ND Complaint RE: NCAA Rule on Piped in Music at Game

Submitted by DCBlue on September 15th, 2009 at 4:44 PM

Just saw this in a comment thread over at EDSBS. I noticed at the game on Saturday that the RAWK music was played almost up to the second the ball was snapped by ND and wondered if there were any regulations on the timing of when, and how long, music could be played. I've been to games in Columbus, and seem to remember that the music was shut down long when a team broke the huddle. During the ND game, the music was played much longer, even to the point where the ND offense was at the line.

Here's the thread from a bitter ND fan at EDSBS:

"Okay, I made my first trip to the Big House for the game last weekend. Although I left thoroughly depressed, I had a great time. 99.9% of the Michigan fans were great, as was the tailgating atmosphere on the golf course before and after the game.

My one complaint? Not the refs, not Weis’ playcalling, not our failure to execute. It was the music played by Michigan when ND was on offense, AFTER the team had broken the huddle and DURING Clausen’s cadence. Honestly, I think this contributed more to the “noise” of Michigan Stadium more than the 107,000 or whatever in attendance.

NCAA Rule 9-2-1(b)(6) provides that persons subject to the rules, including bands, shall not create any noise that prohibits a team from hearing its signals. Rule 1-1-6 dictates that public-address announcers, audio and video system operators, and other persons affiliated with the teams or institutions are subject to the rules. During almost the entire second half there would routinely be (crappy) pump-up music played from the end of one play through the snap of the next.

Is my complaint nit-picky and the result of the taste of Michigan’s collective ass in my mouth? Youbetcha. However, if you were at the game you would know what I am talking about. Michigan has never had the reputation of being a loud stadium, and any claim to being so, in my estimation, is due to the noise being piped in and not the fans.

That being said, who the hell knows whether the music played any role in ND’s bed-shitting. My guess is no, but it still pissed me off. Good day."

I disagree with the allegation that the music was played "through the snap." However, I can attest that it was played while ND was at the line. Wondering if ND has pitched this bitch to the NCAA, and whether anything will come of it.

Comments

MaizeNBlue

September 15th, 2009 at 4:54 PM ^

No, the piped in music did not account for most the noise at the stadium. In fact, people here are complaining that the music WASN'T LOUD ENOUGH once everyone started cheering to it.

However, maybe whoever times it should make sure it's ended at the right time for future reference.

PS - I'm pretty sure ND's band played past our huddle a few times, too. Is that against the rules?

EDIT: In fact, ND's band was playing when we were AT THE LINE ON OUR FINAL DRIVE. Dismiss that ND fan immediately

MartinHD

September 15th, 2009 at 4:54 PM ^

Holy Crap! I have never heard so much whining and complaining after a loss. The refs, the clock, the music - give me a break. It was a great game ND, but you lost. Move on and focus on trying to beat the Spartans.

lhglrkwg

September 15th, 2009 at 5:06 PM ^

i did notice several times that the rawk music AND the marching band were at times still playing when jimmy (and i think tate too) were under center.
i doubt bill martin crafted a scheme to pump in noise just for notre dame. i think the person running the music is just inexperienced in rawking. it should get better

Michiganguy19

September 15th, 2009 at 5:56 PM ^

The Music only played until ND broke their huddle and went to the line. It most certainly did not play during any part of the play calling or while the QB was under center. I usually watch for this subconsiously at games, and doing so is a violation of the rules.

That is why the jumbotron usually instead just flashes stuff or De-Fense.

MH20

September 15th, 2009 at 5:13 PM ^

Michigan has never had the reputation of being a loud stadium, and any claim to being so, in my estimation, is due to the noise being piped in and not the fans.

=

...I would have one hand make the universal sign for "yap yap yap" and then have the other eat it violently.

The stadium was loud because of the goddamn people clapping their hands and screaming their heads off, you dumb fuck.

Fresh Meat

September 15th, 2009 at 5:15 PM ^

I have to admit, I noticed the piped in music going on for what I considered to be too long. I, for one, liked the music and thought it helped the overall atmosphere. Yes, I think the stadium was loud because of the fans and because of the luxury box's and not because of the music, but I do have to admit that I thought the music went on too close to the snap and would have not been happy about it if I were an ND fan. Just being honest.

Engin77

September 15th, 2009 at 5:30 PM ^

if the ND whining during the game was anything like the whine-fest they're continuing three days after the game, then ND whining must have been a significant component of the noise in Michigan Stadium Saturday.

Resolved: ND whining must stop when either team breaks its huddle to avoid conflict with NCAA Rule 9-2-1(b)(6).

Engin77

September 15th, 2009 at 5:34 PM ^

Is my complaint nit-picky and the result of the taste of Michigan’s collective ass in my mouth?

I know the trough urinals have been replaced, but are ND fans forced to serve as crappers at halftime?

HartAttack20

September 15th, 2009 at 5:55 PM ^

I was at the game and was actually surprised at how long they played the music before the snap. It was just poorly timed all around. Most of the time they started it pretty late and probably let it play longer to get a decent amount of the song finished. I think Michigan has become a pretty loud stadium, though. Notre Dame definitely had some issues with signals, but any time I noticed that was because the stadium was just rocking. The fans came to cheer and I see it continuing.

wildbackdunesman

September 15th, 2009 at 6:21 PM ^

The honest truth is:

I felt both the piped in music and Notre Dame's band played too long at times. However, Notre Dame's band was the first and most frequent violator of it. If Notre Dame wants to whine and appeal to the NCAA, then study the whole game, because Notre Dame is equally as guilty of this, their band consistently played after the huddle was broke and UofM was lined up.

The piped in music wasn't even that loud, it was drowned out by the fans singing along, I couldn't even hear the 7 nation army song from my spot once the crowd got into it.

It is great that before the game Notre Dame rips on UofM for having a quiet stadium and after the game rips on UofM for being too loud.

saveferris

September 15th, 2009 at 6:19 PM ^

....are ND fans ever going to stop complaining? What's next? We don't serve vegan hot dogs at concessions? Weis' chocolate fountain couldn't fit in the locker room? The breeze from all the fans clapping and cheering kept blowing out their prayer vigil candles? STOP IT ALREADY! You lost, get over it.

wildbackdunesman

September 15th, 2009 at 6:40 PM ^

No doubt, this isn't the same old UofM program and that is great. I think ND is starting to fear the changes.

ND fans ripping on our stadium for being "the quietest 110,000 fans" a half hour before kick off and then crying when the final score is posted that the stadium is too loud.

People were going nuts. The old alum on my right had in ear plugs and still would cover his ears when everyone would start screaming...

cargo

September 15th, 2009 at 8:41 PM ^

The best was i was next to an old man with season tickets, I yelled every defensive play even when I was losing hope during the 2nd quarter, but couldnt give in to the notre dame fans behind me. The guy never yelled he would stand at times, cheer, clap, etc. He finally started yelling not every play but any important play. It was good see even a 50 year old man can get loud.