Preview 2011: Wrap, Hype, Hope

Submitted by Brian on September 2nd, 2011 at 5:00 PM

It's the day before a Michigan football season, so there's an 80% chance you're about to see Bump, Canham, and Bo. Survey says…

bobumpdon_thumb

…bingo. Three years ago I posted it up to point out just how long it had been since Michigan had to think about who would be its head coach: forty years. They'd secured an A-list candidate but whenever you're trying something new after doing one thing forever, things can go awry. They did—you may have noticed.

I thought about Bump and Bo over the summer when Ramzy at Eleven Warriors took a brief hiatus from ripping Kirk Herbstreit* to survey the new enemy in Ann Arbor. He used a certain picture, which I'll put next to what seems like the most representative image of Rodriguez on the first three pages of a generic image search. I'm not sure what that will be yet. Let's find out:

Rich-Rodriguez-liphokesmug

Slotting the two coaches** into the image above is left as a bloody obvious exercise for the reader.

Hoke may not have a winning record but he's got bravado. That, the knowledge he's not a Super Genius, and his magical intestines plus Denard Robinson is a pretty good start. When Hoke was hired I said "sometimes having an identity feels like having a ceiling," but thanks to Jim Tressel kindly donating his career and most of the meanest kids in Ohio to the cause that ceiling is a lot vaguer than it was in January. Let's go find it. In Pasadena, preferably.

*[Ramzy : Kirk Herbstreit :: Brian : punting from the 34]

**[In re: selection. For one, this shows up three times. It's not the best but it's far from the worst and it's not plain boring. Seems as good a choice as any.]

---------------------------------------------------

THIS CONCLUDES the 2011 edition of the MGoBlog season preview. Every year I tell myself I'm going to get ahead of the curve and start posting these things two weeks before the season; every year something comes up and I spend this week eating microwaved dinners and staying up until 5 AM. At this point it would feel wrong to do it any other way (but I'm definitely doing it some other way next year).

The Recap

The Story, 2011

Mitigating William Caines

OFFENSE

  • Offensive line: 4.5. Excellent if allowed to zone block, more than two injuries and it's time to panic
  • Receivers: average of 3.5. Good depth, few stars, a lot rides on Hemingway.
  • Running backs: 3. Six bullets (for now) instead of two; everyone's older.
  • Quarterbacks: 5! Denard.
  • Offensive questions: Verdict is basically last year's offense minus 5-10 Denard carries per game.

DEFENSE

  • Secondary: average of 2.5. A little depth, no freshmen, look out for Avery.
  • Linebackers: average of 3. Demens bustout.
  • Defensive line: average of 4. Top end is sexy except for SDE; depth is precarious.
  • Defensive questions: tackling how much the GERG effect can help us. Survey says: lots.

MISCELLANEOUS

I would have bumped some fantastic diaries if doing so wouldn't caused everyone's heads to explode with word overload. If you're just dying for 3:30 tomorrow and need more, the Communist Football Almanack finishes in spectacular style, Jamiemac previews Western with prop bets a-plenty, and Michael Scarn drops a personal essay.

Now it's time for a hype video.

Here's to less drinking during UFRs. Go Blue.

banner-touch

Comments

tee wrecks

September 2nd, 2011 at 5:38 PM ^

Is there version of, or link to, the video in a format that an iPhone can deal with?  I'm getting nothing on the app and web versions of the blog.  Sorry if my question betrays a lack of tech savvy. 

jswavel34

September 2nd, 2011 at 7:25 PM ^

not sure why but youtube has it restricted from being played on any mobile devices

EDIT: After a bit of research, I found that some videos are deliberately restricted from mobile viewing by their copyright owners. So it's not working because of the song being copyrighted.

Jivas

September 2nd, 2011 at 6:31 PM ^

That hype video is AWESOME.

The only hype video (that I've ever seen) of similar quality was the one Brian had done after the 3-8 year, although that one was quite emo (for obvious reasons).  Just great, great work.  Thanks.

treetown

September 2nd, 2011 at 5:31 PM ^

Could this be a unique photo?

How often does the departing coach help introduce the new coach with the athletic director and all are (1) convivial, (2) sitting on a sofa and (3) wearing suits and ties?

