Preview 2013: Wrap

Submitted by Brian on August 30th, 2013 at 5:08 PM

Okay, Eleven Warriors, okay.

--------------------------------------------

Well. It's done. This year's edition checks in at 41,191 words. If you had that in the pool, congratulations.

THE STORY: ALL TOGETHER NOW

After a decade trying to find itself, Michigan points itself to the future, united.

OFFENSE

Quarterback: I believe in Devin Gardner, so hard.

Running back: Also Fitz Toussaint. Not so much the other veterans, but have I told you about freshmen? They're all right at tailback.

Wide receiver: Yeah, they're short. So? They're damn good.

Tight end and friends: a panoply of blocky-catchy guys featuring one Devin Funchess, larger and ready to bust out.

Offensive line: It's like Ohio: rather good at the edge, increasingly depressing as you approach the center.

Questions and answers: Borges isn't perfect but he's probably good enough; reiterating Gardner squee.

DEFENSE

Defensive ends: I do not think Frank Clark is going to be an all-wrecking force. Better, sure.

Defensive tackle: All hail QWASH. Three-tech dodgy, but deep.

Linebacker: If Ryan is Ryan, these guys will be lights out.

Cornerback: War daddy up, Mr. Countess.

Safety: Thomas Gordon, and then… well… hmm.

Questions and answers: Novacs, mitigating that, the importance of hybrid space players, serenity?

MISCELLANEOUS

Special teams: a major strength if Michigan can just block and cover guys.

Podcast 5.0: Almost two hours of erudite chatter about socialism in the 19th century.

Heuristics and stupid prediction: Turnovers should be much better, only position shifts that are ominous at safety, 10-2 asserted.

CENTRAL MICHIGAN

Previewed by Ace.

ELSEWHERE

Orson's season kickoff: "THE BUSINESS OF PROTECTION."

Holdin' The Rope: "Beginnings"

TEAM SPECIFIC HYPE

College football is a dichotomy of change and sameness. The players turn over at an alarming rate, even the most precocious slipping through our fingers almost before we've met them. But every year there's a Saturday where 110,000 file into a stadium Fielding Yost built, survey their view, hear the band, see the helmets, and think to themselves it's still here. All of it is still here. Thank God.

Life decays us all; the team is forever.

7958850486_d712c26671_b[1]

Go Blue.

Comments

yossarians tree

August 31st, 2013 at 1:00 PM ^

Great work! This is the first year I've actually read most of the season preview material, depth chart breakdowns, etc. I feel almost embarrassed by how much I know about this team when talking with other fans. I am really looking forward to watching the games and knowing stuff like, "Oh hey, here comes Ojemudia the back up WDE."

To quote Faber: "Knowledge is good."

Go BLUE!

Schembo

August 30th, 2013 at 5:44 PM ^

Excellent stuff this week.  I think we're headed for fun season.  Lets savor it because who knows what college football is gonna be like in 5-10 years.

Rather be on BA

August 30th, 2013 at 6:00 PM ^

Great work on the preview!  I don't know what I'd do without MGoBlog to satiate my Michigan football nerdom. 

All three of those videos were awesome as well.  The last one in particular gave me the chills. 

Go Blue!

Brown Bear

August 30th, 2013 at 6:27 PM ^

Season can't get here fast enough. Just was highly irritated twice in a span of two minutes watching horrid television preseason talk. First I made the mistake and turned on espnu and what do you know they are showing the Clowney hit over and over abd over. UGH! Then I turn to BTN and there is some talk show with Jim Miller and two other guys. Talking about Jeremy Gallon the one dope questions whether he will be able to repeat his success being so small because I quote "last year on the other side was Roy Roundtree, a massive guy". WHAT?!!!!!!!!!!! Massive??? Do these guys watch the games? Ugh.

B-Nut-GoBlue

August 30th, 2013 at 7:03 PM ^

It's terrible isn't it?

Grateful we have this here domain where we can communicate in an intelligent (usually?) manner and aren't left solely to the vices of terrible television personalities spewing uninformed opinions and "facts" (i.e. the Roundtree mention that made your ears bleed).

