We all know KK is a tentative visitor this weekend with family, in particular Mom. Will this be another two fer weekend?
So according to this piece from the Cleveland Plain Dealer
Ohio State mentioned five self-imposed sanctions in its response to the NCAA:
• Vacating the 2010 season, including the Sugar Bowl win. According to Ohio State, this means the entire 12-1 season, making Ohio State 0-0 last year.
• Vacating the 2010 Big Ten title, originally shared with Wisconsin and Michigan State with a 7-1 conference record.
• Suspending several players for games during the 2011 season, as was originally done in December.
• Seeking and getting the resignation of football coach Jim Tressel.
• Two years of probation.
Now, we all know that vacating wins is standard practice in situations regarding eligibilty of players, but vacating losses seems like a new one to me. What's worse is that it allows Ohio State to not have to claim the loss or the game played in their all-time record. That seems like having their cake and eating it too. Has anyone ever heard of a school vacating its losses? Could schools just start vacating their losses and claim the game never happened for one reason or another? Could Michigan go in and vacate the 2010 OSU loss on the grounds that Ohio State claims the game never happened?
I know there's a tinge of sarcasm in this, but I am trying to figure out if this has precedent.
I'm having trouble finding out how the ball is placed on catches like this.
Lets say that a WR is running towards the sideline on an out route. The ball is thrown, and the WR makes a diving catch on the ball. He has possession of the ball out of bounds, but he drags his feet in bounds. If he dragged his feet in the endzone, it would be a touchdown, but lets say that the ball lands out of bounds at the 30, and his feet are at the 32 when he falls down. The ball is placed at the 32, right? But lets say he is on a hitch route, and he dives towards the QB to make the catch, in bounds. In this case, the ball would be placed at the 30, where it lands (as if it were a run play), correct?
Bonus: on a run, it is only a TD if the ball crosses the goal line, right? So if a RB runs towards the pylon, and gets a foot in the endzone while the ball is out of bounds, is it a touchdown?
I've been watching football for a long time, but these rules still confuse me sometimes. Any help would be appreciated.
http://apps.facebook.com/fanappz/poll/vote?id=29536 We're behind about 2,800 votes!
The money shot:
After the smoke clears, the only game that is still on the books is the only defeat, a 31-18 loss at Wisconsin in October, dropping the official record from 12-1 to 0-1. With that, the Buckeyes' cumulative record over Jim Tressel's decade-long tenure as head coach falls from 106-22, the best winning percentage of any Division I-A/FBS program in that span except Boise State, to 94-22, which ranks a mere fourth. (In the bigger picture, the sudden absence of a dozen wins also drops OSU from third to fifth in all-time winning percentage, to the benefit of Texas and Oklahoma.) Tressel falls from the ranks of the exclusive 200-win club among D-I head coaches, too, including his days at Youngstown State.