 

 

befuggled

September 2nd, 2011 at 6:44 PM ^

Voluntarily I mean. Some percentage of coaches who retire voluntarily would have been available for photos like this one. It would be much more likely for coaches who have the chance to anoint their own successor.

I'm sure there's a similar photo of Bo and Gary Moeller after Moeller took over from Bo. At the time Bo was in the AD role as well, though, so not quite the same.

 

Blaze09

September 2nd, 2011 at 5:31 PM ^

That hype video was the final straw. Tonight is going to suck as far as waiting goes.

The only thing left to signal a new season is the first appearance of Michigan's #1 fan, Lloyd Brady.

MillerTime

September 2nd, 2011 at 5:38 PM ^

That after dropping all of the knowledge this site has over the previous week - be it good, bad, terrified, optimistic - the proprietor can drop a "Go Blue" at the end and turn himself from detail-oriented, cold-hearted analyst to eight year-old, wide-eyed Michigan fan with a dream of Pasadena.

Go Blue, indeed.

IncognitoWolverino

September 3rd, 2011 at 12:27 AM ^

I'll DEFINITELY echo the appreciation of all this week's content. There has been great work on the blog this week, and personally I wouldn't want these previews posted two or three weeks prior to the opener. I love the buildup over the course of the week, concluded with a summary post and an awesome fucking hype video. I am now so pumped for the game! 

WestSider

September 2nd, 2011 at 5:47 PM ^

Nice video, good shift at 2:10. Two many fade ins on plays prior to that. So excited to see the Team get it on tomorrow. For a while, Eminem's tune and Schembechler's words seemed to sync really well. Denard = favorite athlete of all time. Hemingway is going to have a great year. A healthy determined Shaw is a damn good back. FtizT is going to break out. The defense will play their asses off and converge on the ball with hunger. Inspring. 

Go Blue!

dcallen39

September 2nd, 2011 at 6:04 PM ^

I will stay up all night doing the extra kinesiology homework I have for the holiday weekend, so I can focus on football and football only tomorrow. My wife is already dreading it.

NewBlue Era

September 2nd, 2011 at 7:00 PM ^

Brian I know how you feel. I.too fell I'm love with the intricacies of the spread-n-shred....to the point that I thought I would not "enjoy" Michigan football as much as I have over the last few years. Even though M was loosing, I was entranced by the strategery and excitement of it all. I honestly thought that my addiction to mgoblog would subside. Then Mattison, then Borges turned into a guy loves Denard as much as I do, now I am a card carrying Hokemaniac, and I read the blog and follow M football as close as ever. I love the kids on this team and I really hope they can stay healthy, as a group, and show us all what that can do.
<br>
<br>Go Blue.

TXmaizeNblue

September 2nd, 2011 at 7:13 PM ^

I appreciate all the hard work...and the humor combined.
<br>
<br>I trust this was one of your 5 am late nights because the secondary does have freshmen - Countess & Taylor - freshmen that will likely play.

michgoblue

September 2nd, 2011 at 8:06 PM ^

I have really enjoyed warding over the past week or so as Brian has gone from angry and disapproving of all things Hoke and Borges, to still grumpy but a not less critical, to neutral to finally seeming to be, dare i say, optimistic about the direction of the team.
<br>
<br>I suppose that as the season approaches, Brian's true love of Michigan has overshadowed his dedication to he spread and his defensiveness about RR.
<br>
<br>Welcome back fearless leader

Wave83

September 3rd, 2011 at 7:44 AM ^

Almost all games were at 1:00.  Few games were on TV, and whichever one was on, it was on at 1 (except for west coast games that obviously were 3 hours later).  It really was the best time for a game. 

It was also great to have to hang on the words of the PA announcer for the scores of all the other Big Ten games going on simultaneously.  "At the half in Madison, . . . ."

BigBlue86

September 2nd, 2011 at 8:24 PM ^

A big Go Blue to all the faithful out there. This night is just dragging on and on, and only having MSU and TCU's respective games on TV for entertainment isn't helping much. All will be well, and to everyone who is physically at the game: I hate you.