Brown Bear

August 30th, 2013 at 6:33 PM ^

Ok venting aside. Great work by the entire MGoStaff this week. So much content, really helped the last week go by as painlessly as possible.

Possibly a dumb question. Will there be a Live Blog tomorrow?

LGenius

August 30th, 2013 at 6:41 PM ^

MGoBlog is the only piece of journalism I read religiously. No matter what you write about, Brian, it's always enjoyable to read.

Of course when it's Michigan Football, well...

pdxblue

August 30th, 2013 at 6:44 PM ^

So stoked!

Brian - I love this place because of the depth and thoughtful insights and that this community is truly "a cut above."

Fire up!  It's (almost) Saturday!

 

Oh -- and it is my anniversary on Saturday, too.

ohio

August 30th, 2013 at 6:56 PM ^

Previews have been phenomenal this week Brian/Ace. I was feeling some type of way you capping it off with a video taken from 11w until I watched it. And while I prefer hip hop (and gospel), and have never heard the soundtrack song, I can dig the sentiment

B-Nut-GoBlue

August 30th, 2013 at 7:28 PM ^

I'd like to voice my gratitude as well for this rampaged last 2 weeks.  Great work.  I'll be finishing HTTV tonight, also a hit.  Thanks for all you do.  Now let us all watch the beauty that begins tomorrow; College Football, played by Team 134 from the University of Michigan.

BursleysFinest

August 30th, 2013 at 7:12 PM ^

  That ElevenWarriors video was great...In other news, I just heard Lou Holtz say something dumb enough to  make me want to throw something and Mark May gave him the death stare, The football season has now offcially started!!!

beevo

August 30th, 2013 at 8:26 PM ^

Mr. Cook, I enjoy the content and its literary vehicle immensely.  I propose we make our New Football Season Resolutions!  In a nod to our blog founder, I resolve to respect the beveled guilt more this year as it is somewhat criminal to enjoy this professionally focused content for nill.  I also vow to spend more time explaining the game and wonders of Michigan football to my nine year old son.  Go Blue!

ppudge

August 30th, 2013 at 8:30 PM ^

There is always such great content on here, but the last paragraph of this entry might be the best thing I've ever read that embodies why I love Michigan and college football.

True Blue in CO

August 30th, 2013 at 9:50 PM ^

Thanks for the great content, insight, and reflection to feed our irrational fascination with Michigan Football. The drive to A2 tomorrow will be rewarded with 3 hours of quality time with 110,000 friends. This is MGoBlog but more importantly This is Michigan!

leftrare

August 30th, 2013 at 10:21 PM ^

Bravo, bravo. BRAVO, BRAVO!

Make your donations, Mgoblog fans because there is nothing like this site in the whole CFB blogosphere. We are truly blessed by these guys that do this.

Wave83

August 30th, 2013 at 10:35 PM ^

Beyond awesome.  Congratulations and thanks to Brian and the entire MGoCrew.

Re the ElevenWarriors video,which was great, does anyone have a link to a more extended clip of Woody throwing the yard markers in 1971?  I have looked and have never found it.  I understood that that game was not televised (OSU had a subpar year that year, finishing third behind Michigan and Northwestern (!) ) and I assumed that there was no video available.  Obviously there is something.

Don

August 31st, 2013 at 12:00 AM ^

but that emo whiny music was irritating.

Woody going apeshit on the yard marker was awesome. I was at that game and it was bizarrely comic in person to witness; it sort of presaged Woody's eventual sad end.

 

BrewCityBlue

August 31st, 2013 at 12:24 AM ^

My boss hates you. 

But i love you. 

 

Thanks to the entire staff. 11W vid was a nice edition (edit: addition) and I enjoyed it. Real recognize real. This is the greatest sports blog in the history of the universe, and we are lucky to have it. 

Last paragraph brought me back to 11 swans piece. Epic -in one of those few instances where the word is deserved.