Gardner, Wilson, Ross III take home spring awards

Submitted by Wolverine Devotee on April 19th, 2013 at 4:28 PM

Announced on @umichfootball on twitter, several of the annual spring awards were given out today. 

Meyer Morton Award winner: James Ross III

The Meyer Morton Award, established by the 'M' Club of Chicago in 1925, is given to the football player who shows the greatest development and most promise as a result of the annual spring practice. Morton, a 1912 Michigan graduate, was a lawyer in Chicago from 1915-48 and served as a Big Ten football official for 23 years. In fact, Morton was the referee in the famous 0-0 tie between Notre Dame and Army played at Yankee Stadium in 1946. A member of the Chicago 'M' Club, Morton traveled to Ann Arbor to present the award for many years, and the award was named in his honor after his death in 1948.


John F. Maulbetsch Award winner: Jarrod Wilson

The John F. Maulbetsch Award is given to the freshman football candidate after spring practice on the basis of desire, character, capacity for leadership and future success both on and off the gridiron. It was established by Frederick C. Matthaei in 1954 in honor of the late John F. Maulbetsch, an All-American halfback in 1914.


Frederick Matthaei Award: Devin Gardner


The Frederick Matthaei Award is given to the junior-to-be gridder who has displayed leadership, drive and achievement on the athletic field and in the classroom. The award was established by Frederick C. Matthaei in 1968.



April 19th, 2013 at 4:56 PM ^

Good for Wilson. There was some thought that he was down on himself because of some brain farts during games last year. Hopefully he has regained his confidence.

Mr. Yost

April 20th, 2013 at 8:49 AM ^

Love the promise in these 3, glad they were recognized.

Does make me ASSume that Wilson will be starting with Gordon and Robinson is #3 safety off the bench. (Gordon/Wilson would move to or remain at FS)