Pick Six returns! Now on Mgoblog

Pick Six returns! Now on Mgoblog

Submitted by Jeff on August 23rd, 2011 at 11:33 PM

Although we may despise Notre Dame there have been some valuable contributions by Notre Dame football blogs.  One of the best was the Pick Six contest that the now defunct Notre Dame blog Blue-Gray Sky used to operate.  Before the season you pick 5 ranked teams and one unranked team that you think will end the season with the highest rankings after the bowls are done.

I enjoyed entering the contest when Blue-Gray Sky was still around so with Brian's approval we're bringing Pick Six to MGoBlog.


Here's how it works.
1. We divide the top 25 into 5 groups of 5 based on the preseason AP Poll: 1-5, 6-10, 11-15, etc. For this year's poll, the groups are:
  • A: Oklahoma, Alabama, Oregon, LSU, Boise State
  • B: Florida State, Stanford, Texas  A&M, Oklahoma State, Nebraska
  • C: Wisconsin, South Carolina, Virginia Tech, TCU, Arkansas
  • D: Notre Dame, Michigan State, Ohio State, Georgia, Mississippi State
  • E: Missouri, Florida, Auburn, West Virginia, Southern Cal
2. Before the season starts you pick one team from each group, plus one unranked team. You're trying to pick the teams you think will finish highest in the final AP poll (after the bowl games).
3. Each week we'll try to update and publish the standings in a spreadsheet so you can track the progress of your teams. You get 25 points for having the #1 team, 24 points for the #2 team, on down to 1 point for the #25 team. Unranked teams get zero points.
4. The winner is the person with the most points (i.e. the highest ranked teams) after the bowl season.
5. And the grand prize?  I will personally give the winner 10 meaningless upvotes.  Plus some guy named Brian will give you 3 MGoShirts from the MGoStore.  Places 2-5 all get a free shirt as well.
Throughout the season I will give semi-regular updates on the progress of the contest in the Diaries.
That's it for the Pick Six: short, sweet and simple. Polling closes on Wednesday August 31 at 12 pm (ET), so get your picks in now. Good luck!
I tried to embed the GoogleDocs form here, but it didn't work for me (and yes, I switched to plain text editor.  Does mgoblog accept <iframe> tags?).  Any help would be appreciated.  
For now, you have to visit the following link to enter.

Nebraska Picked to Win B1G Title, Denard Preseason OPOY

Nebraska Picked to Win B1G Title, Denard Preseason OPOY

Submitted by MGoShoe on July 25th, 2011 at 1:31 PM

Perhaps you've heard that the Big Ten Conference has decided that it won't conduct preseason conference championship and player of the year polls for announcement at the upcoming Big Ten media days. To fill the gap, the Cleveland Plain Dealer conducted the first Plain Dealer Big Ten Preseason Newspaper Poll.

[T]he Plain Dealer organized 24 daily beat writers, two that cover each of the 12 teams in the league, to rank the predicted order of finish in the divisions, pick a title game winner, name preseason offensive and defensive players of the year and pick not a coach of the year, but just the best coach in the Big Ten. The preseason players of the year and best coach voting will be revealed on Cleveland.com later today.

The results.

* First-place votes in parentheses; voting on 6-5-4-3-2-1 point system

Legends Division:

1. Nebraska (19) 139
2. Michigan State (4) 118
3. Iowa   82
4. Michigan (1)  71
5. Northwestern  69
6. Minnesota  25

Leaders Division:

1. Wisconsin (22) 141
2. Ohio State (1) 113
3. Penn State (1) 95
4. Illinois  76
5. Purdue  52
6. Indiana  27

Conference Champion:

Nebraska 12, Wisconsin 11, Michigan State 1

Title game matchup predictions:
Nebraska over Wisconsin (10)
Wisconsin over Nebraska (7)
Wisconsin over Michigan State (3)
Nebraska over Ohio State (1)
Nebraska over Penn State (1)
Wisconsin over Michigan (1)
Michigan State over Wisconsin (1)

I for one have a hard time believing that Nebraska will take the Big Ten by storm. We'll see.

Denard's OPOY selection is wholly expected. Mike Martin finishes 8th in DPOY voting.

Michigan quarterback Denard Robinson and Nebraska defensive lineman Jared Crick were named the Big Ten preseason players of the year in the Plain Dealer Big Ten Preseason Newspaper Poll.

OFFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR (first-place votes in parentheses)
* Voting on 3-2-1 point system, with voters picking top three

1. Denard Robinson, QB, Michigan (14)   52
2. Dan Persa, QB, Northwestern (4)   26
3. Kirk Cousins, QB, Michigan State (2)   18
4. Edwin Baker, RB, Michigan State (1)   16
5. Montee Ball, RB, Wisconsin (1)   14
6. Russell Wilson, QB, Wisconsin (2)   9
7. Taylor Martinez, QB, Nebraska   4
8. James White, RB, Wisconsin    2
9. Mike Brewster, C, Ohio State    2
10. Derek Moye, WR, Penn State    1

DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR (first-place votes in parentheses)
* Voting on 3-2-1 point system, with voters picking top three

1. Jared Crick, DL, Nebraska (15)  58
2. Lavonte David, LB, Nebraska (7)  37
3. Jerel Worthy, DL, Michigan State  10
4. Shaun Prater, CB, Iowa (1)   8
5. Alfonzo Dennard, CB, Nebraska (1)  7
6. John Simon, DL, Ohio State   6
7. Mike Mauti, LB, Penn State   5
8. Mike Martin, DL, Michigan   3
9. Nathan Williams, DL, Ohio State  2