Preview 2010: Hype Videos

Submitted by Brian on September 3rd, 2010 at 6:10 PM

So: I didn't get Paul or anyone clips and thematic instructions in time for a hype video to exist. This is my fault. But the community provides where the blogger does not, in more than one way.

1. Reprise

2. Thematically similar, though more NSFW

Next year: less gray, hopefully.

Thanks to MCalibur and ShortsGoBlue, along with everyone who contributes in the diaries, board, and comments. This site would not be the same without you.

This completes the season preview. In case you missed any of it:

OFFENSE

DEFENSE

MISCELLANEOUS

OPPONENTS

ESSAYS

Let's play some footbaw.

Comments

wigeon

September 3rd, 2010 at 6:19 PM ^

We are indebted to you more that you can ever know. Great blog, great stewardship, great group of contributors.

Thanks for getting us through yet another long off-season. 

dieseljr32

September 3rd, 2010 at 6:28 PM ^

IT'S GAME TIMEE!!!!

 

On a serious note, Bryan..this offseason has been the hardest one to go through in my young life.  Your humor, wit, and knowledge made it possible for me to not completely lose my mind.

I hope for the sake of the whole fan base, this blog, and you that the Michigan Wolverines have a tremendous season. 

The smell of pending victory has never been so appetizing.

mejunglechop

September 3rd, 2010 at 6:35 PM ^

Like the "Sometimes when you're on" video last year, "Drop the world"  captures exactly where we are as a fan base this year. Whereas last year we were hurt, but hopeful, this year we're equal parts defiant, frustrated, scared and confident. It's spectacular, bravo.

Zone Left

September 3rd, 2010 at 6:44 PM ^

Brian,

Thanks for shepherding the fanbase through yet another long, cold trudge through the endless expanse of the offseason.  Yet again, we stand at the base of a mountain that looks much steeper and stormier than it did when I was a child.  Hopefully, we remembered our climbing gear this season.

Zone

Greg McMurtry

September 3rd, 2010 at 6:55 PM ^

something I posted a few weeks ago:

I recall last year right before the season started, there was a shitstorm of bad news and negative spin articles about the University of Michigan and its football program. As each day passed, the articles got worse and enfuriated me more and more with the culmination being the Rosenberg/Snyder hit piece on rules violations conveniently placed in late August just before the start of the season. All of these things led to a rage inside me as I'd never been so pumped for a season opener ever before. I felt it, other UM fans felt it and I'm 100% sure the UM players felt it and all of the bullshit drew the team much closer together. Call it what you will naysayers, blast this team and this university all you want Steve in CT, but I assure you, on September 4th, UCONN better get ready for the ass-whooping of the century. I'll be there cheering my ass off, being as loud and raucous as I've ever been to show all of the non-believing assholes what Michigan football is all about. So bring on the unranked poll predictions, the 5-7 W/L records and 10th place Big Ten projections, I don't care. You're only adding to the fire. September 4th is circled real big, in blue, on our calendars. We know how important this game is. You'll see...  

TimRoss

September 3rd, 2010 at 8:31 PM ^

I totally agree. This was my favorite of all of the hype videos that were produced this summer. Fantastic track, great editing. Really sums up the past few years nicely, and hopefully points to what the future looks like. 

 

GO BLUE

philibuster

September 3rd, 2010 at 7:04 PM ^

This season preview was great, but who's the starting quarterback?

Just kidding. I'm so fucking jonesing for some football, I savored both of these hype videos, even though I've definitely seen them many times over. I'll probably watch some youtube highlight films, the countdown to kickoffs, and the 2-minute drills tonight.

I'm probably going to need some sleep aids tonight.

lunchboxthegoat

September 3rd, 2010 at 7:31 PM ^

it just goes to show what the last couple years have been when a band like rilo kiley (Bordering on emo, always) shows up in your hype video. (I love Michigan football and Rilo Kiley just never thought i'd have an intersection of the two...)

