th, 2015 at 10:15 AM ^

I like your picks, but I'd make one alteration. Instead of Darboh at WR, I'd hope another guy sets himself up with a great spring at WR.

Reason being,I felt that down the stretch last season Darboh was our #1 guy. I truly felt he was a more reliable target that Funchess. What would really benefit this team is having Darboh continue that play, and then another receiver who proves to be an excellent go-to guy as well. Giving us two solid WRs for a brand new starting QB.