Loss of scholarships.
further adventures in Jed York being unsuited for his position
Loss of scholarships.
Yes, he does have the power to change it:
"Major League Baseball was still deciding Thursday morning whether to review the umpire's blown call that cost Detroit Tigers pitcher Armando Galarraga a perfect game. Commissioner Bud Selig has the power to reverse umpire Jim Joyce's missed call that came with two outs in the ninth inning Wednesday night in Detroit."
Truthfully, it is not out of the ordinary for there to be a dozen questionable calls in a MLB game. Take, for example, Halladay's recent perfecto. He worked a ton of three ball counts and was afforded a pretty generous outside corner. I'm reasonably certain that by reviewing Pitch FX data or video, we could find a walk issued by Halladay. Of course, no one is advocating stripping this perfect game, even though the umpires judgement "changed history."
I'd probably feel differently if I was a Tigers fan, but my gut feeling is that missed calls, even those of high consequence, always have been and always will be a part of the game. Go get 'em tomorrow, kid.
All umpires have slightly different strike-zones. They often vary somewhat from what we can see on the television. It is the job of the hitter to adjust to an umpire's strike-zone. Furthermore, reviewing over a hundred pitches a game for both teams is impractical.
This is not true for safe/out calls. The umpire should get these calls correct virtually every time because there is no ambiguity on these calls (unlike the strike-zone) and they are generally easy to get correct. Furthermore, in this specific case, the call wasn't even close enough to be considered controversial. Instead, it is universally acknowledged to be wrong.
Fair point. I didnt' mean to imply that strike zone judgement and out/safe calls or similar, nor that Halladay shouldn't have gotten his perfect game. I only mean to say officiating is , by definition, ultimatley at the discretion of the officials. Part of sports culture is living with those mistakes.
That being said, if it had happened during Carlos' no-hitter, I probably would have wanted to see the posthumous correction too.
This would only really create a precedent problem if the status of the runner was being changed from "out" to "safe" rather than "safe" to "out". Add to that this was the last out of the game that the Tigers won anyway, I don't see what the big deal is to give the guy the perfect game.
I say, reverse the call, and bring in instant replay asap. Everyone wins, including Jim Joyce.
for a precedent problem? How many times has a umpire admitted that he completely made the wrong call? How many times has this happened in the 9th inning with 2 outs on the verge of a perfect game? My guess is 1 or 2 times (not couting this one) in the 100+ year history of the game.
If the Wikipedia article on Perfect Games can be trusted, something similar has happened twice before (see the 1908 and 1972 games below)--but both times the controversy revolved around ball-and-strike calls. Yesterday was the tenth time a perfect game had been spoiled after 26 outs.
See this New York Times article from yesterday for some details on the Milt Pappas case from 1972.
On ten occasions in Major League Baseball history, a perfect game has been spoiled when the batter representing what would have been the third and final out in the ninth inning reached base. Unless otherwise noted, the pitcher in question finished and won the game without allowing any more baserunners:
- On July 4, 1908, Hooks Wiltse of the New York Giants hit Philadelphia Phillies pitcher George McQuillan on a 2–2 count in a scoreless game—the only time a 0–0 perfect game has been broken up by the 27th batter. Umpire Cy Rigler later admitted that he should have called the previous pitch strike 3. Wiltse pitched on, winning 1–0; his ten-inning no-hitter set a record for longest complete game no-hitter that has been tied twice but never broken.
- On August 5, 1932, Tommy Bridges of the Detroit Tigers gave up a pinch-hit single to the Washington Senators' Dave Harris.
- On June 27, 1958, Billy Pierce of the Chicago White Sox gave up a double, which landed just inches in fair territory, on his first pitch to Senators pinch hitter Ed Fitz Gerald.
- On September 2, 1972, Milt Pappas of the Chicago Cubs walked San Diego Padres pinch hitter Larry Stahl on a borderline 3–2 pitch. Pappas finished with a no-hitter. The umpire, Bruce Froemming, was in his second year; he went on to a 37-year career in which he umpired a record 11 no-hitters. Pappas believed he had struck out Stahl, and years later continued to bear ill will toward Froemming.
- On April 15, 1983, Milt Wilcox of the Tigers surrendered a pinch-hit single to the White Sox' Jerry Hairston, Sr.
- On May 2, 1988, Ron Robinson of the Cincinnati Reds gave up a single to the Montreal Expos' Wallace Johnson. Robinson then allowed a two-run homer to Tim Raines and was removed from the game. The final score was 3–2, with Robinson the winner. (Robinson's teammate Tom Browning threw his perfect game later that season.)
