spoiler alert: i linked this
- Member for
- 7 years 34 weeks
- View recent blog entries
|8 weeks 2 hours ago||Car songs||
Kashmir by Zeppelin
My favorite two.
|10 weeks 5 days ago||Tssss||
We're the sick, the sick, the sick fuckin puppies, barkin up your tree....
|12 weeks 6 days ago||Wussat?||
|17 weeks 3 days ago||Yeah||
I think that we all understand this.
|25 weeks 1 day ago||Double Woosh||
Gonna point the double woosh at you, sir.
|26 weeks 2 days ago||Are the seating areas really that steep?||
Aside from the lower bowl, it looks like folks would need a goat and a couple of Sherpas to find their seats. Maybe it's me seeing a skewed pic on mobile, but if not, damn.
|26 weeks 3 days ago||*obscenity. Not pornography.||
*obscenity. Not pornography.
|26 weeks 3 days ago||Newsome||
Took the redshirt off Grant Newsome. He was lined up outside of Cole on the Kerridge TD
|27 weeks 3 days ago||Joke||
Look everyone! It's the guy that doesn't get the joke.
|33 weeks 3 days ago||Speight||
Speight got the non-Rudock snaps at QB. Trying for a Morris redshirt?
|47 weeks 6 days ago||That word "about" is||
That word "about" is ambiguous, I agree. But I could also argue that it takes less than a second for a throw to go from 1b to 3b. To me, "about to" would apply to "in about one second". The fielder was doing exactly what she should be doing to catch a thrown ball. Throw was low, she got low. Again, the runner being blocked by the fielder occurred almost simultaneously with the ball hitting the fielder's glove. "About to" is almost not even a concern. But if we say the ball got there after contact, it was absolutely without question within "about to" range.
|47 weeks 6 days ago||NCAA actually does not use||
NCAA actually does not use Asa rules. Their definition of obstruction is:
"About to receive a thrown ball" being extremely important.
Even in ASA this is a very close call. Runner was not blocked from advancing until she made contact with the 3b. Which was nearly simultaneous with the ball being in the glove.
Either way, according to NCAA rule, the 3b had a right to be where she was because she was "about to receive a thrown ball".
|47 weeks 6 days ago||It was absolutely the correct||
It was absolutely the correct call. And the home plate umpire actually may not change the call on his own. When umps huddle up like this, it is still the call of the 3b ump on what to go with. She was being courteous to coach Hutchins by asking. If the input of the other two umpires led the 3b ump to change her own call, then she may change it. But the only umpire that has authority to change the call is the 3b ump in this case. The hp ump can offer what he saw, but the decision is not his, even if he is 100% sure his partner got it wrong.
I hope in "years of umping" you never overruled a partners call unilaterally. I wouldn't work with a partner anymore after a move like that.
|47 weeks 6 days ago||Then the live view may have||
Then the live view may have been deceiving. The replay clearly shows that the runner did not make contact with the fielder until either after the fielder catches the ball or at least very shortly before.
I looked into the ncaa rules to see if they differ from what I call and in fact they do. According to ncaa rules, if the fielder is about to receive a thrown ball, we don't have obstruction here
The "about to receive a thrown ball" should be noted in the rule citation. The 1b threw the ball, and the entire time that the ball is in flight the 3b can be considered to be about to receive a thrown ball, and therefore may not be called for obstruction. The rule citation above makes it even less of a blown call, to the point that anyone still claiming that it was a blown call is pretty certainly not looking at this with any sort of an open mind.
|47 weeks 6 days ago||On the obstruction....||
So I umpire a bit of Softball. I'm not sure about the ncaa rule book but from the umpires discussion it would seem that the ncaa rules mirror the ASA rules that I call.
The fielder is allowed to be in the runner's way as long as the fielder is holding the ball. It looks to me that the 3b caught the ball just before the runner got to the fielder. JUST before, but at the very least it was a bang bang play. If the 3b had the ball before the runner was "obstructed" then by definition there is no obstruction.
I don't see how this is an obviously blown call. At worst its a very close call that the ump got wrong. But to me it does look like the 3b had the ball a split second before the runner made contact with the fielder.
What makes this an obviously blown call?
|1 year 2 weeks ago||Yeah, that was the best team||
Yeah, that was the best team I ever saw, except for the night that they lost to my HS.
|1 year 2 weeks ago||nvm||
nevermind. mateen cleaves is way older than I thought.
|1 year 4 weeks ago||Here is a guy that isn't up||
Here is a guy that isn't up to speed. O and A hasn't been a thing for the past 8 months. And they didn't really do the shocking and offensive thing for their last 5 years or so.
|1 year 4 weeks ago||Cakehorn indeed. Peace out||
Cakehorn indeed. Peace out Ronnie B. Haven't listened in a couple of years. Couldnt stand Fez any longer.
|1 year 7 weeks ago||you actually have changed my||
you actually have changed my mind here. My solution is not ideal, but as a poster below points out, you should not be able to benefit from violating the rules. Late game comebacks because of intentional fouls are cheap in my opinion. There comes a point where you either play defense and force a turnover, or you should just lose the game. I don't mean that teams should give up, but this game mechanic that allows a team to benefit from fouling seems broken to me.
|1 year 7 weeks ago||How about this.....||
Change one rule and quality of life for fans goes way up. Anytime there is a non-shooting foul, if the fouled team is in the bonus or double bonus, the coach whose player was fouled has the option of inbounding the ball rather than shoot free throws. Done, the game just got better to watch.
|1 year 28 weeks ago||"Definitely" was the word||
"Definitely" was the word that didn't work for you. You did not offer an opinion, you stated a certainty.
|1 year 35 weeks ago||Timeout||
Apparently appy called timeout before the third down speed option that Wormley assassinated.
|1 year 39 weeks ago||Charter buyout||
Comcast did not buy out charter. In fact, in many areas comcast plans to divest customers to charter as part of the time warner acquisition.
|1 year 39 weeks ago||Where||
Op, where do you live? If you are in The Chicago or west michigan area, we need to have an email convo before you buy. I have a close friend that is a rep for comcast and I know he can do better than the package you posted for $100
|2 years 2 weeks ago||Love that movie||
Love that flick even though the critics decidedly thought otherwise.
Goodnight Mrs Parks!!!!!!
|2 years 2 weeks ago||Was it||
Was his name Billy Wyatt?
A million fake internets to anyone that gets this obscure movie reference with a Michigan connection.
|2 years 2 weeks ago||What if....||
How about rather than changing timeouts, they made the following rule change: In the last 5 minutes of regulation and all of overtime, on any non shooting foul that would result in free throws, the coach of the team what would be shooting can opt to have his team inbound the ball in lieu of shooting free throws.
This would eliminate or lessen instances of teams fouling in order to extend games and come from behind. To me it is ridiculous that teams are able to intentionally commit fouls to their advantage. If you commit fouls you should not benefit from it.
|2 years 8 weeks ago||Not my favorites, but||
I have rooted for Gavin Groninger, Dom Ingerson, Avery Queen, and Kevin Gaines. Maurice Searight was a recruit that I was excited about.....so glad things are better now.
|2 years 9 weeks ago||Yes!||
Clinch a share, boys.