MWC Applying for a BCS Auto-Bid

Submitted by hart20 on December 12th, 2011 at 9:39 PM

The MWC is applying for an automatic bid to the BCS. Here's how they're doing it:


The BCS rules allow a league without automatic qualifying status to request an exemption for the next two seasons if its teams met certain performance standards from 2008-2011.

The MW met those standards, with the help of TCU earning bids in 2009 and `10. The MW was also aided by Boise State and TCU’s performances this season.


I wasn't even aware that a non-AQ could gain an auto-bid. Anyone have any more info about the standards for gaining an auto-bid? Is it just sending 2 teams to the BCS in 2 consecutive years?

My guess is that they'll be denied, considering that both TCU and Boise State are leaving the MWC and those two teams are the only reason the MWC is even eligible. Then again, the Big East is really, really bad. And that's an understatement.






December 12th, 2011 at 10:21 PM ^

The Rose will be "just another bowl" with the B1G and Pac champions assured an invite, and probably a conference replacement if one goes to the title game.

I'm also hoping for a B1G #2 v. SEC #1 Sugar, a BXII #1 v. SEC #2 Fiesta, a Pac #2 v. BXII #2 Cotton and a ACC #1 v. (former) non-AQ #1.


December 12th, 2011 at 10:00 PM ^

The funny thing is that if all the original teams stayed, plus Nevada, Boise, TCU, and Fresno they would probably get it. But now that everyone is leaving/left there's no way they get it


December 13th, 2011 at 9:56 AM ^

But it would probably be more viable with Utah in the picture. A conference that has Boise, TCU, and Utah as flagship BCS teams, plus Fresno, Nevada, BYU, and SDSU as somewhat consistent 8 win teams would be a pretty good bet to get a Auto-Bid, especially considering the lackluster Big East

Wolverine Incognito

December 12th, 2011 at 10:05 PM ^

The last thing college football needs is ANOTHER league with an autobid that doesn't deserve one. 

Big East, we're looking in your direction.  No, seriously, since the Big East is now EVERYWHERE, we can't help but look in its direction!


December 12th, 2011 at 10:05 PM ^

Why should the traditional football powerhouses of Air Force, Colorado State, New Mexico, UNLV, Wyoming, Fresno State, Nevada, and Hawaii be denied a spot in the BCS?


Picktown GoBlue

December 13th, 2011 at 12:11 AM ^

Hawaii joins in 2012, not 2013.  How does this application jive with the MWC-C-USA Alliance?  Don't all those C-USA BCS rankings count for anything??  Where is the definitive list of criteria?  Where is the analysis of how close the Big East/West/Everywhere was to losing their AQ?  Where are the Rivals fact checkers?? 


December 13th, 2011 at 12:21 AM ^

I will laugh if they get it.  There are some wackity-ass plans out there - CUSA merger, SDSU and BSU to the Big East - which will all get thrown into the blender if the MWC gets an autobid and - possible, but I think unlikely - the Big Eastish loses theirs.

If the Big East loses their autobid because of this I predict that John Swofford (ACC commish) will have to block UConn's number from his cellphone.

Picktown GoBlue

December 13th, 2011 at 12:55 AM ^

from Dennis Dodd, CBS Sports.


Over the course of a four-year evaluation period that ended this season (2008-2011), the league finished in the top five of the 11 FBS leagues in average BCS ranking of its highest ranked team. The MWC finished in the top seven in average conference rank. It finished in the top 33 percent of average number of teams ranked in the final BCS standings.

For automatic qualification the MWC would have had to finish in the top six in the first two categories and top 50 percent in the third.

and why might there be a chance 9 of 12 board members might give them the exemption??  Well, we helped scratch your back in the past Big East, so now it's payback time (plus more non-AQ buddies now get to vote):

There is additional hope for the MWC this time because of a waiver given to the Big East for automatic-qualifying status prior to the 2008 season. That waiver was approved by an 8-0 vote of the six power conferences (SEC, ACC, Big East, Big 12, Pac-10, Big Ten) and Notre Dame as well as one combined vote given to the five non-AQ leagues (MAC, WAC, Sun Belt, Conference USA, MWC). This time around all 11 FBS leagues plus Notre Dame have a vote for a total of 12.