2012 Opponent Preview: Ohio State Comment Count

Heiko July 13th, 2012 at 4:58 PM

Ohio Agricultural and Mechanical College

Domestic violence is very bad, mmk. Ohio State's backup middle linebacker Storm Klein was arrested a week ago after his ex-girlfriend, who is the mother of his child, said that Klein "violently and purposely grabbed" her and slammed her into their front door during an argument. She sustained a minor scrape and swelling on her forehead and abrasions on both forearms. He was charged with domestic violence and assault.

Ohio State head coach Urban Meyer, who is fighting a reputation for being soft on his players' legal problems, dismissed Klein from the team shortly thereafter. Meyer released a statement saying the charges "violate the core values of the Ohio State Football Program ... it has been made very clear that this type of charge will result in dismissal." It was consistent with his actions earlier in the year when he dismissed DBs Dominic Clarke and DerJaun Gambrell for run-ins with the law. Gambrell, incidentally, was charged with assault.

In the same statement, however, Meyer said he would "re-evaluate" Klein's status with the team pending the status of his charges, leaving the door open for reinstatement. As of earlier this week, Klein's lawyer (who was Terrelle Pryor's defense attorney a year ago) was optimistic about Klein's future with the team (parenthetical punctuation mine): 

"I believe when this is said and done. this will be resolved in Storm's favor, with an exclamation (!) mark."

Uh huh. 

So after opening with a strong gesture by dismissing Klein, Meyer is now deferring to the legal system. Perhaps he is remorseful for what happened with Clarke and Gambrell, as neither of them received the benefit of reconsideration after trial. But their fair and speedy banishment opened up a scholarship for Armani Reeves, so it was a net positive.

Perhaps Meyer feels unfit to judge the truth. Unfortunately domestic violence is notoriously difficult to tackle in court, however, and charges frequently get reduced or dropped because victims have a hard time prosecuting their own family members, signficant others, or in this case, their baby's daddy. The verdict rarely reflects what actually transpired, so relying on it to determine whether Klein did something to violate Ohio State's "core values" is a bit disingenuous.

Or ... perhaps that depth chart at middle linebacker is looking awfully thin, and it would be a shame if months later an "innocent" Klein weren't available on the two-deep to fill in for Curtis Grant after Taylor Martinez breaks his ankles. 

I'm not saying Klein should be kicked off the team without the benefit of due process. For the arrest and initial charges -- "violating team rules" -- Ohio State should hand out a suspension but leave room for additional consequences pending the result in court. But I believe in being consistent. Suspension until further notice would have been acceptable for Klein had Meyer afforded it to Clarke and Gambrell in January. But alas, Armani Reeves. To make matters worse, Klein has a previous arrest record, so it's hard to imagine that external pressure will allow Meyer to relent, especially given the precedent. There's no way he can reinstate Klein without suffering significant backlash.

The Klein saga isn't over yet, so I'll withhold judgment of how Meyer ultimately handles it until then. But if Klein is in a Buckeyes uniform ever again, the chance that Meyer and Ohio State actually have any "core values" of their own approaches zero.

---------------------------

The Actual Preview Part

Jim Davison / the-Ozone.net

1000-foot view. Ohio State is banned from the 2012 postseason, but that isn't going to stop them from trying to go all USC on everyone. The installation of Urban Meyer's fearsome spread offense and the renewal of their defense under former head coach/co-defensive coordinator Luke Fickell and DC Everett Withers has caused all of the analysts to project them to sweep the majority of their schedule. 

Can they? Probably. The Buckeyes benefit from returning a whole bunch of starters and maintaining a roster stacked with four-star talent. Moreover, Meyer has declared himself an Ohio State man, which has made it easy for the players, staff, and fanbase to buy into his program. Yes, this is in direct contrast with the Rich Rod transition. 