- On August 4, 1989, Dave Stieb of the Toronto Blue Jays gave up a double to the New York Yankees' Roberto Kelly, followed by an RBI single by Steve Sax. Stieb finished with a 2–1 victory.
- On April 20, 1990, Brian Holman of the Seattle Mariners gave up a home run to Ken Phelps of the Oakland Athletics.
- On September 2, 2001, Mike Mussina of the Yankees gave up a two-strike single to Boston Red Sox pinch hitter Carl Everett.
My concern with the precedent issue is that Selig would have to make it explicitly clear that this reversal only applies to safe-to-out conversions at the end of perfect games when replays prove irrefutably that the umpire made a bad call. no balls and strikes, no catch/no catch, just yes-no on a tag at 1st base. I know that sounds silly, but otherwise you'll hear every team complain at the end of a game about a missed strike or ball, especially toward the end of the year when teams are battling for their playoff lives. But I agree that in this case, reversal makes sense.
League Baseball to join the 21st century. The man earned it; the man deserves it; give it to him. Why is it so hard (for baseball) to admit that a mistake was made? It is the epitomy of arrogance AND ignorance.
Slightly OT for this thread, but here's how I'd do instant replay... Just like the NFL.
Each team gets two challenges on anything other than balls and strikes. Everything from the ninth inning on comes from the booth.
An old barbershop on S. State Street, I think it was the Coach and Four, had this infamous moment in sports history taken from a slightly different angle. It showed that the ref had a clear view of not only the fumble, but the runner's distance from the goal line when the ball fell from his grasp. Bo had signed the photo, but also circled the ref in the picture, adding the caption, "Is this man blind?"
God, I loved Bo.
The question is: will he use it? If this was HS, college, or Little League ball, the call wouldn't be reversed. Selig now has a chance to prove that his product is better than the aforementioned ones. I hope he does it, and the national feedback has me feeling better about the chances of him doing so than I did last night, but part of me still thinks that he will stick to old school thinking and give a lame excuse about "preserving the integrity of the game."
change it--he's an old-time moron.
MLB deliberating on whether to review the call.
or Selig as the case may be.
Why not just leave the game record intact, and have them just declare that it was a perfect game? And that the game will appear on the list of perfect games, be recognized at the hall of fame, etc.
A Perfect Game is really just a concept. Sure it would be odd for someone to have a perfect game and if you look at the box score for that game see a hit allowed. But so what? This game will always be remembered as "that game where Joyce fucked up."
A perfect game is simply recognition, it isn't itself an event in the game like a ball or strike. If baseball can just declare that they consider the game perfect, then it was.
I saw the replay and Galaragga got robed, but my first reaction was so. I know in MLB history a no hitter is a big deal, but in reality this was a baseball game. The final score wasn’t even affected.
I was mad about the 2001 UM-MSU game, which was basically the same situation, but the bottom line is sports should be just a fun diversion, nothing else. It's sad that we take it so seriously.
MLB should change the call. Who cares about precedence? It's the right thing to do.
4.19 PROTESTING GAMES. Each league shall adopt rules governing procedure for protesting a game, when a manager claims that an umpire’s decision is in violation of these rules. No protest shall ever be permitted on judgment decisions by the umpire. In all protested games, the decision of the League President shall be final.
Rule 4.19 Comment: Whenever a manager protests a game because of alleged misapplication of the rules the protest will not be recognized unless the umpires are notified at the time the play under protest occurs and before the next pitch, play or attempted play. A protest arising on a game-ending play may be filed until 12 noon the following day with the league office.
The Brett example was a misapplication of a rule. The rulebook has accounted for this and is pretty clear cut about it. Also, unless Leyland filed the protest right after the call, it can't be protested.
Another thing with regards to the "last out" argument. Say The Indians had come back and won the game after the botched call. Then what? You can say it doesn't matter all you want, but this is a slippery slope and does set a precedent that can lead to major problems later. This isn't the first, nor will it be the last blown call that has major consequences. It's unfortunate, but it really can't be changed.
wouldn't a perfect game really consist of 81 pitches, each batter striking out on three pitches?
and you listen to Joyce speak after he (Joyce) reviewed the video replay, it's a no brainer. The man said he blew the call. He knows it and so does the rest of the world. Galaragga busted his butt out there last night. He pitched a perfect game and it deserves to go into the record books as such.
that he'd lose out on a perfect game that way. I was following the game though ESPN's gamecast last night so I didn't find out until later that the "infield hit" was actually due to a bad call... really sad and I doubt Selig will overturn it.