Jones Fumble: What Would Have Happened on Review?

Submitted by Needs on September 12th, 2010 at 10:15 PM

So, had they reviewed Jones' TD and determined he fumbled on the two, what would the ruling have been? Obviously, no touchdown. But the play was blown dead without either team having control of the ball, which remained on the field of play (ie did not roll out of the endzone for a potential touchback).

I suspect they would have awarded ND the ball at the point of the fumble, but really have no idea. Has anyone ever a similar play reviewed, and if so, what was the call?

Comments

jvp123

September 12th, 2010 at 10:21 PM ^

If michigan recovered in end zone or if ball drifted through the end zone it would've been michigan ball at the 20 yd line. It would've been considered a touchback, change of possession