CCM Line all Hobey Baker Finalists

Submitted by VCavman24 on March 16th, 2016 at 2:53 PM

The 2016 Hobey Baker Finalists were announced today, and not surprisingly, all three of Tyler Motte, Kyler Connor, and JT Compher were selected.  

This is the first time all members of a complete line have all been named finalists, is only the third time ever that three members of the same time have been selected as finalists (it has been awarded 36 times), and is the first time since 2000 that it has happened (Boston College).

Michigan was the first team to achieve this feat.  In 1994 David Oliver, Steve Shields, and Brian Wiseman were all chosen.

The Hobey Hat Trick (final three) will be selected later in March, and the winner is chosen in early April.


Bando Calrissian

March 16th, 2016 at 3:07 PM ^

Better hope Connor and co. have a lights-out B1G tournament and a good first tournament weekend. It's amazing the extent to which the Hobey voters give a shit about what you do for those two weekends over what you've done all season.


March 16th, 2016 at 3:24 PM ^

Somewhat, but it depends on the situation. Porter won over a rampant Nate Gerbe largely on the strength of his overall season; Gerbe had some personal background issues, but in the postseason he was clearly the dominant player in the nation and owned the FF.

I think the issue would occur if Connor is quiet and Michigan gets knocked out quickly in both tournaments, while a guy like Demko posts a couple of shutouts and looks dominant. That could change the calculus. But Connor is getting the word-of-mouth and has a clear edge in stats right now, so it's his to lose.

Aside: is it safe to assume that the pep band will not be travelling to St. Paul this weekend?