Inside Michigan Football Bowl Preview

Submitted by goblue16 on December 24th, 2013 at 12:46 AM

Buffalo wild wing bowl preview. Not much new just that Morris might start over Gardner. Very emotional speech by Lewan. Lets hope for a big win over Holy Cross followed by a win vs KSU. Hope you enjoy. GO BLUE!!

 

Comments

goblue16

December 24th, 2013 at 12:53 AM ^

i would rather see Morris start over Gardner. The game is completley meaningless win or lose. Might as well see what Morris can do and use it to build on next season. Personally i would start all the young guys

sheepman

December 24th, 2013 at 1:08 AM ^

Just no. This team needs momentum and hope for the off season. This season has been a disaster. A strong win in a bowl could be to some a sign of good things to come (particularly recruits). A loss could seem like a continuing tailspin. This game is not meaningless.

TheJoker

December 24th, 2013 at 1:19 AM ^

This game isn't useles and the sheepman makes legitimate points. I just don't think Gardner will be healthy enough in 6 days to practice and play. Morris is the future of this program in the key years that will decide if Hoke will be around for 2 more years or 20 more years. I would take a 100% healthy Morris over a 75% Gardner. 

Borges even said that Gardners injury affected his play calling on the OSU 2pt conversion. I don't want Borges hampered in any way and I want him to let gunslinger Morris loose. 

 

edit: Plus I'm really f*cking excited to see what Morris can bring to the table. 

TheJoker

December 24th, 2013 at 1:48 AM ^

Yes he is a freshmen with a strong arm and accuracy issues. Yes he is inexpereinced. But I believe that recieving the majority of first team reps post OSU and allowing Borges to game plan with Morris as his starting QB will put Shane in a spot to have some success. 

Am I expecting 400yds passing and 5 TDs? No.

Am I expecting 300 yds and 4 TDs? No.

But I hope to see 200-300 yds passing with a consistent running game with around 4-5 TDs scored total. Plus I hope to see a throw or two that make us go "WOW." In a good way. 

 

goblue16

December 24th, 2013 at 1:18 AM ^

But what better to bild on the furture than playing next seasons possible starters. We know what Gardner can do. There is nothing more he can show us at this point. i want to see what Morris can do 

IPFW_Wolverines

December 24th, 2013 at 6:08 AM ^

So what you are saying is that getting a QB game experience is the same as getting players experience at every other position?

 

I'd disagree. A QB having game experience is more important than any other position. Especially considering that next year the team will still be one hit away from Morris stepping in on a team that will be breaking in two new tackles.

A claim could be made that Bellomy would back up Gardner next year and Morris redshirts but I am not sure that is true. Is a three star kid who has not shown anything yet, other than a dreadful game against Nebraska, going to be automatically handed the reigns if Gardner goes out?  Or will there be a compeititon for the spot in the spring and fall? My guess is there will be a competition if Morris wins the backup job he won't be redshirting.

IPFW_Wolverines

December 24th, 2013 at 4:46 AM ^

So on one hand there is

-trying to impress recruits

-possible QB controversy next year if Morris plays well (not really a bad thing if he is that good)

-appease fans (which won't happen anyway due to the opponent)  

 

and on the other hand

- Gardner not being 100 percent or even close to it

- a bowl that has little meaning,

-the chance Gardner could get a serious injury and not be able to play next year (Do you really want to take an ACL chance in this year, the dreaded 2013 as some have pointed out)

-getting to see how your QB of the future can  handle himself in a full game after a few weeks of practice with the first team

-a built in excuse for why Borges was terrible this game, after all it was the QB's first start! (an injured Gardner is not an excuse if he plays, why put a QB out there who is injured with zero bowl practice?)

-adding some excitement to a bowl played at 10:15pm against KSU

 

 

 

At this point I wouldn't mind seeing Morris play. There is very little upside to play Gardner in his current state. I was totally against putting him in  during one of the "fire Al Borges" games. However, at this point he has gotten to practice with the first team after an entire season to get acclimated to the offense and college in general. Put the young man out there and see what he can do. If nothing else it gives the kid and coaches some game tape of Morris going into the spring game and summer workouts. That alone would be worthwhile from a training standpoint to let him know what he needs to work on.

