New Scoreboard Reviews?

Submitted by ChalmersE on September 3rd, 2011 at 8:10 PM
Sorry if the topic has been addressed already, but I'm just getting back from the game and using a resource with limited search capabilities. Anyway, I for one was disapointed. Loved the clear picture, but otherwise, eh. No stats available except when they saw fit to post them. No listing of what yard line the ball was on! You needed binoculars to read how many TOLs there were Other opinions?

Comments

Tully Mars

September 3rd, 2011 at 8:12 PM ^

I felt the same way.  The larger picture and picture quality was great.  I was severly dissappointed that there were no stats (besides score, timeouts, and time).  Seemed like they were working out a lot of kinks too.  So I'm guessing things will be better next weekend.

Quail2theVict0r

September 3rd, 2011 at 8:18 PM ^

FYI - I was listening to the post game show on 1050am and Brandon said they were tweaking things including adding stats to the scoreboard. Apparently their stats computer was broken or malfunctioning - something like that - so they could only put them up like they did as a graphic. I would expect a different show next weekend.

My2Cents

September 3rd, 2011 at 8:26 PM ^

They screen real estate was badly used.  Probably 40% of the screen was used for printing "Michigan Stadium" (top), block M's (side), and not enough useful stats at the bottom (score: only some time; yard line: never; stats: rarely; and voice-to-text of what the announces was saying that resembled a non-English speaker doing  transcription (often gibberish).

For what this thing costs:  picture should have been much bigger, taken with better camera angles (most were taken with extreme zoom out, making players look tiny), and use of stats should be much more carefully selected.

Big disappointment.

M-Wolverine

September 3rd, 2011 at 11:22 PM ^

That the borders (non-screen though they were) are too big and make the screen look smaller. The top and bottom aren't too bad, but the M side borders was too wide. They still look bigger, and have great picture quality, but they definitely need seats around them, because they don't look huge in that space.

Indiana Blue

September 4th, 2011 at 11:18 AM ^

I thought that too ... but then I realized that you can just look at the video to see where the ball is.  It's a bit of a change from having the "Ball On" showing, but after I adjusted to looking for ball position on the the video screen rather than the "Ball On" it  didn't matter.  Try looking at the video screen next week.

Go Blue!

hockeyguy9125

September 3rd, 2011 at 8:34 PM ^

should be made into LED panels like the bottom strip to show stats and scores...The picture was great, but the lack of stats and clear information really was disappointing.

a2bluefan

September 3rd, 2011 at 8:38 PM ^

Personally, I have no need for them to show the game in progress on the screens. Perhaps this was what they opted for in favor of malfunctioning stats computers that others have mentioned.  My pref is to show stats during live action, and switch to replays as necessary, then back to stats.

Red is Blue

September 3rd, 2011 at 8:57 PM ^

I was curious to see if they'd keep the tradition of putting all 4 ups at 4:44 before kick.  They did, but only game clock and play clock showed 4s.  They used to set the score, down, distance..., but those other stats weren't shown at all at that point.

g_reaper3

September 3rd, 2011 at 8:57 PM ^

Picture was great but lack of stats or even the Michigan game score was disappointing.  I left my seat to get food with 1 minute to go in the 1st half and when I came back during the half I got to see how it was Evans 16th anniversary and Don wanted to marry someone but no score.  Had to ask the guys that sit by me if Western had scored.  I would rather have less Big House Cam and other BS and more football information.

M-Go-Away

September 3rd, 2011 at 9:13 PM ^

I thought it barely scratched the surface of what could potentially be a focal point of the stadium. During todays game I missed the old boards. I feel a bit better knowing that the stat computer was malfunctioning. At one point they posted the stats on the board but I couldn't tell which side was Michigan and which side was WMU. Maybe they are saving all of the cool stuff for next week.

chris.mac

September 3rd, 2011 at 10:25 PM ^

Drunk CC guy getting so crazy that some of the nonsense words would randomly would be red or green sometimes. This kind humor added to the gameday experience. Did anyone else notice how many times the captioning would list first or second down as "1st & Bo" or "2nd & Bo?"

Video is nice, but frankly, I'd rather have smaller boards with lots of stats on them than a giant video feed without stats. And even when the stats were shown, they were on so briefly I didn't have time to read them all.

