OT: Pirates vs Braves currently in 18th inning

Submitted by bklein09 on July 27th, 2011 at 1:24 AM
An impromptu double-header!

Comments

BraveWolverine730

July 27th, 2011 at 1:32 AM ^

Seriously we couldn't score a run off JASON FREAKING GRILLI. We deserve to lose this game. I just want someone to score so I can go to bed. And McCann is going to the DL which sucks balls. So basically this game is pissing me off.  

trout_mask

July 27th, 2011 at 1:45 AM ^

Ready for this to end...I need to go to bed.  I am afraid that the little girl yelling "lets go pirates!" over and over is going to haunt my dreams tonight.

Blue in Yarmouth

July 27th, 2011 at 7:19 AM ^

This is by far the worst call I have ever seen in my 35 years of watching baseball. It looks a lot like the ump simply wanted the game to be over so he called him safe. From every angle and at every speed the player was out by 3 steps....That is ridiculous.

Wave83

July 27th, 2011 at 8:44 AM ^

Did the catcher really tag him?  The first few replays I saw convinced me that this was the worst call ever.  Then, when I saw the camera angle essentially taken from the Braves dugout area, it appeared that the catcher swept his mitt across the path of the runner without tagging him.

I guess I'd have to look at the other angles (and I'm watching these replays with sound off because others are sleeping here), but I am thinking that the umpire might not have been a total idiot, even if he was actually wrong.

1329 S. University

July 27th, 2011 at 9:11 AM ^

I don't believe he was actually tagged. I don't see the mitt move at all like it hit any part of his body and moreover I just don't see a tag at all. I think this Ump is actually spot on with that call. I know the player reacted like he couldn't believe it - but mostly because he should have been out by a mile - assuming of course the catcher did his job and tagged him. I just don't think he did.

Moleskyn

July 27th, 2011 at 9:35 AM ^

Unbelievable call there. The ump must have thought the catcher missed the tag. From the Braves' dugout angle, it does kind of look like the catcher misses the tag; but if he missed the tag, then why did Lugo act so surprised once the ump called him safe? I think it was just a blown call by an ump who wanted to go home. No excuse for that.

In other news, anybody else notice the batter faceplant after taking a couple steps? I didn't notice that until I had seen the replay a couple times and almost burst out laughing!

ThWard

July 27th, 2011 at 10:39 AM ^

But going with the swipe tag in that situation seems a little odd.  Slap the glove on the dude's thigh, pop up, and gun the hitter out at first.

oriental andrew

July 27th, 2011 at 12:31 PM ^

I'm biased as a braves fan (atlanta born and raised), but you can't fault the ump. Body language of the players tells you lugo was probaby tagged, but it is, as they say, a bang-bang play. With no replay in baseball, you'll always get these judgement calls that are sometimes wrong. Lest we forget football and hockey until relatively recently.

As an aside, I'm on business in pittsburgh right now and espn is on in the restaurant I'm in. Pirates fans everywhere just flabbergasted every time they show the replay. Kinda funny. ;)