I believe there are two factors -- one tangible, one not so much -- that will determine whether they can reach their full potential this season. The first is whether QB Braxton Miller can stay healthy. In Meyer's spread, the magnifying glass over the quarterback position is a lot bigger. Whether Miller holds up over the course of a season will be critical to their success. With him in a game, the Buckeyes have a shot to beat any team on their schedule. Without him, not so much.

The second factor will be how the current roster adapts to an up tempo spread. Under previous offensive coordinator Jim Bollman, fans have been treated to some of the most boring offenses even by Big Ten standards. While there were some spread elements in that offense, hence the recruitment of dual threat quarterbacks like Troy Smith, Terrelle Pryor, and Miller, the bigger element in those offenses was a running back oriented ground game that wore defenses down slowly over the course of a game. "Zippy" or "Jack-rabbity" were not words often used to describe Ohio State players. What's Meyer going to do with a bunch of 230 lb. running backs? While the talent in Columbus is there, how it molds to Meyer's system and how the system molds to them will be something to keep an eye on. 

Schedule.

  • Sept. 1, Miami (OH)
  • Sept. 8, UCF
  • Sept. 15, Cal
  • Sept. 22, UAB
  • Sept. 29, @ Michigan State
  • Oct 6, Nebraska
  • Oct. 13, @ Indiana
  • Oct. 20, Purdue
  • Oct. 27, @ Penn State
  • Nov. 3, Illinois
  • Nov. 10, WIFEDAY
  • Nov. 17, @ Wisconsin
  • Nov. 24, Michigan

Ohio State has a decent number of tough-ish games as well as some easily winnable ones. While there are just four road games, three of them will be tough. Their bye comes rather late in the schedule on Nov. 10.

It's hard to predict how the Buckeyes will play this season against opponents who are also experiencing significant changes. Michigan State, Penn State, Illinois, and Wisconsin are all debuting new quarterbacks or head coaches. Ohio State isn't necessarily a lock to beat all four, but with the defense they return this season, they should have enough firepower to keep that possibility open.

The game to watch other than vs. Michigan is the one vs. Purdue. The Boilermakers have given Ohio State some trouble in the past, but only within the confines of West Lafayette. This year could be different because they may field one of the more complete teams in their division. Not that winning the division will matter all that much the Buckeyes, but Purdue will certainly be looking to legitimize their candidacy for the Woody Division crown, and beating Ohio State will go far in making a statement.

------------------------------------

X's and O's, Jimmys and Joes

Offense

QB Braxton Miller: "I paid for this!"

Style: Spread

Key losses: RB Dan Herron (675 yards, 5.0 ypc, 3 TD), WR DeVier Posey (12 rec, 162 yards, 2 TD), C Mike Brewster, LT Mike Adams, RT J.B. Shugarts

Top returners: QB Braxton Miller (54.1%, 1159 yards, 13 TD, 4 INT), RB Jordan Hall (405 yards, 4.1 ypc, 2 TD), RB Carlos Hyde (566 yards, 5.3 ypc, 6 TD), FB Zach Boren (1 twitter hissy fit), WR Corey Brown (14 rec, 205 yards, 1 TD), TE Jake Stoneburner (14 rec, 193 yards, 7 TD), LT Jack Mewhort

So the biggest development since I previewed Ohio State for HTTV was Jordan Hall stepping on some glass and severing a tendon in his foot. He'll likely miss a couple games and won't be able to practice up until then. This is a blow to their run game, especially since Meyer was planning to use him the way he used Percy Harvin back in the day. 

In other news, Jack Mewhort and Jake Stoneburner peed in public, ran from some cops, and then got suspended "indefinitely." They won't miss a snap.

Anyway, the skinny on the Buckeyes offense is that Braxton Miller returns to commandeer an offense much more suited to his strengths. Their spring game put that system on display rather well, and a few playmakers emerged, most notably WR Michael Thomas, who had like 12 catches for a bazillion yards during that game. How this offense does against anyone else remains to be seen. They were rather turnover prone as all the quarterbacks threw interceptions during their spring game.

