Charge of Block - what say you?

Submitted by AC1997 on April 7th, 2013 at 12:30 AM

The CBS and ESPN talking heads seem to think that the Morgan charge was a block with Dick Vitale being the lone person who thinks it was a charge.  What do you think?


I'm of the opinion that the refs have no clue how to make that call, it is now used as a crutch by many teams defensively (including Michigan), and that home teams get 75% of them.  With that being said, I thought it was the right call.  Morgan moved his feet slightly after the player left the ground, but he was there waiting when that guy drove into his chest and it didn't even really seem that close. 


I think by the letter of the law it was probably a block, but the way it has been called all season that's probably a charge 80% of the time.  Thoughts?



April 7th, 2013 at 12:33 AM ^

I say that God wanted us to win and made the ref make up for the constant mugging Syracuse put on us pretty much all the 2nd half.


April 7th, 2013 at 9:59 AM ^

Exactly right.  In real time, no question it was a charge.  Watching it in slo-mo 12 times, it could go either way.  But Trice is recklessly in the air and not looking at the defense at all.  His lack of body control forces the ref to make that call.  Do we now need to look at every other call, or non-call, and break down the film to get a total "bad call count" for both sides?  It is asinine to take this "one bad call" approach to analyzing the game, the talking heads should know better, and bad on Boeheim for talking about the officiating.


April 7th, 2013 at 12:33 AM ^

It was a 50/50 call but I felt the refs screwed us on a couple calls in the 2nd half, and gave us two big make up calls (this being one of them).


April 7th, 2013 at 2:33 AM ^

Exactly it was a block.  He slid into place once the shooter was already in the air.  If your questioning a call as a fan of the team it benefitted it probably was a bad call.

Kilgore Trout

April 7th, 2013 at 9:09 AM ^

If he had established legal guarding position before Triche left the ground (hard to tell) he is allowed to slide laterally as long as he maintains vertical space and doesn't move into the offensive player. I think it's clear that Morgan was straight up and that he didn't move into Triche. If Morgan established position before he left the ground, it's an easy charge call.


April 7th, 2013 at 12:34 AM ^

It did not win Michigan the game.  There was time left, Michigan made the plays post-call.  It's simply ridiculous to claim that call was why Michigan won.


April 7th, 2013 at 12:56 AM ^

Before the offensive player (with the ball) becomes airborne, the defender must have two feet on the floor, be facing the opponent and be stationary to draw a charge. Otherwise, it should be a blocking foul.

Secondary defenders (help defenders) moving forward or to the side are also in violation and those should be blocking fouls.

Contact that is “through the chest” is not de facto proof of a charge. The rule in its entirety must be considered before determining a foul.

In some cases, it appears a defender is being rewarded solely for being outside the arc, without considering the other aspects of the rules.


April 7th, 2013 at 1:26 AM ^

You do not have to be stationary, nor do you have to have your feet on the floor.  That is a misconception.  

By definition, a charge occurs when the offensive player "pushes or moves into a defender's torso."  The defender obviously has to have his torso facing the offensive player and should not be the one to initiate contact, but there is no stipulation that he must not be moving at all.



April 7th, 2013 at 11:33 AM ^

OK, I stand corrected about the feet on the floor - I'm almost positive I've have heard referees say it's not an issue, but maybe I'm misremembering.  But I disagree with you about (d) - Morgan was in a legal defensive positive position.  There is nothing illegal about moving laterally.

In any event, Morgan beat him to the spot (and was outside the circle) and Triche was out of control.  It could have been a no-call, but to call it a block would have been a reach.


April 7th, 2013 at 12:36 AM ^

It doesn't matter. That call goes both ways all the time, it's a judgement call and that refs judgement was a charge. I can't beleive they are making this big a deal out of it. Eff em all!

Mr. Yost

April 7th, 2013 at 12:38 AM ^

It's been called a charge a million times.

Sucks that the refs are going to be blamed for both Louisville and Michigan winning even though both teams had leads and the other teams would've had to make shots and get at least one more stop.