 

 

 

Reader71

December 24th, 2013 at 10:51 AM ^

All games are important. Or else we STFU about Akron and UConn.

Also, if MSU won their nonconference game against ND, they are playing Florida State. All games are important.

Also, college football. Seniors. Recruits. Etc. All games are important.

All games are important. All games are important. All games are important. If not, why do we play them? Why risk CTE and broken limbs? Fans are so fucking delusional it's disgusting. Just because you checked out at some point does not mean that this game is not important to the people that actually matter, the participants.

All games are important. Some more than others, but do not trivialize a college football game. Some guy might get his only game rep in an M jersey. Some guys will play their last. Some guys are auditioning for the NFL. All returning players are auditioning for next season. All games are important, not just B1G games.

But we know you only mention that because you suppose that it is damning evidence against a staff you do not like. As if your opinion on M's staff is worth a drop if sweat that those players are going to shed on Saturday.

Tuebor

December 24th, 2013 at 11:27 AM ^

Don't put words in my mouth, I like Hoke and Mattison.  I think they were what the program needed after RRod.  And I honestly preferred Hoke to Harbaugh as the latter's antics were off putting. 

 

I'm sorry but to me and my perspective of the season winning a 3rd tier bowl game doesn't erase the fact that we had the 3rd worse conference record in Michigan football history since 1967.  This season is a disaster and a bowl win cannot change that just a bowl loss doesn't make it any worse.  I still plan on cheering like hell for Michigan though.

 

If a recruit doesn't want to choose Michigan because they lost the BWW bowl then they probably weren't too serious about Michigan in the first place.  I'm not a recruitnik like everyone else on the blog and I don't salivate over how high kids are rated.  I also don't buy the argument that people complaining on mgoblog about the performance this season will have any affect on recruiting what so ever.  If a recruit thinks that there is instability in the program because joe somebody posting anonymously on mgoblog saysthat Hoke should be fired then I question that recruits intelligence. 

 

That being said,  I trust the coaching staff to evaluate players and make offers based on team needs and talent level.  Making offers based on stars and recruiting ranking is for the video game players who think they are ready to be coordinators.

Tuebor

December 24th, 2013 at 8:55 AM ^

Because a Buffalo Wild Wings Championship is a major selling point for recruits.  The only reason to win this game is for pride.  That way we will have finished the year 2-4 in Nov/Dec instead of 1-5. 

 

Start Morris and play him the whole game.  We know what Gardner is and isn't as a QB and Morris' redshirt is already burned.  Next season too, don't just start Gardner because he is the returning QB.  The current B1G champs benched a returning 5th year QB for a sophmore and won the title.

maize-blue

December 24th, 2013 at 9:33 AM ^

A win is very important so they can turnaround the negative momentum that has been building around this program since about half way through the season. They could look at this as the start of next season and like you mention start building momentum for a very important 2014 year.

GoBLUinTX

December 24th, 2013 at 10:35 AM ^

Gardner is Michigan's best chance to win.  Even a hobbled but capable Gardner would be better than a true freshman that hadn't started a game in two years let alone a nationally televised one.  Losing is a habit, not always easy to break but, it is far easier to break when you do everything you can to win.

michiganfanforlife

December 24th, 2013 at 1:23 AM ^

We've seen Gardner's highs and lows. I have a suspicion that Shane will be more even keel, not so low and not so high either. That could be really good for this offense. Hell, we have a couple of pimps out there in Gallon and Funchess. Just give em a shot, kid

RoZ06

December 24th, 2013 at 8:34 AM ^

I grateful for the stories of those three guys. Wins are great, but it's heartening to see the adversity they've overcome and the sense of camaraderie they've development while at Michigan. They leave a great legacy for the guys behind them, B10 championship or not.

Sllepy81

December 24th, 2013 at 8:53 AM ^

to victory this would be horrible. Gardner would start next year, everyone will cry for morris to start next year and the season will be a disaster. We all know this is what would happen.

Tuebor

December 24th, 2013 at 9:16 AM ^

If Morris is the better QB next season why would it be a disaster to start him?  If memory serves me correctly the current B1G champs had a returning 5th year QB and they went with a sophmore QB this season and won every conference game by double digits.  Gardner shouldn't start just because he is older.  He should have to earn it by being better than Morris.

