Baseball: All-Big Ten Teams Named

Submitted by formerlyanonymous on May 25th, 2010 at 6:47 PM

Following media day at the Big Ten Baseball Tournament, the conference unveiled their All-Big Ten selections.

Michigan claims one first teamer in junior outfielder Ryan LaMarre. Ryan finished his season hitting .409 with 5 homers and 8 doubles in 132 at bats. His .659 slugging percentage easily led the Wolverines. LaMarre didn't get a unanimous selection, possibly hindered by his early season absence.

For the full list of honors, follow the jump:

On the second team, Michigan is represented by Chris Berset. The co-captain hit .379 on the season with 51 runs scored and 48 RBI. His .455 on base percentage led the Michigan regulars. Chris is also honored with the Sportsmanship Award given to one player from each team.

Also on the second team is reliever Tyler Burgoon. The junior right hander made 22 appearances including 3 starts. In his 59.2 innings pitched, he struck out an astonishing 70 batters (best among Big Ten relievers, and 5th overall) and walking just 18. His 10 saves was good for third in the conference.

On the third team, Michigan's Alan Oaks is one of the three starting pitchers. Alan finished the year with a 5-5 record and a 3.81 ERA. He allowed opponents to hit only .238 against him, second best to only the Big Ten's Pitcher of the year Alex Wimmers.

On the freshman team, Michigan has three members in outfielder Patrick Biondi, short stop Derek Dennis, and starting pitcher Bobby Brosnahan, with Brosnahan being the only unanimous selection. Biondi's season started on fire, but a slow few weeks down the stretch saw his batting average drop from .400 to finish at .323. His 66 runs scored led the Big Ten. Derek Dennis hit just .246, but that's above average for Big Ten short stops this season. Brosnahan was one of the biggest surprises in the Big Ten, going 5-4 with a 4.68 ERA. In his 15 appearances, including 10 starts, Brosnahan threw 65.1 innings and struck out 56.

Full List of Winners:

          FIRST TEAM

          • 1B – Nick O’Shea, MINN
          • 2B – Zach Morton, NU
          • SS – Jonathan Roof, MSU
          • 3B – Chris Lashmet, NU
          • OF – Alex Dickerson, IND#
          • OF – Ryan LaMarre, MICH
          • OF – Zach Hurley, OSU
          • C – Ben Heath, PSU
          • DH – Josh Lyon, IND
          • SP – Eric Jokisch, NU
          • SP – Alex Wimmers, OSU#
          • SP – Matt Bischoff, PUR#
          • RP – Paul Snieder, NU
          SECOND TEAM

          • 1B – Jerrud Sabourin, IND
          • 2B – Ryan Jones, MSU
          • SS – Trevor Stevens, NU
          • 3B – Torsten Boss, MSU
          • OF – Kurtis Muller, IOWA
          • OF – Eli Boike, MSU
          • OF – Michael Kvasnicka, MINN
          • C – Chris Berset, MICH
          • DH – Ryan Dew, OSU
          • SP – Jarred Hippen, IOWA
          • SP – Phil Isaksson, MINN
          • SP – Seth Rosin, MINN
          • RP – Tyler Burgoon, MICH
          THIRD TEAM

          • 1B – Jeff Holm, MSU
          • 2B – Tyler Rogers, IND
          • SS – Josh Parr, ILL
          • 3B – Zach McCool, IOWA
          • OF – Michael Earley, IND
          • OF – Michael Stephens, OSU
          • OF – Steve Snyder, PSU
          • C – Kyle Knudson, MINN
          • DH – Chris Roberts, MSU
          • SP – Alan Oaks, MICH
          • SP – Kurt Wunderlich, MSU
          • SP – TJ Oakes, MINN
          • RP – Scott Matyas, MINN

          • 1B – Jack Havey, NU
          • 2B – Ryan Jones, MSU#
          • SS – Derek Dennis, MICH
          • 3B – Torsten Boss, MSU#
          • OF – Patrick Biondi, MICH
          • OF – Arby Fields, NU
          • OF – Elliot Searer, PSU
          • OF – Steve Snyder, PSU#
          • C – Kevin Plawecki, PUR#
          • DH – Mike Corbeil, IOWA
          • SP – Kevin Johnson, ILL#
          • SP – Bobby Brosnahan, MICH#
          • SP – TJ Oakes, MINN#
          • RP – Brad Schreiber, PUR


          Alex Dickerson, IND#

          Alex Wimmers, OSU

          Ryan Jones, MSU

          John Anderson, MINN

          Craig Lutes, ILL
          Sterling Mack, IND
          Michael Jacobs, IOWA
          Chris Berset, MICH
          Brandon Eckerle, MSU
          Kyle Knudson, MINN
          Chad Noble, NU
          Zach Hurley, OSU
          Louie Picconi, PSU
          Matt Bischoff, PUR

          # - Unanimous Selection
          * Additional Honorees Due to Tie



          May 26th, 2010 at 8:06 AM ^

          Been a constant source of error of late. Tim pointed out the same thing in the Penn State recap. Working on paying attention. I think part of the problem is muscle memory. Every time I type LaMarre, I for some reason always capitalize the second A as well. Those are easier to notice and show up on spell check.


          May 26th, 2010 at 7:32 AM ^

          Nice job men... now lets finish what was set before you.  8 games to Omaha!

          Go Blue!


          --side note--     If you are traveling to the 1st tourney game on Thursday...Wear Maize!