Unpopular Opinions NEGBANG

Submitted by 5th Van Tyne on August 5th, 2017 at 6:57 PM

We've been missing a good ol' negbang for far too long. I want to hear your hottest takes on why you're afraid for this upcoming season or why you may despise delicious Chick Fil A sandwiches (if that's even possible).

I'll start by saying that Onwenu's weight worries me to no end. IIRC he was supposed to drop a bunch of weight before spring ball, but that never really materialized.

Comments

lhglrkwg

August 5th, 2017 at 7:00 PM ^

The offense is going to be essentially the same as last year. No, addition by subtraction on the O Line is not a thing we can expect to magically vault the running game back into competency. The run game will remain stagnant for one more year

sum1valiant

August 5th, 2017 at 7:03 PM ^

They put pickles on their chicken sandwiches. Now, don't get me wrong, I enjoy a good pickle, but I've never once in my life thought "man, this is some good fried chicken, but only if I had a steamed pickle to ensure this once crispy crust on my chicken turned into flaccid wet batter on vinegar flavored bread".

Steve Breaston…

August 5th, 2017 at 7:04 PM ^

I'm worried that Harbaugh will choose Speight's floor over Peters ceiling this season. Between the two, Speight's not good enough to shoulder us for one big additional win, but he's the proven, safer, steadier bet right now. But a fully weaponized Peters floor may be higher than Speights ceiling.

rainingmaize

August 5th, 2017 at 7:05 PM ^

Everyone here who is expecting us to make it to the playoffs is out of their mind. Realistically speaking this team is very young, and their are four games on the schedule where we won't be the favorites. 

WichitanWolverine

August 5th, 2017 at 7:52 PM ^

Youth hasn't stopped OSU or Bama from dominating college football. If we want to be the best, we shouldn't rely on it as an excuse. I don't think we'll make the playoffs but it wouldn't shock me. We got robbed of our playoff shot last year, and now the team that robbed us has to play in A2. It is possible, even with a loss to Wisconsin or PSU.

stephenrjking

August 5th, 2017 at 7:07 PM ^

The OL is going to be rough, and the secondary is going to get burned badly on occasion. Michigan will be upset by a team that they shouldn't lose to this year. Many of our young guys will play well; a few of them are going to be weekly headaches with bad UFR scores that regularly cost the team points and/or turnovers. At least one of the new guys on the OL is going to be flat-out overmatched against even average competition.

I love Chick Fil A sandwiches, though I rarely eat them. My convenience food hot take is that Taco Bell is awesome and I would eat it every day if I could. 

 

 

clarkiefromcanada

August 5th, 2017 at 7:27 PM ^

The fanbase expectations are, too often, not in-line with reality. The recent starzzz/stars debate and Ace having to intervene in that discussion and note that the only starzzz that matter come at the end of the recruiting cycle/not when the athlete signs is illustrative.

Also, I fear that a large segment of the fanbase not only does not "trust the coaches" when it comes to talent evaluation (vs. the Services) they feel they know better themselves. Amazing, really.

readyourguard

August 5th, 2017 at 7:27 PM ^

Chick Fil A might be the most overhyped food in the history of cooked foods.

We'll have more wins THIS YEAR with Speight at the wheel.

Our OLine will not take a step back from last year because we have a new right guard.

Brian Lewerke is better than he's getting credit for.

Guinness and Jameson's Black Barrel should flow from spigots in every home.

HarbaughsLeftElbow

August 5th, 2017 at 7:37 PM ^

I like draftaggedon. 

I think our RB crew is solid but I don't know if any of the guys are really everydown stars. 

I don't think PSU is very good but still believe we lose to them (tough road game). 

Speight has funky throwing mechanics and it contributed to his inconsistency, occasional inaccuracy and poor timing. 

Despite having a few amazing games, Gardner was not that good of a QB and isn't entirely a victim of Hoke coaching, poor OL, etc. Many "dual threat" QBs face similar problems/career trajectories (Malik Zaire, Tommy Armstrong, JT Barrett if he doesn't improve.

Hoke is an equal or better head coach than Rich Rod (both are very poor). 

Lovie Smith was a horrible hire for Illinois. 

I do not find Ryan Nanni of EDSBS to be funny whatsoever.