The run game would have been find had Hall stayed healthy, but with him gone, all that's left is a bunch of burly 230-pounders who are probably thinking longingly about all the other college offers they had and wondering why they didn't commit to a school where being a little hefty was a good thing. (Looking at you, Brionte Dunn.) Yes, yes, I'm sure Meyer will find a way to use his bigger running backs. Warming the bench in November is a start.

Their group of receivers will be okay if they learn to run their routes correctly. None of them seem to be elite space players, but sometimes just catching the ball is enough.

And of course, their offensive line has been subject to a lot of debate. They're big since Tressel recruited them for hulking running backs to run into. I imagine that they will spend the offseason dieting so that they at least pass the eye test for what a lithe spread offensive line looks like.

------------------------------------

Defense

DE John Simon: "I did this one myself."

Style: 4-3 under, some kind of nickel package.

Key losses: LB Andrew Sweat (missed most of the season due to injury), DE Solomon Thomas (basically nothing. These guys are not really key losses at all. Just here to fill some space.)

Top returners: All of the defense!

I'm gonna block quote myself. Blockquotesturbation!

Fickell will run the same 4-3 Under Michigan uses, and which Jim Heacock deployed in Co- lumbus for years, switching to a 4-2-5 over (i.e. nickel) against spread offenses. The last game of 2011 (Michigan) and this year’s spring game saw them come out in a lot of cover 4 (quarters) coverage, very much like what Virginia Tech used to good effect in last year’s Sugar Bowl.

Wow, sounds smart! What can you tell me about their players?

Their secret is talent, having recruited more 4- and 5-star defensive players than any team but Alabama (30—tied with FSU and Texas) in the last five classes. The Ohio State defensive line, the strength of their 2011 defense, will again be the strength in 2012. Massive nose guard Johnathan Hankins (6’3, 325 lbs) and tackle Garrett Goebel (6’3, 290 lbs) will anchor the interior line. While Hankins was overshadowed by any number of Big Ten tackles during his sophomore season, he is the type of plugger who can hold his own against double teams and make a few athletic plays here and there. If Hankins continues to develop, he could be a persistent nuisance for teams that like to run straight up the middle and vie for All-Conference honors. Strongside defensive end Adam Bellamy and weakside end John Simon will bookend the line. Simon, who earned First Team All-Big Ten honors last season, gave Ohio State fans a pleasant surprise when he chose to stay in Columbus for his senior season; he is probably the best player on their roster.  

You are a really good analyst. That defensive line sounds scary. How do you feel about their linebackers, though?

The linebackers, on the other hand, will require some work if they are to live up to their potential this year. MLB Curtis Grant was a highly touted recruit who became an exciting fresh- man, and seemed to lock down the starting job this spring before a ding kept him out of their spring game. Also sitting out was his main competition, awesomely named Storm Klein, who started for a time last year. 

Hahaha. Storm Klein. He's a funny guy. I remember they had a really good linebacker named... um ... Razor? Shazor?

Shazier.

Shazier! That's the one. 

WLB Ryan Shazier erupted late last season as a true freshman—Penn State fans and Michigan fans might remember him being all over the field doing his best impression of NFL second- round draft pick Lavonte David from Nebraska. The problem with being liable to show up anywhere—and this is true of the entire linebacking corps in general—is he just as likely to apparate in completely the wrong place. Michigan fans will remember SLB Etienne Sabino quickly dropping into four-deep coverage on a 3rd and 11 (very good), carrying Hemingway too far to open up Odoms (not good), and turning around to put a perfect block on strong safety C.J. Barnett as Odoms gratefully walked into the end zone (explode!). Given the proper coaching, this could become a dominant group, but as it stands they are an unruly troupe of goblins, equally capable of nuking an opponent as each other. 

That sounded an awful lot like Seth's writing.

