Redshirt Rule

Submitted by PKnoll_17 on September 19th, 2010 at 11:14 AM
Does anyone know if you can redshirt players after the season? Say Tate ends up not taking a single snap which probably won't happen. Itc's kinda unlogical with Sousa coming in, maybe Marquise Williams, Devin Gardner and Denard.......Is this Sousa supposed to be like a Justin Feagin minus the marijuana busts hopefully.

Comments

Trebor

September 19th, 2010 at 11:16 AM ^

You don't have to declare redshirts before the season, so yes, if Tate manages to make it through the season without playing a single snap, he'll be considered a redshirt sophomore next season.

bronxblue

September 19th, 2010 at 11:34 AM ^

If Tate doesn't see the field, then yes he can apply for a redshirt.  Of course, getting a non-medical redshirt as a sophomore (after being the starter as a freshman) does not portend a positive future with the team.  If Tate does not see real game time this year, in all likelihood he'll transfer.

Alton

September 19th, 2010 at 11:57 AM ^

Almost accurate, with one correction:  if you do not play in one season, you do not have to "apply" for a redshirt--you have automatically redshirted.  Tate Forcier, like all recruits, came to Michigan with 5 years in which to play 4.  If Forcier does not play this year, he will have played 1 year of his first 2, and will therefore be able to play 3 more years.  No application process or any other declaration by the player or the school is needed--it's automatic.

bronxblue

September 19th, 2010 at 10:38 PM ^

Thanks for the clarification - I didn't make that clear in my post.  I know that you receive an auto-redshirt for a year of non-play, but for some reason said you "applied" for it when I should have said it was "applied to you." 

Nosce Te Ipsum

September 19th, 2010 at 11:40 AM ^

If Tate doesn't play I think it would be a good idea for him to redshirt. He will in all likelihood transfer so with the redshirt he would be given an extra year to play college ball for another team.

jmblue

September 19th, 2010 at 5:16 PM ^

If Tate doesn't play, he will redshirt.  You don't have to choose whether or not a guy who never played redshirted. 

As for him transferring, it makes no difference whether he redshirts now or not.  If he transfers, he has to sit out 2011 regardless and will have two years remaining, whether or not he plays this year.