Trey Burke Wins Naismith Award and NABC D1 POY Award

Submitted by Raoul on April 7th, 2013 at 6:35 PM

POY award #5 and it's a big one—Naismith Award for Trey Burke! Congrats!

Congratulations Trey Burke! @trey_burke3 is your 2013 Naismith Trophy winner presented by @att!!…

— Naismith Awards (@NaismithAwards) April 7, 2013


Embedded image permalink

EDIT: Make that six: Burke has also won the National Association of Basketball Coaches Division 1 Player of the Year award.

Michigan's press release on these awards points that Burke is the first Wolverine in program history to win either honor.

I believe the only major POY award yet to be awarded is the Adolph Rupp Trophy.

To recap, Burke has won the Oscar Robertson, Wooden, and Naismith awards, plus the AP, NABC, and SI player of the year awards.



April 7th, 2013 at 6:38 PM ^

You would almost hate to say that congratulating someone on another major award is routine, but in the case of Trey Burke and the incredible season he has had in concert with the run this team is having, it's an excellent routine. Congratulations to Trey on yet another honor!


April 7th, 2013 at 6:42 PM ^

Its so cool to see our football legends like Desmond, Charles, and Denard embrace our basketball team.  It helps both programs to have the other one kick ass on a national stage. 


April 7th, 2013 at 9:52 PM ^

Your argument is invalid. The only reason why Burke has won more awards than Cazzie Russell is because most of these awards didn't exist in Russell's day. Russell won every POY award given out in 1966. According to the NCAA Award Winners publication, there were only four awarded that year, and Russell swept them: AP, USBWA (now called the Oscar Robertson Trophy), Sporting News, and UPI (now defunct).

All of the following were created after Russell's time at Michigan: Wooden, Naismith, Adolph Rupp, NABC, and Basketball Times. So he obviously had no chance to win them.

Sporting News, for the record, gave its POY award to Victor Oladipo, while Otto Porter was Basketball Times' pick.


April 7th, 2013 at 7:05 PM ^

and honestly I don't even know the answer to this one. When was the last time Michigan had a Naismith and Player of the year award winner?! DAMN lol Congrats Trey Burke!