247 Big Ten Preview Podcast

Submitted by canzior on August 17th, 2017 at 8:15 AM

https://purdue.247sports.com/Article/247Sports-Scout-experts-preview-the-Big-Ten-football-season-106232380/Amp

 

For anyone interested, 247 has a free 4.5 hour Big Ten Preview available. 

 

0:00 - Intro / Conference favorites, POY, Newcomer of the Year
8:41 - Ohio State Preview (w/ Dave Biddle and Bill Greene)
31:59 - Indiana preview (w/ Mike Pegram)
43:41 - Penn State preview (w/ Mark Brennan and Sean Fitz)
1:06:34 - Michigan preview (w/ Steve Lorenz and Sam Webb)
1:33:37 -Michigan State preview (w/ Hondo Carpenter)
1:59:32 - Maryland preview (w/ Jeff Ermann)
2:12:27 - Rutgers preview (w/ Sam Hellman)
2:21:06 - Wisconsin preview (w/ Evan Flood)
2:42:08 - Northwestern preview (w/ Cole Paxton)
2:54:16 - Iowa preview (w/ Rob Howe)
3:13:12 - Nebraska preview (w/ Mike Schafer and Michael Bruntz)
3:29:05 - Minnesota preview (w/ Ryan Burns and Kyle Goblirsch)
3:44:04 - Illinois preview (w/ Jeremy Werner)
3:55:40 - Purdue preview (w/ Mike Carmin)
4:07:50 - Conference Storylines w/ Big Ten Network's Howard Griffith)
4:33:38 - Wrap-Up/Ending

Comments

canzior

August 17th, 2017 at 9:39 AM ^

OSU, Indiana and Penn State.  Penn State is a "proven" team this year and the guys think they are more likely to lose to NW or Iowa, than Michigan. 

mgowild

August 17th, 2017 at 10:15 AM ^

I have no problem being considered underdogs to Penn State. Both teams are vastly different from the days of 49-10. We are replacing a ton of starters, yes they're talented and some have experience, but you just don't know how they will perform when the lights come on. Plus it's a night game at Penn State (2013 anyone) and PSU will be coming off their bye. 

Farnn

August 17th, 2017 at 10:26 AM ^

Every fanbase overrates their team, especially before the season, and Michigan fans underrate PSU based on the game last year.  Yes it was a blowout, but PSU did improve once they got more acclimated to Moorehead's offense and their injured LBs returned.  They do return a bunch of that team including starting QB and RB and should be seen as a B1G contender.

What many in the media are forgetting though is how lucky they were to beat OSU, and it took some crazy plays to hang close with USC and beat Wisconson.  That OSU win was Franklin's first ever against an end of season top 25 team (Harbaugh did it in year 1 at Stanford) and he was on the hot seat until that game.  The fact he is being considered an elite coach is laughable.  He saved his ass with a good OC hire, and it will remain to be seen how they fare this season when people are gunning for them.

canzior

August 17th, 2017 at 10:37 AM ^

they are getting credit for a close loss vs USC, but are treated as though they manhandled OSU. Again, "good" is subjective. They have a weak slate of games and winning a bunch of easy games will provide confirmation to those who think they are actually a top 5 team. 

 

By the way, did you watch that USC game? It was a lot of McSorley throwing the ball up and the defenders getting lost and losing sight of the ball in the air. They get too much credit for that game.

Farnn

August 17th, 2017 at 11:13 AM ^

I think this year will show if those deep balls to Godwin are part of Moorehead's offense and a reliable way of scoring, or just luck.  It sounds like they have a few big play WRs who can replace Godwin and they have had good springs/summers. Besides luck, the reason those deep bombs worked is because of how dangerous Barkley is.  But their OL is still suspect, and against teams like Michigan and OSU they couldn't set up those plays when you didn't need extra defenders in the box.  If the OL continues to struggle, teams that can take advantage will just shut them down.

Franklin will likely get a contract extension before the season, and I don't think Michigan or OSU fans will be that upset if he's there for a while based on what they've seen so far.

huntmich

August 17th, 2017 at 2:12 PM ^

I just don't understand PSU from a recruiting standpoint.

2017: 15th

2016: 20th

2015: 14th

2014: 24th

2013: 33rd

 

Yet somehow they are a top 5 team despite having James Franklin as their coach.

 

Clearly they are legit top 25. I'll give you that. But all of this preseason hype based on last year's performance, which was based on a lot of luck and a couple ugly losses, just doesn't make sense.

 

BlueKoj

August 17th, 2017 at 1:59 PM ^

I thought that segment said a lot about their expetations. Talked a lot of OSU and then when asked who might bite them, as you said NW and IA were discussed not just as more likely than UM, but UM wasn't mentioned at all. I guess "payback" and Happy Valley has them extremely confident.

Firstbase

August 17th, 2017 at 10:14 AM ^

...is 10-2 as predicted by Sam and Steve, I will be bitterly disappointed. Yes, we're young, but very talented. No staff in college football prepares better than Harbaugh and Company. The only question mark for me is the secondary, which hopefully won't be our achilles heel. 

We will have six games worth of experience going into Happy Valley and I think we'll be in good position to win that game if we're undefeated at that point. If we win that game, my prediction is that we run the table especially if we can avoid injuries at key positions. 

 

Farnn

August 17th, 2017 at 10:31 AM ^

I agree that it's not the ceiling, but it should be the upper level of expectations for fans going into the season.  The team was so veteran last year, people forget what it's like to have really young guys who make mistakes, especially at positions like safety.  There will likely be a game Michigan should win, but there are some busted plays on defense, or a freshman WR doesn't position right for a pass and leads to a costly INT.  Especially when you have a night game at PSU, just look back at how they fared at Iowa last year, or 2013 PSU.

Bodogblog

August 17th, 2017 at 9:51 PM ^

No, they didn't. They said they expected 10-2. SaM said if they beat PSU they'll go into the Ohio State game undefeated. Steve agreed that could be the pivot game.

Also, Sam talked about RT, mentioning Runyan, Steuber, and Filiaga. No mention of JBB. From Sam's tone, sounds a bit dire at that spot, which should surprise no one. Talked about secondary and that they would have to step up, no names on the CBs. Sam's breakout was one of the WRs, he loves him some Tarik Black. Steve says Wheatley Jr., who he's been on for a while. Would be very exciting if his light bulb's gone on