MGoFilm Analysis 4.3 || Reviews, Missed Penalties, Etc.

Submitted by FanNamedOzzy on October 20th, 2017 at 3:49 PM

Hey guys. Here with the final part of the MGoAnalysis Episode 4. If you didn't catch my other two parts this week:

Final part of this week's analysis focuses on three different areas:

  1. Key Reviews (Onside kick, long gain from Cobbs, etc.)
  2. Missed Penalties (Some plays I initially missed in parts 1 & 2)
  3. Second Look (Plays I looked at in parts 1 & 2 that had incorrect analysis)

Here's the 4.3 post on MGoFish, if you're so inclined to read more of my words there.

Video:


View on YouTube

Silver lining is that the referees actually got all of the reviewed plays correct. Not much of a silver lining considering the rest of their performance from the game.

Final tally of penalties:

Indiana:

  • Correct - 4
  • Questionable - 1
  • Bad - 0
  • Missed - 10

Michigan:

  • Correct - 11
  • Questionable - 3
  • Bad - 4
  • Missed - 1

Comments

kevin holt

October 20th, 2017 at 4:13 PM ^

I just want to note a couple things:

1) the block on McCray could be argued/considered targeting because the player uses the crown of his helmet to impact the thigh or knee area. I would need a clearer replay to tell whether that's the case. I also don't know if I completely agree it wasn't an illegal block generally (note this is almost definitely my stubbornness). I entirely agree that it should not be legal.

2a) There were more groundings. The time where Ramsey incredibly threw it out of bounds instead of spiking it would be considered intentional grounding to stop the clock because it's not a spike immediately after getting possession (the only way to legally do so).

2b) Also throwing the ball 30 yards over the head of the receiver is not "in the area"---I need to see replays but there may have been another.

2c) Also also, I think there was another where I calculated the player being about 7 yards away and the ball did not reach the line of scrimmage. Questionable but could be grounding. The one you capped is absolutely grounding---you can't just count one leg of the triangle as "7 yards" but have to calculate the hypotenuse which makes him much farther than 7 yards from the ball both when it's thrown and when it bounces.

3) Was there another block in the back on that same return? Some were saying there were multiple.

SD Larry

October 20th, 2017 at 5:56 PM ^

Agree with and appreciate your analysis and K. Holts comments.   Also thought it ridiculous the the IU coach sent film in, and pulled a temper tantrum on the sideline, particularly when he got more than his share of calls all game long.