OT: NCAA 11 is getting solid reviews

Submitted by Crime Reporter on July 9th, 2010 at 1:29 PM

I know many of us (myself included) took advantage of that $40 pre-order price for NCAA Football 11.

That being said, I know even more of us (again, myself included) have been very disappointed with the game since it was first introduced on the next gen consoles.

But it appears, thus far, critics are hailing this year's game as a step in the right direction after so many misfires of late.

IGN gave it an 8.5; Game Informer gave it a 9.

But I thought this review from Operation Sports was the most extensive in explaining the improvements of this year's title.

Check it out: http://www.operationsports.com/review.php?id=552

Comments

TheDirtyD

July 9th, 2010 at 1:34 PM ^

i just talk to my old coach and good frind who is high up at a site called game cinema hd. He played the game and i asked him if its worth buying this year and he said yes they re did some of the engine of he game. It's pretty neat he said about the different styles of O. He recmonded it and  he gave the 10 version a poor rating. Im headed up to his office shortly to play it for a few hours. Also as a avid fan of the NHL game from EA he said there are some good changes comming.

JeepinBen

July 9th, 2010 at 1:42 PM ^

"Watching Navy execute that offense against me was a thing of beauty. And perhaps the best part is that Navy only threw the ball eight times the entire game -- I have never before seen a football AI so accurately mimic a real-life offense. After years of sleepwalking through defense even on higher difficulties, it is a welcome change to have a team like Michigan run me ragged with a hurry-up spread. You have to pay attention to your defensive personnel now and really game plan for the type of offense you will see on a weekly basis."

"The intros are extremely detailed, and even if your favorite team does not have a specific pregame ritual, be ready to grin -- even though I hate Michigan, I never get tired of seeing them come into the Big House and slap that blasted banner."

BlockM

July 9th, 2010 at 2:26 PM ^

And that's why it works. Make one read and it's an automatic 10 yards without breaking a sweat. Tate and Denard have been studying this exact type of situation for a long time now. Can't wait to see it in action.

briangoblue

July 9th, 2010 at 3:49 PM ^

Does that mean NCAA has Denard as the starter? I've sworn off the last couple year's versions but it looks like EA's finally gotten their act together on this one. Plus, Michigan is going to be a lot of fun to use with all that speed. 

ntl002

July 9th, 2010 at 9:04 PM ^

Has anyone else been having trouble running the zone read in the demo? While the AI blocking has undoubtedly been improved from previous NCAA games, I still find that my tackle will often block the play-side end. I'm also have trouble reading whether an unblocked end is crashing for the RB or the QB. 

bkewman

July 9th, 2010 at 3:28 PM ^

I took advantage of the Dell deal as well and got an email today informing me that my ship date has been delayed and that I won't recieve the game until the 23rd! The latest I have ever recieved NCAA by far. I know im being dramatic, but dang that stinks considering the whole reason for pre-ordering it is to get it the day it comes out.

As far as EA goes, I have pre-ordered through them and I usually recieved it on the release day.

Shalom Lansky

July 9th, 2010 at 3:48 PM ^

Dell hasn't sent me an email besides the order confirmation email but that email projected the delivery date to be the 23rd.  Delivery speed was set to 7 day delivery.  Where are they shipping from? From Miami to Seattle can't even take 7 days (right?), are they using the the post office's new service: USPS College Road Trip?  The original thread did warn that Dell shipping is extremely slow and often delayed so I'm expecting the worst.

Oh well for a $17 saving I'll wait an extra week.

mgoblue7

July 9th, 2010 at 8:26 PM ^

well I finally hooked up xbox up to my internet and downloaded the Demo, I gotta say it is head and shoulders above last years game.  Now my big question, I was dumb and didn't take advantage ofthe $40 presale has anyone heard of anyone still offering it for that price?