Speaking of Barnett et al., the Buckeyes secondary was a solid but unremarkable group last year, and they should again be solid; ask again later for remarkability. Barnett is a budding star at safety, and linebacker-ish 5th year senior Orhian Johnson—you saw a lot of him versus Michigan—will keep the other safety spot a plus. Junior Christian Bryant will play the “star,”—Ohio State’s word for the nickel back—who will rotate in for Sabino on passing downs and against spread teams. Michigan fans who remember 2005-’08 S/CB Brandon Harrison will recognize Bryant’s role. At cornerback it gets a little thin. Travis Howard returns for his fifth year opposite redshirt sophomore Bradley Roby, but behind the starters are three “meh” sophomores before falling off into the pool of true freshmen. Meyer has acknowledged this lack of depth by stepping up his defensive back recruiting, but it may be several seasons before the reinforcements truly pan out on the field. Repeating a theme, elite talent is extant--Roby, Howard, Barnett, and Johnson are future NFL draft picks-- but whether it can come together to form an elite secondary depends on whether they can learn to complement each other and stay healthy. 

That was definitely Seth, since you have no idea who Brandon Harrison is. You didn't write this preview! I call shenanigans.

------------------------------------

Special Teams

This image never gets old.

They have a kicker on the Lou Groza Award watch list. Name's Drew Basil. Cool.

------------------------------------

Predictions

Overall: The way this preview started is very different from the way it ended. Huh. Not sure what happened.

Comments

elaydin

July 13th, 2012 at 5:30 PM ^

Can you summarize your opinion on Storm Klein?  Is it basically that "Urban Meyer is bad, so I'm going to mock whatever decision he makes" DERP DERP?

Heiko

July 13th, 2012 at 5:51 PM ^

To me, Gambrell, Clarke, and Klein are the same issue. All three "violated team rules." Meyer kicked Gambrell and Clarke off the team, no questions asked. He kicked Klein off the team, but is now leaving the door open for reinstatement. Why is Klein any different? 

The difference is that Gambrell and Clarke's dismissal helped with the recruitment of Armani Reeves. Reinstating Klein, as you know, would help with depth. Dismissing Klein initially made it seem like Meyer was being consistent in his punishment, but it's an empty gesture if Klein is ultimately re-evaluated and reinstated. 

So yes. If that is the outcome, then Urban Meyer is bad, and I'm going to mock that decision. 

Aziraphale

July 13th, 2012 at 6:24 PM ^

Clarke's OVI was his third arrest and Gambrell's domestic abuse arrest wasn't in question; thus, no caveats for them. This is Klein's second arrest on domestic abuse-like charges, but the case is still in dispute. He probably won't get off on it, but if he's found not guilty or the charges are dropped, maybe then he'd have to get back on the team.

I would remind you that it's harder to get back on the field after getting kicked off the team than after being indefinitely suspended. Well, unless you think there's no difference between those terms to Meyer, in which case you should say so and stop beating around the bush. Put the story above the actual content of the preview, make thinly veiled accusations about roster depth prioritization, and go full cynic.

Heiko

July 13th, 2012 at 7:05 PM ^

Haha, thanks for retracting the "knob" comment. Now that my tears are dry, we can talk.

If Meyer can judge the first two cases before hearing what the legal system has to say, he can do so for the third. So why is he now leaning on the legal system? Though I do support waiting to make a final decision about whether to kick a player off the team until some kind of verdict has been reached, it's awfully suspicious that Meyer has backed down somewhat from his heavyhanded way of dealing with Clarke and Gambrell to give Klein a chance to rejoin the team. It was advantageous for him to be heavyhanded with Clarke and Gambrell because of recruiting. It is now advantageous for him to be slightly more lenient to Klein due to roster depth. That's the context I'm looking at. Yes, it's cynical. I'm cynical.

Holy crap, I'm cynical...

