Timeouts: Alabama vs. Arkansas

Submitted by kmaltby182003 on September 25th, 2010 at 11:35 PM

Is there no rule about calling two consecutive time-outs without a play in between? 

Did anyone else notice that Alabama called two in a row on 4th-and-1 late in the game against Arkansas today?  They lined up to go for it from around mid-field...tried to draw Arkansas offside, called time-out with one second left on the play clock, then came back from the TO only to call another before they ran a play????

Nobody seemed to notice or care.  The announcers/officials didn't say anything (that I heard), and the Arkansas players/staff didn't seem to be arguing it?  I had to back it up on DVR to make sure I didn't miss a play...but Bama called two time-outs in a row for sure.

I could have sworn there was a rule against this, but could not find anything reliable to confirm or disprove this belief?



September 26th, 2010 at 2:01 AM ^

Come to think of it, I don't think I've seen it in at least a couple years, so maybe they changed it, but it certainly was legal in the college game. Maybe the coaches just wised up and found that it doesn't really work anyway and if the kicker does make it they want all their timeouts for a last-gasp comeback attempt.


September 26th, 2010 at 12:23 AM ^

Thats what Utah did in there opening game against Pitt and they are lucky they won the game.


The Pitt kicker made the game tieing field goal... wait nevermind Timeout Utah

The Pitt kicker missed the game tieing field goal.... wait nevermind Timeout Utah.

The Pitt kicker kicks the field goal (game shows picture in picture with the Utah coach acting like he was going to take the 3rd and final timeout).... and makes it.


The game went into overtime and Utah prevailed