Tha Quiet Storm

September 3rd, 2011 at 9:24 PM ^

The picture was nice, but I really wish they put up the yard line the ball was on.  The closed-captioning thing in the bottom right corner needs a ton of work as well - basically every other word was misspelled or had a symbol/number where a letter should've been.

dahblue

September 3rd, 2011 at 9:25 PM ^

Should have been wider. Looked nice but lacking function (stats). Also lacked a video of someone smacking the shit out of Dave Brandon for playing Pop Evil for the entry song instead of The Victors.

Bando Calrissian

September 3rd, 2011 at 11:01 PM ^

Pop Evil is the worst, that song should have been left for run-of-the-mill YouTube "hype videos."  I can't believe it's gotten even a modicum of legitimacy.

I do, however,  like that the RAWK seemed dramatically scaled-back today.  And, correct me if I'm wrong, but the MMB was NOT mic'ed up today.

M-Wolverine

September 3rd, 2011 at 11:19 PM ^

I just don't think the volume was up as high for them. Which means you couldn't hear them half the time, but when you did it was through the speakers (which only seemed to be coming from the North board, which made lip-synching with say, Karsch, something that was way off).
<br>
<br>Band kicked ass at halftime though. (And was Western really wearing white tee's and black shorts??)

BlueDragon

September 4th, 2011 at 10:37 PM ^

the OSU band at Akron.  White shirts, black ties.  An army of little Woodys.  No woodwinds, of course.  Plus there was a squirrel that ran on to the field at halftime.  It zigzagged between the 5 and 10 yard lines for a bit and then ran into the endzone.  I cheered for the squirrel and clapped politely for good plays, decently long runs and the like--I think that was enough respect seeing as I supported neither team.

Jesus Quintana

September 4th, 2011 at 11:52 AM ^

Well, it is. Since the majority of the students were pumped up by Pop Evil. Secondly, it is a fact that the students make up the majority of the noise in Michigan Stadium as opposed to the blue hairs who still wish it was thew 1950's, I think what we students think actually matters. 

FYI, you are wrong about the timing of Pop Evil and the Victors at the team entrance. Even MMB members have said they were playing the Victors before even one player touched the banner. Last season AC/DC was played as a pump up song, this season it is Pop Evil. Get over it. 

ryebreadboy

September 4th, 2011 at 2:30 PM ^

Lol. Student opinion means jack. You're the minority of people who buy tickets, and you pay less than do alumni/season ticket holders. And I couldn't hear all your noise yesterday in section 11 until the cheer that went up for the rain. UM football is more than any particular group. The Victors is our song. I actually kinda like the Pop Evil song but it doesn't belong in anything as tradition-laden as game day. It's fine for your tailgate, but not for Michigan Stadium.

MGoSoftball

September 3rd, 2011 at 9:44 PM ^

is a small girl and she loved the boards.  She sat most of the game and didnt bitch about not being able to see.  She could watch the board.  Hell maybe I can get 4 tickets next year.

Met some new friends today in section 6. 

Section 1

September 3rd, 2011 at 10:33 PM ^

I sit with a bunch of people who have been watching games in the stadium for 10, 20, 30 or 40 years.

We all thought exactly the same thing.  The new boards look good.  The new sound system is good.  Everything is good.

BUT the stats were pathetic.  We have been used to seeing old/analog Yards Rushed, Yards Passed and Total Offense numbers.  We expected many more numbers.  And it was stat-failure.

If Brandon says that the system/computers were down, that's okay.   But the Boards today were operated as basically big tv sets; which was largely useless to 110,000 people who were watching the game on their own, thanks very much.

Bando Calrissian

September 3rd, 2011 at 10:59 PM ^

What use is telling me how many third down conversions a team has without telling me how many they've attempted?  What's the point?

Also took us about 2 or 3 displays of that "stat update" thing to finally notice the M and WMU graphics behind the respective columns to denote whose stats they were.

Totally agree, they look great, but as far as being a scoreboard that's actually a functional scoreboard...  I'd almost prefer that ticker on the bottom (which wasn't really used for much of anything anyway) be turned into an all-time, actually useful, conventional scoreboard.

Section 1

September 4th, 2011 at 11:45 AM ^

The biggest nice surprise for me was how great the sound engineers did, with tailoring the speakers to the space.  It sounds great; no echoes, no tinniness.  You asked a real good question about whether the band had been mic'ed.  I am tempted to say no, but it may be because the old crap sound system could not do a good job of amplifying the band.  I'll be listening for that next week.

I think I agree with you about the rest of the boards; some sort of full-time analog stat-devoted display would be nice.  I'm not sure how they would do it.

Why do Stadiums not named Fenway Park play "Sweet Caroline"?