I never said there wasn't a difference between an indefinite suspension and getting kicked off the team. For example: I think Stoneburner's and Mewhort's indefinite suspensions are a joke. I think it will be significantly more difficult for Klein to ever see the field, if he ever does get reinstated. But my point is that, at the very least, the chance to see the field exists for him. It didn't exist for Clarke and Gambrell. 

Aziraphale

July 13th, 2012 at 7:38 PM ^

Sorry about the knob bit. I missed that one while self-censoring the other insults in the initial draft.

I'm kinda disappointed about the difference in structure between this preview and the other previews, though. The general threat ratings for offense & defense and the weird prediction were fun. Couldn't the team be likened to somebody drunkenly mowing obscenities into a neighbor's yard or something?

Scarlatina

July 13th, 2012 at 6:36 PM ^

Storm Klein's charges in 2010 were dropped, it was just a drunken party fight where both parties were being dumb.

Also, didn't Gambrell plead guilty to his domestic violence charges? Klein, on the other hand, pleaded "not guilty" saying that he had told his baby's mama to leave his apartment multiple times to which she refused and started acting irrational. His response was to forcibly remove her and that's where it gets murky. Did Klein purposely hurt his girlfriend or did she get some scrapes from desperately resisting his attempts to get her to leave his apartment?

Heiko

July 13th, 2012 at 6:46 PM ^

I actually couldn't find what happened in Gambrell's case, but Clarke pleaded not guilty. 

It's completely possible the charges were overblown. As I said in the post, I think the better way to handle this would have been to dole out a middle-ground punishment for the arrest and the initial charge. At the conclusion of the trial, the school can choose to take more action if necessary. My argument is that it's almost too late for Meyer to do this because he didn't take this approach to begin with for Gambrell and Clarke, and I think that his reason for not doing so was because it was advantageous to dismiss them from the team because of the recruiting crunch at the time.

Scarlatina

July 13th, 2012 at 7:06 PM ^

It was also Clarke's third arrest in like 6 months.  It also came like a day after Urban's first team meeting where adamantly warned the team about staying out of trouble, and how they weren't going to accept any more foolishness.

I just feel like key aspects of these cases are being left out, so that a more appealing accusation can be implied.

Heiko

July 13th, 2012 at 7:24 PM ^

Meyer hasn't made a final decision on Klein, so I'm not making an accusation yet. If he stays firm on Klein's status, good for him. He has values after all. Woo.

I admit I didn't know about some of the info you just mentioned. I promise you I wasn't withholding anything. Either way, it doesn't really change my stance. Meyer should just be consistent, period. When a player runs into trouble with the law, Meyer should make his own judgments before legal proceedings (I don't endorse this) or wait to make a final decision after legal proceedings (I do endorse this). It would be suspect to do both, especially when whichever action he takes would coincidentally benefit his program in another way.

Scarlatina

July 13th, 2012 at 7:36 PM ^

I just find it hard to believe that Meyer would purposely cut Dominic Clarke, who started 4 games the season prior and was slated to compete with Travis Howard for the starting role this season, for an incoming freshman.

Clarke had just as much football value as Storm Klein does, but his case was a little more cut-and-dry than Klein's.

BlueMan80

July 13th, 2012 at 5:58 PM ^

but Brady Hoke, Al Borges, and Greg Mattison kind of dispelled that myth last season in Ann Arbor.  Ohio doesn't play anybody threatening until they go to East Lansing.  If Sparty jumps them, that could shake the team up for the Big slate of games, especially with Big game #2 being Nebraska.  I'm not so sure this transition is as smooth as ours in 2011 even with the talent level that is there.  No matter what, they will be emotional when they play us.  No matter what, it will be their last game of the season.  Hopefully, they'll be more "dazed and confused" than "fired up and fine tuned".