 

 

all I can say is the simplest expression any of us can muster.... Go Blue!

jamiemac

September 3rd, 2010 at 7:33 PM ^

Excellent work all work, Brian. Thanks for setting us up for tomorrow

Here's hoping to a good season and a fun fall blogging about it

Go Blue, Beat UConn

victors2000

September 3rd, 2010 at 7:40 PM ^

Your blog is a lightning rod that unites Woverine nation and sets the bar high as an example of what a sports blog should be; Jim Rome has his clones, so what are we to you, lol! It's great to have this Mecca of all things Michigan where we can love and vent and share, commiserate and celebrate!

Thanks, man...GO BLUE!

Jivas

September 3rd, 2010 at 7:53 PM ^

Outstanding job on all of the previews.  Thank you.

For what it's worth, my favorite part of the college football season is right before the very first game, watching on TV as the team runs out of the tunnel for the first time, with their helmets reflecting the sunshine, running out and touching the banner.  This wondrous event is less than one day away.  Amen.

And Go Blue.

Tha Quiet Storm

September 3rd, 2010 at 8:01 PM ^

It was said that Michael Crichton wrote 10,000 words a day in his prime.  I have no idea how many Brian has cranked out over the past week but I do know that it appears to be a shit-ton of work.  1000 cocktails to the "man from the MGoBlog", now go take the weekend off before you come down with carpal tunnel.

bsand2053

September 3rd, 2010 at 9:09 PM ^

The "Sometimes When You're On" video reminds me of why I am a sports fan, why I stay through games like Northwestern '08.  Its a beautiful kind of pain to suffer because of something you love.  And the triumphs are just made more glourious. 

mgobleu

September 3rd, 2010 at 10:04 PM ^

I am such a pussy. I don't know if its just being excited for tomorrow, nervous, or what it is, but watching those videos, I had a fricking lump in my throat. I am a grown ass man and I'm emotional over a bunch of 18-21 year old kids I don't know, playing a damn game. What the hell is wrong with me? I think what really gets me is that the stuff in there that's bad, is well, bad, but the stuff that's good, was sooooooo damn good. I had forgotten what moxie looked like, like that leap into the endzone against IN. Or any number of plays against ND. And its hard to understand the speed of dilithium until you watch Denard's TD against Western. Mike Martin SMASH!!! Stonum's return on ND, etc, etc, etc.

If this offense just plays close to its talent level, and the D can just minimize mistakes, maybe we're not winning the b10, but we've got nothing to worry about this year.

stillMichigan

September 3rd, 2010 at 10:57 PM ^

The content tonight confirms it. Whata way to get ready for a huge UM victory tomorrow. I've watched the videos over and over. Our boys gonna kick some Husky butt.  Never have I been more psyched about an opener. Thank you Brian and all.

Just Maize

September 3rd, 2010 at 11:47 PM ^

that you get the night before Christmas as a kid/manchild is tough to beat. Tonight I've got that feeling. I can only hope that tomorrow night I can get some sleep because I'm surely not getting any tonight. If you need me I'll be watching hype videos and highlights all night until it's socially acceptable for me to be awake again.

Go Blue.

Retnep

September 3rd, 2010 at 11:51 PM ^

I've been a guest on this board for a long time.  I've enjoyed reading the Blog post as well as the responses from the faithful commentators.  This is the only sight that I've been on, for any sport, where the content is driven by complex analysis and detailed review rather than selling access to players/coaches.  

But I was compelled to create an account today after reading the Michigan Preview.  I do a lot of writing and legal analysis for a living.  I know what good writing and analysis looks like. I know when a person has put in time, effort, and energy into a work.  I know these things and I can say confidently that hands down, the Michigan Preview this week is one of the Best Previews I've ever read.  Insightful, funny, detailed...

We are what we do.  You, my friend, do Michigan, therefore you must be a Michigan Man.  Thanks.  I appreciate what you do and I know others do as well.

M-Wolverine

September 4th, 2010 at 12:40 AM ^

The music for last year's, updated nicely this year, is so haunting, it has become a permanent part of Michigan lore; it should be the RAWK music we hear at the Stadium (how the band hasn't picked that one up I'll never know). Maybe someday we'll have greater highlights that will require something more upbeat. But that song will always say "Michigan" to me.

HeismanPose

September 4th, 2010 at 12:44 AM ^

Just wanted to add to the calvacade of thank yous.  This preview has been quite a fucking thing.

