OT: MLB one game Wildcard times 2 Open Thread

Submitted by Blue boy johnson on October 5th, 2012 at 6:35 PM

Interested to see how this inaugral one game Wildcard matchups unfolds. I don't like the idea of a one and done in baseball, but I'm listening.

Cards v Braves in first game: This is a wild one so far with the Cards up 3-2 in the 5th. Looked as though the Braves had tied game in bottom 4 but runner was (rightfully) called out for interference while trying to beat out a bunt, and the tying run came off the board

 

Orioles v Rangers in second game: Go Orioles. Based on last season no team scares me more than the Rangers, so I would like to see the O's advance. It wil be Yu Darvish for the Rangers matching up against Joe Saunders for the O's.

Comments

Generic MGoBlogger

October 5th, 2012 at 10:36 PM ^

After the ALCS last season and Detroit's performance against them this season, I find them surprisingly scary as well.  Baltimore just doesn't frighten me as much Texas does even though they seem to find some way to screw it all up when it matters the most. 

TheLastHarbaugh

October 5th, 2012 at 6:47 PM ^

LOL if the Cards rip the hearts out of the Braves again (even though I'm rooting for ATL).

The Cards are made of magic. The first year baseball changes it's rules, of course the Cards sneak into the 5th spot, causing every fan of an opposing national league playoff team to curse the gods.

outwest

October 5th, 2012 at 6:59 PM ^

I consider myself a baseball fan, but I have a hard time watching two teams that I have no connection with play.  That is until the playoffs roll around and I could sit and watch every game.  

outwest

October 5th, 2012 at 7:05 PM ^

 

Cardinals: +145
Braves: -165
Over/under: 6.5

Orioles: +165
Rangers: -190
Over/under: 9

Here's a look at the World Series and Pennants.

Odds to win the 2012 World Series
Reds: 5/1
Yankees: 5/1
Nationals: 5/1
Tigers: 6/1
Rangers: 7/1
Athletics: 15/2
Giants: 15/2
Braves: 12/1
Orioles: 15/1
Cardinals: 15/1

Odds to win the 2012 AL Pennant
Yankees: 9/4
Tigers: 11/4
Rangers: 13/4
Athletics: 7/2
Orioles: 7/1

Odds to win the 2012 NL Pennant
Reds: 2/1
Nationals: 9/4
Giants: 3/1
Braves: 13/2
Cardinals: 7/1

Blue boy johnson

October 5th, 2012 at 7:18 PM ^

Braves are self destructing. The young fella at short is really having a tough game

5-2 Cards in the 7th as 2 Braves errors lead to another run.

EDIT: another run scores from 2nd on an infield single in the 7th, and as we head to the bottome of 7, Cards 6 Braves 2

CalJr3000

October 5th, 2012 at 7:31 PM ^

I really like Chipper and would love to see him go out a winner, but if I had to root for an NL team, it would be the Fighting Matheneys, so go Cards!

Yeoman

October 5th, 2012 at 7:56 PM ^

Absolutely no way that isn't an infield fly--I have no idea why anyone who knew the rule would think otherwise.

The second baseman is under the pop. It makes absolutely no difference, under the rule, where the ball is, as long as the infielder can easily make the play.

The only reason there's a debate here is that we have Braves announcers doing the game--they don't know the rule and they have reason not to want to.

MGoBender

October 5th, 2012 at 8:17 PM ^

That's not an interpretation, that's the reason for the rule.  That's why it's not restricted to the infield proper.

The ump made a terrible call. The SS was not under it yet. Most importantly, the call was made late. If it was made with proper timing, I'd have no issue.

BlueManballGroup

October 5th, 2012 at 8:21 PM ^

Cards fan? The infield fly rule is supposed to be applied to ordinary catches so that you can't intentionally drop an easy catch and get a double/triple play.  It was pretty obvious that the shortstop didn't feel comfortable with the catch and miscommunication between him and the left fielder caused the ball to drop.  That kind of thing happens all the time.

cbs650

October 5th, 2012 at 9:17 PM ^

if he was standing under it why let your LF call u off? and if the SS actually heard the ump, once again if he was underneath the ball, why duck out the way. The rule is the rule but their is to much room for judgement. they need to rewrite it so that umps judgement is limited.

Yeoman

October 5th, 2012 at 9:22 PM ^

Again, it's the outfielder's ball if he calls for it and as an infielder it doesn't matter if you're camped under it waiting for it to come down, when you hear him call you're out of there. Plenty of time later in the dugout to argue if you think he made the wrong call--your immediate job is to avoid the collision and that means not being where the ball is about to be caught.

Yeoman

October 5th, 2012 at 8:00 PM ^

 

An INFIELD FLY is a fair fly ball (not including a line drive nor an attempted bunt) which can be caught by an infielder with ordinary effort, when first and second, or first, second and third bases are occupied, before two are out. The pitcher, catcher and any outfielder who stations himself in the infield on the play shall be considered infielders for the purpose of this rule.

Does anyone actually think Kozma couldn't have caught the ball with ordinary effort, if he hadn't ducked away from it? He was standing right where it landed.

I'll grant you that it should have been called much earlier.

Yeoman

October 5th, 2012 at 8:49 PM ^

He ran away from it thinking he'd been called off by the left fielder. He's under it with his glove up, then at the last moment he flinches and moves a few feet back towards the infield and toward the foul line to get out of the way.

Live I thought maybe he'd heard something from the stands and thought it was his outfielder. Watching it again I wonder if it was the umpire he heard. He ducks away just as the left field ump puts up his hand and makes the call.

BlueManballGroup

October 5th, 2012 at 9:09 PM ^

Exactly. The SS never had time to establish himself under the ball because had to run so far.  When he heard something he thought it was the left fielder calling him off.  That doesn't look like an ordinary/easy catch. It looks like an infielder running far into the outfield and then the ball dropping due to miscommunication between the infielder and outfielder.

Yeoman

October 5th, 2012 at 9:11 PM ^

It doesn't matter if you're established under the ball or not; it's the outfielder's ball if he calls it and if you hear him you get the hell out of the way. Infielders get called off balls they're underneath all the time--if you have a choice you always want the player moving in on the ball to make the play because it's an easier throw for him.

It looked weird here because the outfielder wasn't actually there and wasn't the one calling, but the shortstop doesn't know that. He's doing what he's supposed to do, looking up at the ball and assuming it's his until he hears a call.

myrtlebeachmai…

October 5th, 2012 at 9:36 PM ^

The SS was moving the entire time, the ONLY instant he stopped was when he planted his foot to reverse coarse.  He was never UNDER anything.  Also, the umps arm didn't even begin to go up to make the call until the SS was already pulling off the play.  If the ump sees him pull off, the call cannot be made. 

Aside from the question of his positioning under the ball, the call must also satisfy the NORMAL PLAY rule, which intends to keep him from purposefully NOT MAKING the normal play, i.e. dropping on purpose to get additional outs.  Where that play occured, it would have been impossible to do, as proven by the fact that everyone still advnaced without so much as a throw.

If it had been the LF settling under, no call.  Why? Because NO ONE in their right mind would have deemed the NORMAL PLAY to be at risk for gaining additional outs from there. 

Bottom line... BAD  CALL. 

Yeoman

October 5th, 2012 at 8:04 PM ^

He doesn't have to be in the infield; he just has to be stationed as an infielder when the pitch is made.

This used to be, and probably still is, a standard question on umpire school quizzes. It does not matter where the ball is hit; in fact one of the standard versions has the outfielder calling the infielder off and making the catch himself. Once it's clear the infielder can get unfrt ball (he's not making the play on the run) the call should be made.