I know it doesnt matter but where I was I couldnt see it that well.
The nutty Michigan coverage isn't so much about Harbaugh as it is a signal to the Big Ten that Fox wants to party.
Pretty sure no. On an onside kick if the kicking team recovers the play is whistled dead when it is recovered. Therefore, whenever we got possession i assume the play would be whistled dead. I got this rule from the Auburn-Utah State game last week.
SIDE NOTE/QUESTION: WHY DOES LOU HOLTZ STILL HAVE A JOB???
The ball was picked up by an Irish player then fumbled - so yes UofM can advance it forward - however, I viewed the replay and am positive that he was down just before he fumbled and short of the goal. In theory with a review it would be Michigan ball at the 6 inch line.
He fumbled it at the one and it went out the back of the endzone.
no, IIRC ball went out of the endzone without anyone getting posession (or Michigan "fumbled" it out of the back of the endzone). I think either way it would have been a touchback.
The kicking team cannot advance a kick. See Auburn against Utah St.
In conclusion, God bless Denard.
if he took possession and then lost the ball. can't advance the ball otherwise. if guy runs it out and then drops it, it is returnable.
Can't advance a "muff" (have fun wth that one), but can advance a fumble.
The dumb ND guy picked it up and got nailed. Loose ball. Picked up, run for TD or fumble at 1yard line. Knocked out back of endzone by ND.
Michigan scored if it mattered, but the officials didn't call it and there was no reason to review it.
I think we fumbled it as well... though I could be wrong. I was jumping around like a nutcase, my wife thought I was freaked out.
It was a touchback.
It wasn't an onside kick. ND recovered and tried to make something happen (was probably thinking how to pitch it), he fumbled, we recover, and run it down to the 1 before fumbling it out of the end zone. If there was time left, it was ND ball.
notre dame picked up the ball and fumbled. so ball can be advanced.
terrance robinson picked up the fumble and may have broken the plane of the endzone. if so, TD.
the ball came out when t-rob it the ground, so if he didn't break the plane, the ball would have been put just outside the goaline. the ground cannot cause a fumble.
I must have watched it 10 times trying to figure out what happened. When he fell/was tackled the ball hit the ground and popped out. He was down just outside the goal line, realistically closer to the 1, perhaps, but if the game had continued, Michigan ball, first and goal.
final score: 35-31
ND fumbled, and our guy barely broke the endzone before he fumbled. I think it was a TD, but as you said, doesn't matter.
I wish he would have just fell on it.. scared the hell out of me
Watching the replay on espn3, I think it was a touchdown. The ball came out when he was tackled because he extended the ball and it hit the ground. The ball had just barely crossed the plane.
I think his knee was down before it crossed the plane.
That one ND kick returner -- the tall white guy -- was absysmal. When he wasn't falling down and fumbling, he was running backward or calling for fair catches when no tacklers were anywhere near him.
He was funny.
On HD slo mo, his knee was down with the ball around the 1. The ball came out after his knee was down.
Nope, I think it would've been MICH ball at the one. Player's knee was down then the fumble caused by the ground.
IMHO, it would have been our ball at the 1 since his knee appeared to hit the ground just a second before the fumble. Could be wrong, of course.
The ref on the near sideline was signaling it dead at the point of recovery (the 15 or so). The ref ruled that the Notre Dame player touched it but never had possession of it, so it was a 'muffed' kick, which means that Michigan could not advance the ball. Michigan ball at the ND 14, according to the official play-by-play.
Definitely looked like a ground-forced fumble at the 1. When I saw that play, I was trying to figure out what the line was on the game because that might have pushed it one way or the other. I don't gamble, but I imagine that somewhere a dude with no rooting interests in the teams was screaming for them to replay if that was a TD or not.
I think Michigan had already covered the spread by winning. Not sure if it effected the over/under.
BTW, who is #82?
In a way I'm kind of glad it didn't count. 41-31 doesn't sound as dramatic as 35-31.
With the new rule that they brought in this year I am pretty sure that if they did rule it a TD that we would have been flagged for excessive celebration and the points would have come off the board. Still get our dramatic 35-31 score.