So we probably all know what it's like to root for a team that doesn't always win.  We're not used to that with Michigan, but here we are.  Yes, we're in a hole that we're gonna have to fight our way out of, but I wouldn't have it any other way.  This is how all great stories begin.  We have the Big Ten right where we want them.

And if all else fails, Google will be right there to provide images of kittens.

SeattleChris

September 4th, 2010 at 12:57 AM ^

Thanks Brian for bringing your A game today. I am screwed. I live in Seattle and am visiting family in Michigan for a couple weeks and have been in A2 all week long getting sufficently hyped for Saturday. Unfortunately part of this trip is going to St. Louis this weekend for a wedding, so I miss the opener and getting to sit in one of the new suites. But hey, at least I'll get to go to the UMass game.  If that wasn't bad enough I wear my Michigan hat to the Cardinals game tonight that the wedding party is all required to go to and some doucherific drunk St. Louis fan looks at me disapprovingly and says "god, go buy an Ohio State hat already"... It took all of my willpower not to kill this guy by crushing the cartilaginous tubes of his trachea, thank god for my wife, she sheparded me onto buying a bratzel, you know bratwurst + pretzel, that had a piece of bone in it. When I showed the bone to the woman she asked if I was "not from here". I told her I wasn't and explained that in Michigan we prefer brats without bones, she just told me it was gristle to be expected and there would be no refund offered. Anyway, while I'm on the party bus tomorrow that will be taking us all over St. Louis between the end of the catholic wedding at noon central and the reception that doesn't begin until 7pm, my many dreaded hope is that Denard rips it up, the D shows up sufficiently and we can finally tell the rest of the CFB world to smoke our poles even if it's only one day's worth of a trickle of redemption. Even though I won't get to watch this game, If we win, this entire debacle will have been worth it all. Go Blue, Hail to the Victors Valiant and lets just fucking go win this game!

sandiego

September 4th, 2010 at 12:58 AM ^

maybe I'll post another picture of my hair and nipples (I mean, er....children!).  The boy went to sleep in his Michigan jersey tonight.

Go Blue!  Those videos get me fired up.  

maizenbluedevil

September 4th, 2010 at 1:20 AM ^

That "Drop The World" video is tight!!

The Dorsey part hit me tho...  sad he's not here.

BTW Brian you did an absolute bang up job on the preview stuff this week.  Phenomenal stuff.

legalblue

September 4th, 2010 at 3:59 AM ^

Right now all that could be done has been done.  The writers are getting ready to decry Michigan's failure or else tell their readers they knew this team had it in them all along.  The NCAA has pondered all the evidence.  Michigan has presented its case.  They don't matter.  None of that makes one bit of difference. 

What does count and what does matter is simple and wonderful, and its why we get up every saturday in fall with that mingled feeling of anticipation, hope, and dread.  What counts is a group of football players, Michigan football players.  Some are asleep right now, others won't find sleep till tomorrow evening when win or lose they won't be able to go on anymore.

This is football season.  This is the best time of year.  This is when its ok to scream at the top of your lungs for that touchdown that came out of nowhere.  This is when its ok to put your head down and sulk in the corner when the first loss comes.  In short this is what makes being here for another fall wonderful.

Brian, Thanks.  You really seem to get that about Michigan football. Go Blue.

jamiemac

September 4th, 2010 at 7:51 AM ^

I have to leave a second comment. Its just shy of 8 in the morn on game day and only now have I finally caught up on all the reading from the posts by Brian and TIm as well as certain dairies I had circled as ones I knew I had to read.

Holy hell.

Bravo, everyone. There's a reason this blog has been an inspiration to me for several years now. Thanks again for showing how it is done

Go Blue!!

ejk

September 4th, 2010 at 9:45 AM ^

I can't believe it-- I'm crying right now. I'm realizing just how bad I want this team to win.

Winning cures all the bullsh*t swarming around the program. Winning validates the decision to change coaching regimes instead of throwing 3 years in the toilet and starting from scratch, AGAIN. I really like Rich Rod, he doesn't deserve one tenth of the crap he gets.

Just win, and keep winning. GO BLUE!