OT: McGangBang review/ Pacific Shrimp tacos

Submitted by aawolve on March 10th, 2010 at 1:44 PM

I finally tried the McGangBang, which is an abomination consisting of a McChicken sandwich inserted into the middle of a double cheeseburger. My expectations were low, but I was actually pleasantly surprised. The mayo from the chicken contributes to the flavor of the double cheeseburger, while the pickles from the double cheeseburger compliment the mechanically separated chicken nicely. I recommend it as a post Lent reward.

Has anyone tried "Pacific Shrimp Taco?" Like Mikey, I'll eat anything, but Taco Bell shrimp has put the fear of God in me. I don't think I can do it.

Comments

patol8

March 10th, 2010 at 1:52 PM ^

I've heard the shrimp tacos are decent, but in my opinion, one should never eat shrimp from Taco Bell.

Has anyone had the big mac snack wrap? Any good?

shtheva

March 10th, 2010 at 3:25 PM ^

Agree on the Mac Snack wrap. I've tried it three times now, because their marketing is so ridiculous, it actually makes me want to keep trying it.

My take :

Hamburgers are best hot. With the cooler lettuce, in addition to a not heated flour tortilla, and a small portion of warm burger, the temperature is just not right. The mixing of the burger and the cooler flour tortilla is what leads to the failure.

If anyone wants to try it though, it's not AWFUL. As I said, I've had it three times now.

MGoShoe

March 10th, 2010 at 5:45 PM ^

...for the Mac Snack Wrap.

McDonald's serves the Mac Wrap for only $1.50; it has just 330 calories, 210 fewer than the Big Mac. The wrap offers a familiar taste without the guilt, but that's not to say it's good for you. More than half its calories come from fat, and a single Mac Wrap has 690 mg of sodium — almost as much as in an entire Quarter Pounder (730 mg). One Mac Wrap contains 46% of your recommended daily allowance of salt.

Public-health advocates will surely assail the company for creating the wrap, partly because you have to eat two to feel full (at which point you would have been better off ordering one Big Mac).

Pea-Tear Gryphon

March 11th, 2010 at 5:24 PM ^

My wife absolutely hates this commercial (even more so, seeing I sing it to her in the car...where she can't escape it). I had to play it for her a couple of times on youtube before closing just to scrape the nails down the chalkboard one more time. It's really amazing she still stands to be with me.

Good little ditty nonetheless. Gimme back that filet-o-fish, gimme that fish. Once it's in there, you just can't get it out.

FabFiver5

March 10th, 2010 at 2:36 PM ^

I really want to try the Pacific Shrimp Tacos, but I went yesterday to the location at 94 and State Street and they told me it would be 15 minutes for them to prepare the shrimp. I left.

Additionally, they're $2.79 a pop which is pretty expensive for a taco, me thinks.

DrewG32

March 10th, 2010 at 2:06 PM ^

Around these parts, I've heard it called a McBitchin'. Never had one myself, though. Can feel my arteries clogging just reading your description of it.

Jeff

March 10th, 2010 at 2:24 PM ^

Yeah, I really do like Taco Bell and I love shrimp but I am not sure I can try out the Pacific Shrimp taco. Hopefully somebody has tried it and can give us a firsthand review.

Birdman

March 10th, 2010 at 3:30 PM ^

Crustations + Fast food = NO
Like the classic McHomard for anyone thats been to a Dick's in Quebec.
If you like seafood tacos Waho's Fish Tacos are pretty much the best in the world, as WolvinLA could probably tell you, but then, you know, you would have to go to SoCal to get them.

Chester Cheetah

March 10th, 2010 at 4:08 PM ^

Taco Bell is owned by the same company as Long John Silvers, Yum Brands. I would assume that their shrimp would have similar quality for the two restaurants.

Just some food for thought.

.ghost.

March 10th, 2010 at 5:43 PM ^

To me, it seems as though it would be a lot easier to fake beef than it would be to fake shrimp. Not that I'm going to eat a shrimp taco anytime soon, but I would personally be more scared of putting that grade F angus down my gullet.