NoMoPincherBug

July 13th, 2012 at 6:46 PM ^

Let me finish it for ya:

 

  • Sept. 1, Miami (OH) -- W
  • Sept. 8, UCF -- W (barely)
  • Sept. 15, Cal -- Loss (upset)
  • Sept. 22, UAB -- Win
  • Sept. 29, @ Michigan State -- Loss
  • Oct 6, Nebraska -- Loss
  • Oct. 13, @ Indiana -- Win
  • Oct. 20, Purdue -- Win
  • Oct. 27, @ Penn State -- Win
  • Nov. 3, Illinois -- W
  • Nov. 10, WIFEDAY -- Tie
  • Nov. 17, @ Wisconsin -- Loss
  • Nov. 24, Michigan -- Loss.  Ha Ha.

 

Total 7 wins, 5 losses and a Tie to Wifey.

zlionsfan

July 13th, 2012 at 7:27 PM ^

Purdue has won four of the last six against Ohio in West Lafayette, including wins in 2009 and 2011 that give them a three-game unbeaten streak against the Buckeyes. (Thanks, cheaters!)

It's true that Purdue hasn't won in Columbus since 1988 and hasn't beaten an Ohio team there that went on to break .500 since 1967, but who cares? A win in the Cooler would raise the possibility of gentlemen departing Ohio without a win over Purdue for the first time since the Korean War. (Purdue was 4-0-1 against them from 1943 through 1952, no doubt creating a generation of disillusioned vets who returned home to find the streak of shame continuing - Purdue was actually pretty good in 1943, going 9-0, but was nothing special the rest of the time.)

Phil Brickma

July 13th, 2012 at 9:37 PM ^

I went to college with Drew Basil's older brother. They grew up diehard OSU fans. Drew turned down several BCS offers and originally was going to walk-on with the Buckeyes before they offered him a late scholarship. I know it's the Buckeyes, but I admire his loyalty.

That being said, his brother was kind of a douche.

Zone Left

July 13th, 2012 at 11:22 PM ^

During Meyer's last couple of seasons at Florida, there were a lot of big guys coming out of the backfield. Aaron Hernandez ran that shovel pass (not necessarily successfully) an awful lot. Dunn looked like the real deal in OSU's spring game and will probably contribute this season--cue sad face...

They've got a ton of talent on defense and have some continuity with the coaching staff, so that side of the ball will probably be fine.

However, the OSU previews I've seen haven't really focused on their offensive line issues, which I think is going to ultimately be the difference between a really nice first season for Meyer and an unofficial division title or a relatively disappointing (for them) 7-8 wins. They lost an all-Big 10 level center, their right tackle, and a first round pick at left tackle off of a line that was pretty underwhelming last season. Add the challenge of understanding a new type of assignments and line calls, and I think they're going to have serious problems up front this Fall. 

Their saving grace is what I see as a relatively schedule that will probably keep them undefeated through their first four games going into East Lansing. Next up is Nebraska, which I see as an underwhelming team again this season after losing their top three defensive players. Indiana and Purdue should be easy wins based on defensive strength alone. That leaves games against Penn State (which is going through a much tougher transition with less talent), Wisconsin, and Michigan to finish out (Illinois doesn't count), but by then the transition period will be more or less over.

I think they'll struggle in early wins, but ultimately gut out about 10 wins with some combination of losses to MSU, Wisconsin, and Michigan if their offensive line gels early on. If not, they probably lose all three of those games and drop one or two more in relatively minor upsets.