Tuebor

December 24th, 2013 at 9:25 AM ^

So he should start because of the number he wears?  I think next season you have to have a legit competition. 

 

It would be better for both QBs development to let Gardner rest and get healthy for Spring and let Morris start and get game experience IMO.

Sllepy81

December 24th, 2013 at 9:53 AM ^

would start Gardner next year no matter what is my opinion. No matter how good Morris does. But if Morris won the game and played great we all would want morris but these coaches ride on seniority until they start losing. They would sacrifice a lose to start a senior.

Tuebor

December 24th, 2013 at 10:00 AM ^

I also think that the coaches will start Gardner no matter what.  It is not a popular opinion but I think Hoke has made some personel blunders.  Particularly not having Gardner ready to be the backup in the Nebraska 2012 game.  Arguably not convincing Denard to move to HB/WR hybrid before the start of the 2012 season to showcase his NFL talents at his NFL position. 

 

It is silly to start a guy just because he is a senior just as it is silly to start a guy just because the fans are clamoring for him.  The coaches should start the guy who gives Michigan the best chance to win and they have infinite more knowledge who that guy is than I do.

Reader71

December 24th, 2013 at 12:33 PM ^

This ignores the fact that seniors are, by and large, much better than underclassmen.

Bellomy will not start over Morris unless he win the job or Morris loses it. He is older than Morris. But neither of them is Gardner, who has proven to be a good player. Your argument supposes that a true sophomore with 0-1 starts can be as good as a 5th year senior with 2 seasons of starts, and a good player at that. Gardner isn't a generic senior QB. He is good.

To your supposition, my retort is: EL OH EL.

03 Blue 07

December 25th, 2013 at 4:34 PM ^

I just have to say it: Why do you (and others) have what I can only describe as a hard-on for Shane Morris? Did you watch him play in high school or something, and have an irrational attachment to him? The ignorance on this board right now is making my ears bleed. 

So let me get this straight: You (and others like you) think that Gardner-- who played with plantar fascitis, almost assuredly multiple broken ribs, was the leader anyone would ever want in a QB, was hamstrung by the worst pass-blocking line since I've been watching regularly (mid-90's; don't tell me that 3-9 team or the 2007 team had a worse pass-blocking line/backs, because they simply didn't), yet still threw for a boatload of yards, played his ass off against OSU-- should be benched because there is a true freshman that is younger and who you THINK- you THINK- MIGHT (emphasis on MIGHT) be "the better qb." No, just no. 

I mean, seriously, this is real life, not NCAA 13 on Xbox. The people (for the most part) advocating this "START MORRIS ZOMG" bullshit are just being irrational beyond belief. Don't you think the coaches-- who've had about 11 months of in-person eval of Morris, and YEARS of eval of Gardner-- are correct in saying that if he can play, Gardner's the starter? Do you not realize that playing the younger guy just because he's younger (note: NOT "better," just younger) is asinine and antithetical to the concepts that create good football teams-- i.e., that it's a team, that you put in your work, and that experience matters?

No, I'm not going to engage in a reply, so yes, I'm being a drive-by commenter here, but my God, some of you people need your heads checked. 

Or you may just be 13 year olds. 

markp

December 24th, 2013 at 9:33 AM ^

"if morris does great starting and leads the team to victory this would be horrible"

That's the most backwards thing I've heard a "fan" say in a long while. If [insert player here] does great and wins for Michigan, that's horrible? Not in my book. That's exciting and fun and good for our favorite team.

If you'll forgive the metaphor, it seems like a large portion of the posters here don't see the glass as half-full or even half-empty... they're complaining that the glass isn't whittled from the rare crystal they selected and it's resting on a table they don't care for.

Can we at least all have enough perspective that Michigan success = good?

gwkrlghl

December 24th, 2013 at 9:54 AM ^

He's a true freshman QB who would be playing behind a bad O-line. He would play awful, stop convincing yourself that he is some secret gem hiding on the bench.

MGlobules

December 24th, 2013 at 11:37 AM ^

I feel sorry for Gallon. Hope Morris can find him and he can go out with some big catches. Also hoping that the line and our RBs can manufacture some time for Morris to get comfortable. Obviously you'd rather have your talent on the field, but I'm curious about how things will go.