Is there no rule about calling two consecutive time-outs without a play in between?
Did anyone else notice that Alabama called two in a row on 4th-and-1 late in the game against Arkansas today? They lined up to go for it from around mid-field...tried to draw Arkansas offside, called time-out with one second left on the play clock, then came back from the TO only to call another before they ran a play????
Nobody seemed to notice or care. The announcers/officials didn't say anything (that I heard), and the Arkansas players/staff didn't seem to be arguing it? I had to back it up on DVR to make sure I didn't miss a play...but Bama called two time-outs in a row for sure.
I could have sworn there was a rule against this, but could not find anything reliable to confirm or disprove this belief?