Conroy

July 14th, 2012 at 3:04 AM ^

There isn't as much talent the offensive line should play better than last year.  Playing in a spread offense instead of telehraphed run, telegraphed run, play action on third and long Bollman nightmare last year is a massive plus.  I don't think they'll be great, but it should be a decent unit.  The problem is they can't sustain more than one serious injury AT ALL.

goblue1213

July 13th, 2012 at 11:52 PM ^

They'll lose to Little Brother, and to us. All their other games should be wins for them, barring upsets. Meyer will have a successful program, and probably dirty. The next 5-10 years will be a lot of fun. I like our chances vs them with Mattison running our D. He knows how to match up with that offense.

lilboybluegoblow

July 14th, 2012 at 3:24 AM ^

...lil brother is now BIG Bro....you have to show otherwise, and MSU is commanding you currently. OSU will win against both mitten teams. Funny how all of you rationalize..because you're terrified. This analysis wasn't. It was between a bitch cry and a piss & blue myopic "make ourselves feel secure" FAIL as an article/post. You turned yourself around so many times in hypocrisy while commenting on the OSU "suspensions/dismissals" that you fell down like Hoke trying to put on his pants. Some of you have some smart posts  but this site is mostly a bunch of myopians that nobody would take seriously. You all know in your heart of hearts that last year was an aberration, a weak schedule + down OSU + BIG 10, and you're intently worried about your near future prospects. Your articles and all comments are ripe with concern and doubt. And no, Mattison and his coaching is not enough to challenge OSU. As I reminded you at the start, you aren't even up to your Big Bro MSU's level. And beating OSU is another reach for you entirely. BTW, absolutely always refer to OSU as OHIO, there is no other school in the state but OSU. OHIO is OSU,  The State, you bloated dullards. BTW, is Shane Morris mentally retarded? Shane Morris=Loki. Watch him be flung here and there as a rag doll is. We can't wait here in Las Vegas to watch the mitten state fail at football.

 

Don

July 14th, 2012 at 9:37 AM ^

If you're going to take the time to set up an MGoBlog account on a Saturday, you might as well learn to employ the correct vocabulary.

The word you wanted to use—but weren't quite up to the job of getting it right—is intensely. We do appreciate the confirmation of our stereotypes about OSU fans.

As to your belief that we're all "worried" about our near future prospects, you couldn't be more wrong, but hold onto that if it makes you feel better.

El Jeffe

July 14th, 2012 at 9:31 AM ^

I'm not sure that you get the tone of Heiko's preview posts. They're only supposed to be somewhat serious.

Also, you make some good points in an exceedingly douchey way. Why can't you just make the same points in a less douchey way? People might actually pay attention to you instead of immediately concluding you're kind of an asshole.

bronxblue

July 14th, 2012 at 11:17 AM ^

But keeping Miller healthy is going to eb tough, with a mediocre line and the injury potential for the position.  And maybe I am just being a negative homer, but that defense doesn't terrify me.  Yes, the talent looks solid, but it looked great last year and the team was okay defensively - their rankings we are much a byproduct of the offense's methodical play and the weakness of the Big 10 as anything they did defensively.  

They'll be fine - probably win 9-10 games - but I don't see Meyer turning OSU into USC-East next year.

turtleboy

July 14th, 2012 at 2:41 PM ^

It all comes down to their offense. Last year they were in a race with Army and Navy to see which team could play most like Tebow and tried to win games without a single passing attempt, lol. (Jk, but seriously) If Posey hadn't come back from suspension Miller would've thrown for fewer than 1000 yards in 12 games. Miller has plenty of arm strength, hitting more than a few home run passes to Posey in the last 2 games, but he was WILDLY inaccurate, more-so than young Denard ever was on his worst day, injured even. He flat out missed a wide open Posey 3 or 4 times in The Game last year, and could likely have done to us what we did to ND UTL if he could get any semblance of accuracy down. Even bringing a spread into play they need talented receivers to pull it off this year. I have no idea what their offense will look like, but if our linebackers and ends can wrap up Millers impressive scrambles and their run game then their pass attack could end up being a turnover machine. I hope we dare Miller to throw this year.

Wolfman

July 14th, 2012 at 4:46 PM ^

"but as it stands they are an unruly troupe of goblins,"

Can't prove it, but I bet at some point in his career these exact words were utterd by none other than our own Fielding Yost. And he was probably talking to an asst when asked about his  own sqaud.